We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words alone cannot express the beauty of the Boogaard's experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My husband and I are avid travelers who are always in search of the perfect vacation experience. After spending a week at Boogaard's, I can safely say we have reached travel enlightenment. It would take me pages to list all the details that combined to make this the most delightful and relaxing vacation we have ever experienced. Peter is the definition of "the host with the most." Amazing chef, fabulous taste, painstaking attention to detail, great conversations around the breakfast table....I could go on and on. I should probably mention that I'm a picky individual with major OCD. Boogaard's blew me away on so many levels, and we're already planning our return in the very near future. Best place to stay EVER...in the most charming and wonderful city EVER. Hands down. Oh yeah, I don't know the secret behind the amazing bed, but I could only describe sleeping as having little angels massaging me whilst floating on a cloud. Perfection. We cried when we left.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicchihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

We just spent three nights in Amsterdam at this B&B. It's in a great location - 10 minute walk to the dam or the train station. The accomodations are great. There are four rooms and each two rooms share a sitting room & kitchentte space. Comfortably furnished bedrooms and great bathrooms. We had just come off a nine day river cruise. The owner Peter had our laundry done for us at no cost. There was a laptop for our use in the sitting room. Beer, pop and juice in the fridge. All the fixings for coffee and tea. Fabulous breakfast, fresh baked treats in the sitting room in the afternoons and to top it all off a wonderful, charming and super obliging host. We can't say enough good about this B&B. We would go back in a heartbeat.
B & C, Ottawa, Canada Nov. 7, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandCOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We like staying in B&B's and have stayed in many. Boogaard's is the best by far. Great location in Amsterdam, very comfortable accommodations and a wonderful host. Peter is a charming and gracious host. Sitting around his breakfast table in the morning is a great way to start your day in Amsterdam. I had a cold while there so was not able to eat everything I wanted to so will have to go back and really dig in.

Peter, Tomas, Susan and the dogs Pepe and Curly make you feel at home the moment you arrive. Loved having the sitting room to relax, make a cup of tea/coffee and enjoy Peter's famous cakes. Really enjoyed sitting up late one night talking with Peter. Will absolutely come back here again. Amsterdam needs more than the 3 days we spent there so another visit to Boogaard's is in order.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

arriving at the Boogaards very tired on a Friday afternoon, I received a very warm welcome from Peter. There was homemade cake and a coffee machine so I helped myself and had a nap. Peter had pointed out a nearby veggie restaurant and when my husband arrived a bit later we made our way down there. The room was lovely, really comfortable and having the sitting room there too was really good. We have enormous communal breakfasts around a large table with other couples, Peter topping up drinks and chatting throughout.
Amsterdam's a great city and the B&B is in one of the nicer areas too, in a proper old house, tastefully restored. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puperino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Boogaard's is a lovely B&B in convenient walking distance to all the things you might want to do and see in Amsterdam. My husband and I arrived at Amsterdam's Centraal Station by train and were very easily able to find Boogaard's location with Peter's very specific directions. Upon arrival, it was discovered that there was a slight mix-up with our reservations and as Peter was out of town, Susan was able to rescue my severely jetlagged husband and I by securing us one of her lovely apartment rentals nearby. We were nervous that this was an ominous start to our trip, but we were quickly proven wrong the next morning when we returned to Boogaard's for breakfast. The meal was delicious and we were able to meet our host Peter and get our reservation situation all straightened out.

After a long day of touring the wonderful city of Amsterdam, we returned to Boogaard's only to be greeted by fresh baked cakes, coffee, and an assortment of other treats. The layout of the rooms is really nice with the bedrooms/bathrooms being private and the sititng room being nice and cozy in the middle. We appreciated the use of the laptop while we were there too. Also, my husband and I were interested in trying Rijsttafel while in Amsterdam and Peter was nice enough to make us reservations at Sampurna, which we highly enjoyed.

All in all, despite our intial mix-up, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Boogaard's and appreciated the expedient way in which the situation was addressed. We would highly recommend this location to anyone that is looking for somewhere special to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We stayed in "Boogaards B and B" in September 2009 and highly recommend Boogaards if you want to stay in central Amsterdam. Peter Boogaard is the most gracious of hosts and is exceedingly helpful for any concern. Peter serves up a breakfast that will keep you going most or all of the day such that you won't need a full lunch that is for certain. For dinner he can recommend and reserve restaurants for any type of food and of the 4 dinners we had in Amsterdam he did not steer us wrong at all. For Indonesian food he booked us into Sampurna right at the flower market and if you like Indonesian this is a good as it gets. Boogaards is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Amsterdam Central train station in the heart of Amsterdam. You can walk anywhere from here and we did everyday.
Boogaards has only 3 rooms, 1 on the second floor and 2 on the third floor all with private baths. The breakfast room is on the ground floor. By North American standards the stairs are steeper than normal so you have to be good with walking stairs as there is no elevator. If staying in central Amsterdam is your plan you will not be disappointed with Peter Boogaard's B and B.

Jim and Juliane
Calgary Alberta Canada

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

This is absolutely one of the best Bed & Breakfasts we've experienced. Peter certainly knew how to look after his guests. Very friendly atmosphere, clean, comfortable, secure and delicious breakfasts and baking that will keep you going for the rest of the day. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Splotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,981 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Breitner House
#14 of 338 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £115 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing