We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boogaard’s Should Be #1!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Boogaard’s is undoubtedly the best B&B I've stayed at. Peter is the consummate host, making you feel like you’re part of the family from the moment you arrive. The house is an easy 5-10 minute walk from Centraal Station on a quiet street between two beautiful canals, and a 20 minute walk from the Bloemenmarkt and all the major sights.
Peter’s attention to detail really sets Boogaard’s apart. He goes above and beyond to ensure his guests’ comfort. The house is spotless and our bed in the Pug room was large and comfortable. All of the amenities you could want are provided: laundry service, a guest fridge stocked with drinks, afternoon treats baked by Peter himself, toiletries in the bathroom, and the incredible breakfast each morning. I could go on and on…
Peter was so helpful with information for things to do, restaurant recommendations, and even booked reservations for us. Everyone we encountered at Boogaard’s was warm and friendly. Chatting with Peter and hearing about his life was one of my favorite things about our stay. He really has a gift for making you feel like you’re visiting an old friend - without being intrusive on your privacy while staying.
You really must go and experience Boogaard’s for yourself! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicopier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

I cannot say enough about Peter and his second-to-none service and friendliness. This is the best B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in. The day we arrived, after a long flight, Peter let us drop off our bags since it was still too early to check in. When we came back later, Peter offered to launder our clothes for us and place them in our room the next morning. I have never had that offered anywhere else. Peter also stocks a refrigerator with cold drinks, even a few beers, at no extra charge. He also makes a special dessert each afternoon that is kept in a dish near the room that you can enjoy after your day of sightseeing. Just when I started thinking it couldn't get much better, Peter makes breakfast each morning, completely from scratch, and he's an excellent cook! One morning we had ham and cheese croissants, chocolate croissants, fresh fruit etc. Another morning we had Dutch pancakes with about 25 different toppings to choose from, and I'm not exaggerating. Peter even took the time to show us where he and his partner live inside the building, I have never had that offered before. Other touches like a razor and toothpaste in your bathroom really just ice the already delicious cake here. I cannot recommend this place highly enough if you are staying overnight in Amsterdam. Book early, it's popular for a reason!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Boogaards B&B in Amsterdam is the ideal home away from home! Peter is friendly, resourceful,
helpful and a great cook! His B&B is in an ideal location, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all the necessary items you may have forgotten. The location is quiet and easy to find, but close to anything you might want or need!! This is among our favorite B&B's ever!!! If we should ever get back to Amsterdam, Boogaards will be our first stop!
Ralph and Carolyn, California

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn_Ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I just finished a three city European trip. In each city we stayed at a B&B. I guess it was appropriate that we saved the best for last.

The Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast is certainly in a league of it's own. The quality of the host, building, service, breakfast, accommodation, etc, was top notch from our greeting and introduction to Peter's home to our departure, with presents. Any subsequent B&Bs are going to have a hard act to follow.

The rooms are very comfortable. Everything you need is provided. Outside each pair of rooms is a common lounge with coffee and tea available as well as the afternoon baked goods and comfortable lounge chairs. The morning (included) breakfast is anything but continental. You are provided with more hot and cold foods, juices, coffee, tea, etc than you could possible eat. Most freshly prepared by your host. Forget lunch. You will easily be full until supper. Aside from the great food at breakfast was the opportunity to talk to other guests, Peter and locals about our plans for the day. They usually had great recommendations.

Peter provides excellent tips on seeing the city, transportation around the city and other destinations and restaurants. All three of his dinner recommendations were close to the B&B and great. He even made the reservations for us.

My only negative comment would be that the stairs are steep and prohibitive for some. I would have been more concerned if I hadn't just come from two other B&Bs, in London and Brussels, that had the same type of stairs. It's Europe folks. That's how houses were built.

The Boogaard is located between two of the most picturesque canals you can find. It is a quiet residential area that is extremely safe and quiet. You are a short walk to the Central train station, shopping, coffee shops and markets. The Anne Frank Museum is a short ten minute walk away along a beautiful canal.

I have no hesitation giving Peter and the Boogaard B&B my highest recommendation. What a great way to end the trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if the talk set of stairs will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanHOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Boogaard's website uses the slogan 'worth writing home about' and that just about sums it up. We could not fault the stunning accommodation, position and service. Peter is the ultimate host, offering sound advice, enthusiastic conversation and warm hospitality. And let us not forget his skills in the kitchen! Breakfasts are a true treat with surprises at every turn. Luckily walking is a pleasure in beautiful Amsterdam and we didn't feel too wicked tucking into the culinary delights. Thank you, Peter, for a most amazing stay!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Imogen and Fran... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Amsterdam thanks to our stay at Boogaards.
Peter was a wonderful host and made us feel like we were part of the family from the outset.
Nothing was too much trouble. We have never stayed anywhere quite like Boogaards - we loved it. We stayed in the Pug Room on the third floor - the stairs are quite steep but we did not find them a problem. The bedroom had a lovely shared sitting room with a small kitchen. Tea/coffee were laid out for us to help ourselves together with soft drinks left in the fridge. There was also homemade cakes - a lovely surprise.
The breakfasts cooked by Peter were delicious and very filling. It was a very enjoyable start to the day sitting around the kitchen table chatting and being entertained by the very well behaved dogs - Peppe & Curly. We could not manage to eat one of the two quiches Peter had made for breakfast on our first morning's stay - Peter wrapped it up for us to put in our fridge and we had it for lunch later on in the day with a glass of wine - delicious.
Peter also recommended restaurants where we could eat in the evenings - one of which was an Indonesian Restaurant which we really enjoyed. Peter booked this one for us (the restaurant were turning people away who hadn't booked).
GUIDED TOUR - My husband and I booked a 3 hour walking guided tour of the city with a local man - Martin Ribbens. We booked this tour through Boogaard's website. Martin is a very knowledgeable, amusing guide and we thought well worth the money. We would have missed so much if we had not taken this tour. The three hours flew by! You can have a full day tour which includes the Rijks Museum but we had unfortunately already booked tickets for this Museum before we booked the walking tour.
A memorable trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sequin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had the great pleasure to spend 3 fabulous nights at Boogaards B&B, Amsterdam.

Prior to booking I had failed to find a hotel in the city which suited our needs, so had turned (as always) to Trip Advisor for help, extending my search to B&B establishments. I was thrilled to discover Boogaards and read the glowing reports with interest.

My attention was paticularly taken by the two bedroomed apartment offered,as this allows for the flexibility of self catering if desired, or, due to the superb location of Boogaards, the opportunity to dine in one of the many nearby eating establishments.

On arrival we were greeted by the wonderful owner, Peter ,who is the 'host with the most'.He showed us round the entire property, including his own private accommodation, before ensuring that we were comfortable in our own apartment and familiar with where things were located and how things worked. NOTHING was too much trouble for Peter and we were encouraged to give him a shout at anytime if we needed assistance. His local knowledge was first class, as was his English having lived in the US previously.

So, the apartment.....

Such a cosy, comfortable place - it was perfect for our needs. The rooms were perfectly clean, the beds comfortable, and the linens and towels of good quality and plentiful. The bathroom was stocked with shampoo, soap, shower gel, shower caps, hand cream, wet wipes, razor, toothbrush and toothpaste! Both bedrooms have ensuite showers. In the lounge area there were umbrellas for guest use, many guidebooks and maps, AND a laptop!!!!

However, the kitchen area impressed me most of all. It was here that Peter's hospitality shone the brightest. The cutlery and crockery were good quality (matching!) and in good supply, as were the kitchen utensils, pots and pans. The was a dishwasher, large fridge with freezer compartment, gas hob, convection oven, toaster, kettle and coffee maker. The fridge was stocked with milk, soft drinks and beer, cooked meats, cheese and butter, pancakes, eggs and bacon. In addition there was cake, 3 types of bread, soups,cookies, apples and bananas, tea and coffee, and breakfast cereal - more than enough food to feed us for the entire 3 nights of our stay! But that was not all.....Peter makes suberb cakes which he places in the apartment on a daily basis. I have never met a host like Peter before, and I doubt I ever will again. These are the gestures that make a holiday feel like a real boost. As far as self catering goes this cannot be beaten - no stress of searching for shops to buy food for breakfast or dinner with a fussy 9 year old in tow. Peter truly understands the needs of his visitors and will go to any length to ensure that you have the best holiday you could have hoped for.

We hope this has helped and would not hesitate for one second to recommend that you visit for yourself and see that we were not exaggerating when we say that this place is top class..

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,249 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 343 in Amsterdam
935 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 343 in Amsterdam
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 343 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Boutique B&B Kamer01
#2 of 343 in Amsterdam
493 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 343 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £123 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing