We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Boogaard's in March 2011. Why it has taken me so long to leave a review is beyond me. Peter was an amazing host. We arrived early, so Peter stored our luggage and gave us directions to the location of our bike tour. When we officially checked in and got settled, Peter already had dinner reservations arranged for us at Seasons (phenomenal!) We stayed in the Pug room, which was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We shared a common sitting room and kitchen with another couple. I read many reviews of Peter's breakfasts, but nothing could have prepared me for what we experienced. Amazing! In the afternoons we would return to a baked treat to snack on. We checked out very early to continue our vacation in Paris, and Peter had fresh fruit and homemade bread pudding waiting for us in our refrigerator. We would definitely stay at Boogaard's again. We have to come check out the new location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Boogaard's for three nights in December 2013 and were very happy with our choice. The room and sitting area were clean and comfortable, the home was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and the breakfasts were superb! We enjoyed visiting with Peter, the wonderful host, who gave us helpful information about how to get places we wanted to go and where to eat. He also provided us with champagne to celebrate my recent retirement! The location was great for getting around and it was on a quiet street. We loved the neighborhood and being able to walk to good restaurants. We would highly recommend staying at Boogaard's and will stay there again if we are ever in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Boogaard's over this past Christmas and it was outstanding in every way. Peter was a great host, from his delicious breakfasts to his unsurpassed knowledge of Amsterdam. We routinely sat at breakfast for over an hour, luxuriating over the food and delighting in the company of Peter and the other guests. Peter gave us great dining tips and enough sense of direction that we took public transportation or walked everywhere in the city.

The room we had was very comfortable, clean and quiet and to top it off there was always a great baked good to return to after a long day touring Amsterdam.

We will only stay at Boogard's on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmnj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Boogaard's B&B for 7 nights and enjoyed everything about it. The location was great making it easy to get anywhere in the city. Peter was the perfect host, a great cook, and very helpful. Every morning we had a large wonderful breakfast and every afternoon Peter would make sure we had a pastry treat. Peter and Tom both went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam. We would definitely stay at Boogaard's again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We rented the apartment of the B&B for the five of us. It doesn't come with the 'breakfast' part of B&B (we knew that ahead of time, no surprise there); however, the kitchen of the apartment was very well stocked allowing us to easily fend for ourselves without needing to go shopping.
The owner, Peter, was very nice and helpful when we needed to ask for directions or pointers on where to go, see, and eat. He directed us to some very nice restaurants nearby. He was very helpful with other questions that we had as well. When we first arrived he gave us the grand tour of the entire building and his renovations; a very interesting insight into Amsterdam housing!
The only vague drawback was perhaps street noise; but that isn't really a specific problem with this establishment. Even just a few pedestrians talking loudly would be noticeable. But this was very intermittent and frankly easily overlooked.
The beds were very comfortable; the sitting area of the apartment was very nice; did I mention the well stocked kitchen? The rooms were very clean. The location is an easy walk from the train station (about 10-15 minutes). It was also within walking distance of many attractions itself, or rather close to public transit lines (i.e. back to the train station area).
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The apartment was on the 1st floor (i.e. 2nd story); the actual B&B rooms were on the next/2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Four of us stayed at the apartment of Peter Boogaard for 4 wonderful nights. The reviews that we read before booking this B&B are totally right - this is a brilliant place, with excellent personal service by the owner himself. Although we were in the apartment, and not in the bed and breakfast rooms, we still got lots of goodies in the fridge, additional cakes, a welcome drink - all as a genuine welcoming gesture.
The house itself was stunning with loads of christmas decorations, lights, and more. A real festive spirit to start our pre-Christmas holiday.
The apartment is totally equipped with everything you may need, and the beds have more cushions than you can cope with - a real "plus" for my wife. We all cuddled up on the chairs and sofa each evening, as if we were in our own living room.
Peter's knowledge of Amsterdam is better than any guidebook we read (he has lots of them stacked on shelves in the living room), and you should ask him about Indonesian restaurants - fabulous!
What else can we say? Just go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenBeansSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed at boorgaard's in November 2013. Our host peter is a lovely man who made us feel very welcome.

He baked us some lovely breakfasts such as home made croissants.

The bedrooms were nice and a reasonable size for a 400 year old building in Amsterdam. Loved the sitting room between the 2 bedrooms as well. If you're lucky, you can meet Peter and tom's badger!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £128 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing