We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast is your home away from home in Amsterdam.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast is your home away from home in Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Although our stay in Amsterdam was a short one, with two days and two nights, we had an incredible stay at Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast while on our visit in this wonderful city. From our first arrival we were greeted by Peter and warmly welcomed with freshly baked gourmet brownies. Since we had such a short stay, Peter went out of his way to make the most of our visit and highlighted the must sees for us.

Peter is an excellent cook and prepared a delicious breakfast. We greatly enjoyed the conversations with him and the other guests in the morning. Peter is a wonderful and exceptional host and we hope to be able to go back for another visit when we will be able to enjoy more time in the lovely city of Amsterdam and to be able to enjoy the hospitality and exceptional service at Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellman1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
625
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

With 30 years of domestic and international travel, and a penchant for B&B’s, we finally discovered the “Gold Standard” of B&B’s – Boogaard’s Bed & Breakfast in Amsterdam. We stayed there four days and 5 nights, and each day was consistently excellent, both in the quality of accommodations, the fantastic breakfasts (a different “food theme” every day) and the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner, Peter Boogaard, his partner Tomasz, and his two housekeepers.

There are four cheerful bedrooms; two on each floor, each separated by a shared living room, in this 17th century Dutch four-story building in the historic Jordaan district. The main level consists of the kitchen and dining area. The second and third floors the guest rooms, and the fourth floor is the owner’s quarters.
Unlike many B&B’s and hotels rooms in European cities, Boogaard’s has large rooms and beds, and generous-size bathrooms, each with a large separate shower that doesn’t make the entire bathroom wet.

If you spend more than a couple of days at Boogaard’s, you can’t help but feel like you’re leaving behind family as you check out. Boogaards, in our opinion, is a must do experience, as much as visiting museums, seeing the sights, and dining where the locals eat.

If there is a magic ingredient in the Boogaard B&B experience, it’s Peter’s genuine concern and desire for pleasing his guests. Many great compliments have already been posted by other guests, so all we want to add is that anyone who leaves Boogaard’s disappointed or dissatisfied is simply impossible to please.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HollyAZ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Boogards is the best B&B we have stayed in anywhere in the world.It is centrally located a short distance from the central railway station. It is in the lovely canal area and within walking distance of many Amsterdam's attractions.Peter is a most generous host nothing is too much trouble. Extras included laundry,internet access,beautiful homemade cakes and biscuits. Our room was very comfortable with homely touches e.g. bathrobes,toiletries,etc .Peter's breakfasts have to be experienced to be believed. No need for lunch!! This B&B comes highly recommended.Hopefully we will return one day.Thank you Peter.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonygAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Boogaard B&B deserves its #1 ranking. Peter is a wonderful host, cook, baker, tour guide. The house has a great location, quiet street off of major canals. Four rooms is about right for great breakfast conversations. Two rooms are on one floor with a shared living room/kitchen and the other two, including our room, are one floor further up, also with a shared living room/kitchen. Wifi, afternoon goodies, comfortable beds, great conversation, who could ask for more.

The bonus is that Amsterdam is such a wonderful city - more canals than Venice, more bikes than cars, easy to walk or tram anywhere, great restaurants, incredible museums. There is much more to Amsterdam than the red light district and coffee shops that I remember from my visit when I was in my 20's.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

I spent four nights at Boogaard's with a friend,since we reserved two rooms we basically had a two bedroom ,two bath apartment with fully equipped..and stocked kitchen,and a large living area complete with guidebooks and a laptop!!!
Peter is an absolutely fabulous host....
Breakfast is magical...our favorite was the pancake feast,perfectly cooked pancakes,21 different toppings and delicious bacon. Every day Peter provides a different menu.
After breakfast our gracious host would inquire about dinner plans and offer to make reservations at nearby restaurants. We had great dinners at Prego,Season's and Scarpetta....would highly recommend all three for great food and an overall memorable dining experience.
As we prepared to say goodbye and depart for our train trip to Paris, Peter surprised us with a wonderful lunch to enjoy on the train, dutch cheese sandwiches on homemade raisin bread,fruit and special dutch cookies.....really does not get any better than this.

Although we only spent four days with Peter,Curly and Pepe as we said goodbye we felt as though we were leaving life long friends....

To Peter , Thank you very much for your hospitality....
Boogaard's is an experience we will always remember.
Hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IVAN2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

If you don’t enjoy great company, exceptional food, a level of service found in 5 star hotels and accommodation of the highest quality then Boogards is not for you. However we do enjoy these things and Boogards met and exceeded every expectation we had. We cannot add anything to all the positive reviews given, they are all true. The breakfasts were superb and it’s a good job Peter does not weigh you on arrival and then departure. The quality and quantity does set you up for a day’s sightseeing of this wonderful city. Returning in the evening to an immaculately clean room, fresh towels, a restocked fridge, and home baked cakes all with an endless supply of coffee or tea. Every room is of the highest standard and to say you’re in central Amsterdam, it was great to be able to leave the window open at night and have a good nights sleep.
Peter was able to direct us towards eating establishments to suit our needs but also was directing other guests to differing establishments. He does appear to have eaten City wide, though Seasons was a regular suggestion and after sampling their food we can see why. His knowledge of the city can direct you to places you want to visit or to places you have not even considered. If you want a memorable stay in a memorable city this is the place. Thank you Peter, Tomasz, Pepe & Curly.

Andy and Bev
UK

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gertiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Just a little note for Peter, you're B&B is simply the best place to stay in Amsterdam. Nice clean rooms enough space to move around, Super homemade breakfast in the morning with interesting conversation with our host and the other guests, nice kitchen area to have coffee and plan your activities for the next day. All the advice on what to do in town and any help you'd need to get there or with reservations for dinner. Thanks again Peter and be sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing