We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abuja
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 31 May 2008

Great place.

Peter runs an excellent B&B right in the heart of Amsterdam and an easy walk from the station (even with several suitcases and we had plenty of those).

The stairs are quite steep but he's happy to help with your bags, and this is common to most B&Bs in Amsterdam. In between the bedroom's there's a common living room where you can chat with other visitors, and enjoy access to the complimentary snacks and drinks. Each morning a wonderful range of fresh croissants and pastries arrived.

The first weekend we stayed in the jack room and the second in the pug room which seemed slightly bigger. The beds in both were great, and when we finally managed to wake we could scroll through 30 TV channels or surf the Wireless internet with our morning pastries. The bookshelf with Lonely Planet books on Amsterdam was useful, although Peter was always happy to give you the best markets things to see and do etc

In October it cost us 100 Euros per room per night, which might not be the cheapest accomodation option but we certainly thought it was excellent value (the beds and pillows really were great), and look forward to going back.

Very friendly, very comfortable, and 2 very happy customers

  • Liked — great beds, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — steep entrance (but thats amsterdam baby...)
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank timandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    34
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
642
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Signal Mountain, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2008

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast following a transatlantic cruise. We had booked it based on the fabulous reviews on Trip Advisor. From the reviews, we were expecting it to be wonderful, and we were not disappointed in the least.
Location, location, location! We were in a beautiful neighborhood, yet so close to Central Station and within walking distance of most of the sights.
We stayed on the third floor in the Pug room. Be aware that as with most historic Amsterdam homes, there are steep stairs. We had a wonderful living area outside of our bedroom, which by the way, we were able to lock while we were out. The living area, as well as our bedroom was very tastefully decorated. There were delicious snacks, cold drinks and beer for us and a laptop with internet for our use. Along with a small refrigerator, there was a coffeepot, mugs, tea bags and wine glasses.
Peter recently relocated his Bed and Breakfast to this new location and the entire home underwent extensive updating. The bed was very comfortable and everything was so fresh and clean.
He has a marvelous housekeeper and I am sure things will stay this way.
Peter was an exceptional host. We learned so much about the area and he was ready to help us in any way that he could. He was truly a fascinating person and we so enjoyed our conversations.
The reviews about his delicious breakfasts were right on the mark. The first morning we came down for breakfast, the table was set so charming and with such a wide array of mouth watering dishes, that I had to take photos before we could even eat!
I told Peter I had heard ahead of time about his special bread pudding. He said he would be making some that day for the next morning's breakfast. Mid-afternoon we decided to take a short break after just having seen the Anne Frank house (it is very nearby and not to be missed). We heard someone coming up the stairs and it was Peter with two bowls of just out of the oven warm bread pudding topped with whipped cream..yum!!! What a host!
We truly hated to leave. We will definitely be back. I will go to Amsterdam, if for no other reason, than to stay at Boogaards again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyTop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We really can't say enough good things about Boogaard's. This was our fourth time staying with Peter, and we booked the whole place out for our family to stay during our wedding in Amsterdam. He was so good to us, making everything perfect for the stay, offering advice, making everyone feel at home, and even looking after the crazy mother-in-law! Everyone who stayed that weekend adored the B&B - it's really like staying with a friend. I just wish there were more places like this around the world.... we always try to book the number one tripadvisor B&B or hotel in every city we travel too, but we always end up agreeing it's still not as good as Boogaard's! I wish we could live there...... Thanks Peter, for yet another fantastic holiday!!!! Jen and Wes

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jeninbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Hey Peter!! My girlfriend and I stayed here last Sept and I don't ever write reviews but I finally remembered to do so because Boogaard's really is that wonderful! We were all over Europe for a month and half and nothing even came close the personal attention and comfort of this fantastic B&B. If you stay anywhere else while in Amsterdam you are crazy. Say hi to Pepe and Curly for me (the two awesome jack russell terriers).

  • Liked — Friendliness of owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bonlax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Europe and our 1st stop was Amsterdam. We've stayed at many B&Bs in Europe and the US and Boogaard's B&B is fabulous. It is because Peter is so welcoming, you feel like you're staying at a long lost relative's home...a relative you really like!

The rooms are wonderfully decorated, clean and quite comfortable. There is a common living room between the 2 bedrooms on each floor, and Peter keeps the refrigerator stocked with beverages. He also has fruit, snacks & cereal etc in case you're still on US time and wake up a bit thirsty or hungry. (NOTE: Trip Advisor has the correct street address, but when you look at TA's map, they have the B&B in the Southeast section, when it is actually in the Northeast area near the Jordaan).

Peter takes an interest in what interests you. He then helps you figure out the city -- where to eat, catch a tram or just meander. I can't say enough about how terrific he is and how much fun it is to talk to and spend time with him.

Go and enjoy!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JBZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We have just returned fro a 2 night stay at Boogaards. From the moment you walk through the door you feel very much at home. Peter is a brilliant host. The room (Pug Room) was comfortable, with an adjoining lounge area, tea and coffee making facilities, and cold drinks for your day trips.

Breakfasts are a different theme every day. We had Dutch pancakes one day and New York bagels with salmon and cream cheese on another. Everything has that personal touch and nothing is too much for Peter.

Boogaards is ideally located to get to most attractions on foot with an abundance of eateries close by.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank garysb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frozen north
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Just returned from a BENELUX trip. Our first three nights were at Boogaard's B&B. What a wonderful place! Peter was so welcoming and warm. The place very cozy, very relaxing. The decor was excellent. Peter prepared some outstanding, sumptuous breakfasts for us. After ALOT of walking around Amsterdam, coming back to Boogaard's was so relaxing. We were with another couple so our two rooms shared a common area. We would sit on the comfortable chairs and couch, have a glass of wine and just kick back.

Bottom line, it was just a superb place to stay. Peter is a magnificent host.

Would recommend this place again!!!

Sockeye Salmon
Anchorage

  • Liked — ROOMS, BREAKFAST, HOSPITALITY
  • Disliked — larger bathroom sinks
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zanzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,000 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,113 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing