We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We really can't say enough good things about Boogaard's. This was our fourth time staying with Peter, and we booked the whole place out for our family to stay during our wedding in Amsterdam. He was so good to us, making everything perfect for the stay, offering advice, making everyone feel at home, and even looking after the crazy mother-in-law! Everyone who stayed that weekend adored the B&B - it's really like staying with a friend. I just wish there were more places like this around the world.... we always try to book the number one tripadvisor B&B or hotel in every city we travel too, but we always end up agreeing it's still not as good as Boogaard's! I wish we could live there...... Thanks Peter, for yet another fantastic holiday!!!! Jen and Wes

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jeninbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2008

Hey Peter!! My girlfriend and I stayed here last Sept and I don't ever write reviews but I finally remembered to do so because Boogaard's really is that wonderful! We were all over Europe for a month and half and nothing even came close the personal attention and comfort of this fantastic B&B. If you stay anywhere else while in Amsterdam you are crazy. Say hi to Pepe and Curly for me (the two awesome jack russell terriers).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bonlax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Europe and our 1st stop was Amsterdam. We've stayed at many B&Bs in Europe and the US and Boogaard's B&B is fabulous. It is because Peter is so welcoming, you feel like you're staying at a long lost relative's home...a relative you really like!

The rooms are wonderfully decorated, clean and quite comfortable. There is a common living room between the 2 bedrooms on each floor, and Peter keeps the refrigerator stocked with beverages. He also has fruit, snacks & cereal etc in case you're still on US time and wake up a bit thirsty or hungry. (NOTE: Trip Advisor has the correct street address, but when you look at TA's map, they have the B&B in the Southeast section, when it is actually in the Northeast area near the Jordaan).

Peter takes an interest in what interests you. He then helps you figure out the city -- where to eat, catch a tram or just meander. I can't say enough about how terrific he is and how much fun it is to talk to and spend time with him.

Go and enjoy!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank JBZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We have just returned fro a 2 night stay at Boogaards. From the moment you walk through the door you feel very much at home. Peter is a brilliant host. The room (Pug Room) was comfortable, with an adjoining lounge area, tea and coffee making facilities, and cold drinks for your day trips.

Breakfasts are a different theme every day. We had Dutch pancakes one day and New York bagels with salmon and cream cheese on another. Everything has that personal touch and nothing is too much for Peter.

Boogaards is ideally located to get to most attractions on foot with an abundance of eateries close by.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garysb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Just returned from a BENELUX trip. Our first three nights were at Boogaard's B&B. What a wonderful place! Peter was so welcoming and warm. The place very cozy, very relaxing. The decor was excellent. Peter prepared some outstanding, sumptuous breakfasts for us. After ALOT of walking around Amsterdam, coming back to Boogaard's was so relaxing. We were with another couple so our two rooms shared a common area. We would sit on the comfortable chairs and couch, have a glass of wine and just kick back.

Bottom line, it was just a superb place to stay. Peter is a magnificent host.

Would recommend this place again!!!

Sockeye Salmon
Anchorage

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zanzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

This place is fantastic. This might honestly be the best hotel I've stayed in, in Europe. Now, I know it's not a hotel, but it's far more than just a bed and breakfast.

First off, the location is terrific. A mere 5 minute walk from the Centraal Station and located right by the Singel, you're close to a ton of things to do. And the building is beautiful, the street is beautiful. So many cities have that old world charm, but Amsterdam is on high. And this place is a great place to see it from.

The rooms were neat, well-kept, charming, homey and comfortable. There were actually days when we could have happily just stayed n the room all day.

In part, that's because the room opens on to a common area with sofas and chairs, a computer with free internet access, a bookcase filled with guidebooks, and, best of all, a mini-kitchen.

The kitchen is constantly stocked with complimentary water, sodas, etc. There's teas, coffee, hot chocolate. Pretty much anything you'd want or need.

And I haven't even mentioned the breakfast which is made fresh daily, is different every day, and quickly became on of my favorite parts of the day.

Lastly, is Peter and Thomas. They are Boogaard's and they're great! Natives of the Netherlands, any question can be answered. Their suggestions for places to go, how to get there, restaurants to eat at were terrific.

On top of all that, each day, in the common area, fresh baked cakes or muffins. This place is like staying with the most hospitable, welcoming, gracious friends that just want you to enjoy your trip. I can't wait to go back to Amsterdam and stay at Boogaard's again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Knox_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

My husband and I just returned from Amsterdam a few days ago. Amsterdam has always been our favorite destination, and Boogaard's just became our favorite place to stay. We stayed in the Dalmatian Room, on the second floor, which faced the back and was quiet and delightful. The room was well furnished and clean with private bath. On the same floor is the Boxer Room, and a shared living room and fully equipped kitchen.
Peter, our host, is full of life, humor and information. He's also a great cook (breakfast was great, menu changes daily) and baker (fresh apple or chocolate cake waited for us upstairs every afternoon.)
De Laangestraat is a great location. Situated between Singel and Herengracht, it's within walking distance to every tourist attraction and public transportation. The street itself is charming the way only an Amsterdam street can be: 400-year-old buildings that are lived-in and perfectly maintained.
We had a great time, slept well on the comfortable beds, and felt lucky we found Boogaard's. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank perlpele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £128 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing