We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just returned home from three weeks in Italy and Amsterdam. Stayed at Boogaards for six nights and it was a wonderful experience. I am having serious Boogaards withdrawal as I sit in my kitchen this morning and no Peter to bring all those wonderful breakfast treats and great conversation! Peter is extremely knowledgeable about what to see and where to eat in Amsterdam. All his suggestions were great! Our room was lovely and I enjoyed getting up early and having coffee in the lovely living room awaiting yet another fantastic breakfast. Peter spoils his guests and his doggies are adorable and very friendly! Bravo, Peter and Tom,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    29
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
626
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Boogaard's Aug. 7-10, 2012. It was recommended by a friend and we had no idea what a treat was in store for us! We stayed in the Pug room and it was absolutely adorable, as well as impeccably clean. There is also a common area on the same floor which is to be shared with the other bedroom, however when we were there there was another couple in that room for only one night and we never encountered them. So basically, it felt like our own private living room, complete with comfy sofa, fireplace, coffeemaker and complimentary sodas and snacks. The location is perfect, near the train station and many restaurants and shops but just enough off the beaten track to make you feel like a local (and give you some peace & quiet). Peter, the owner, is incredibly hospitable and an excellent cook. Every breakfast we had there was top-notch and VERY generous (read: Bring your apetite!). Not to mention the welcome little baked treats he would present us each afternoon upon our return after a full day of sightseeing. He also offered up great insider tips for getting around the city and into all the very popular museums (very helpful)! All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend this charming little B&B. Peter, please never go back to NY- Amsterdam needs you! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed five nights (Sep 2012) in the apartment. All the positive things said about Peter are true - he has tremendous knowledge and always willing to help. This location, on the edge of the Jordaan, is perfect for access to good restaurants and sits in a friendly neighbourhood away from the "tourist noise". It is also a short walk back towards the central canals and rail station. The apartment has everything we needed.... believe me when Peter says its well stocked with food to start you off I think the only thing we brought was milk! Each bedroom (with TV) has a good size bathroom which gave our daughter her own space. Internet was fast and extremely reliable. Given the opportunity to return to Amsterdam we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kookaburra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Yes this will be a very short review because everyone has written all that has to be said........this is one great B&B!!
Room.......a great big tick
Breakfast........a great big tick
Snacks......a great big tick
Dogs.......a great big tick
Location.......a great big tick
Oh!! Yes Peter.......an extra big tick

Thanks for an excellent stay Peter.
P.S. Hi to Tom. Cuddles for Curly and Pepe

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this B&B and that is mainly due to how hospitable Peter Boogaard is! The location is just perfect, very close to the train station and near many important sights such as the Anne Frank House. The street his place is on is very scenic and quiet and if you feel you are a bit lost, just look for the red framed windows and you are set! What was also impressive was that his building is quite old and historical, yet has been recently renovated so in very good shape. He has decorated each room with so much charm (we stayed in the Dalmatian room which was cute, quaint and the bed was soooo comfy) and each level of each story has a common space to share with other visitors with a lounging area, kitchen, and plenty of travel books and a laptop to use for free! He even has snacks, drinks, electronic adapters and umbrellas waiting for you...he has thought of it all. He made us cream puffs from scratch that were to die for and his breakfasts totally spoiled us for the rest of our trip. Come to the table hungry and you will be set for the rest of the day! Since Peter grew up in Amsterdam but also lived in America for many years he provided us great perspective on things and gets what a tired traveler is looking for. We even got one day of free laundry and his housekeeper was so very nice! He offered great advice on sights to check out and marked them all on a map for us. He also has two adorable dogs that are very well behaved so if you are a dog lover you will appreciate this stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ont.,Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

After reading all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor,we decided this was the place for us and our friends following a Baltic cruise. We booked in January for our 4 night July stay. Peter sent us excellent directions to the B&B from Central Station.It is centrally located, on what Peter told us is the oldest street in Amsterdam. Our rooms wouldn't be ready until 12:30pm, but we were allowed to leave our luggage while we started exploring. On our return we were shown our beautiful rooms on the 3rd floor which exceeded our expectations! Our large suitcases had even been brought up the steep,narrow stairs for us, an unexpected bonus! The bedrooms were bright, well laid out with ample storage and we discovered the beds are so very comfortable. The bathroom had a good sized shower and was cleaned daily. The sitting area is warmly decorated and very inviting after a day of touring. The only disadvantage was, we felt so comfortable coming back in the evening after dining, that we never did go out again to see the canals lit up at night! The breakfasts that Peter provided were wonderful- cheese/broccoli and ham/bacon quiches,croissants with cheese & ham, or chocolate or plain,typical Dutch farmer's breakfast, dutch pancakes, and always fresh fruit, cheeses, juice, coffee, apple turnovers, apple cake. As we tried to do justice to this feast, Peter regaled us with his life prior to opening the B&B-and what a life he had. He is a charming, warm host who welcomes you to his lovely home and makes your feel a part of his family, whom we had the pleasure of meeting (hello Tom,Pepe & Curly). He is a font of information about what to do,see,eat in Amsterdam, and makes you feel that nothing is too much trouble. On our departure, Peter gave us a thank you gift-just another example of his generous, hospitality. Do not give staying here a second thought-but book early or you'll miss out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Two couples stayed with Peter last week in the two bedroom apartment in Amsterdam. We have traveled all over the world together in the last 35 years and we all agreed that this was by far the best apartment rental experience we have ever had!!!

The location is within walking distance from the train station in a very quiet street..It is amazing how quiet it is when it is just a few blocks from restaurants, shopping and all that you might come to Amsterdam for.

What a host!! The apartment is two bedrooms, two en-suite baths, and living area and kitchen. No need to rush out for food....Peter sets the kitchen up with bread (two kinds), cheese, ham, salami, eggs, yoghurt, butter, jam, coffee, tea, beer, soft drinks and other goodies!! In addition, you will probably find freshly made brownies during your stay.

Having a free laundry service to wash dry and fold your clothes while you are there is so very helpful when you are gone for more than a day or two. What a great treat.

No innkeeper could be more helpful. Peter makes sure that whatever you are looking for, he can help you find your way around this most beautiful city. He can recommend many restaurants and sights to see.

Needless to say, we loved staying here. Make the most out of travel with your friends and stay in this wonderful apartment.

Room Tip: Come early and stay late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORGMemphis_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing