We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Okay, first off, this is only the second 5 star rating I have given. I am very particular about giving 5. First, Rachel and Pepjin are the best. They have it figured out. Room, service, loaction......the best. The only reason not to stay here is if they are full. I was a solo traveler during Easter weekend at the culmination of a multi country trip and this was by far the best place I stayed. I would love to go back some day and visit with them again. Great end to a great trip! BOOK YOUR ROOM NOW!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a courtyard rrom and it was very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadagain12_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    115
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
421
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Every trip we take starts with tripadvisor and we have yet to be disappointed! So I'll start with a vote of thanks to all who post reviews here.
Assuming you have already decided you want to visit Amsterdam, I will try to restrain myself from raving on about what an awesome place it is.
First time in the city, and first time in the country, we stumbled off the plane bleary and sleep deprived, with directions to Misc in hand, which got us to the hotel without a problem. But first-timers be aware that you will step out of Centraal Station into a world packed with bicycles, and pedestrians do NOT have the right of way!!
We were greeted at the hotel by friendly staff who got us settled in to our room quickly and easily. After a little rest, we began a week's adventure that is going to become a lifetime of wonderful memories.
Most frequently on hand is Rachel, who I think has a knack to quickly read her guests' wishes, and she gave us tips and directions to all the places we wanted to go (and all the places we didn't know we wanted to see til we got there!).
Misc serves up a breakfast that is varied and tasty, and enough to last a busy day if need be.
We chose a Garden View room, which costs a bit less, but the primary reason for the selection was other TA reviews which said the Canal View rooms could be a bit noisy, and a couple guests affirmed that, though they were not unhappy. Our room was very quiet, and the only sounds were a couple pigeons cooing outside the window. Although the room is small by American standards, it was more than adequate, and had all kinds of extra goodies like an espresso machine and a micro fridge with drinks and treats that are included in the price of the room. The bathroom is comparatively spacious tho the shower is a bit small but hey, we didn't come to Amsterdam to look for big showers.
The bed is comfy and the comforters are downright luxurious.
Everything is sparkling clean!
A tip of the hat to Gabriel, who keeps things running smoothly but is never too busy to drop everything and make you a cappuccino.
So in all, it's a hands-down 5 stars for MISC. I thank you all at your "little hotel" for making our visit to Amsterdam a wonderful experience.
Travel tip: Canal tours are popular and recommended! If you want you can get a cruise-ship equivalent and float around with a hundred people or you can take Rachel's advice and get your own private tour right in front of the hotel. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Fitness center? That's a chuckle. A few trips up and down the stairs and you'll be in great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnbike4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

misceatdrinksleep met and exceeded our expectations on our first trip to Amsterdam. We walked from Amsterdam Centraal station (we travel fairly light) and even in the confusion and exhaustion of a long day of travel, it was no problem to find thanks to the given directions. We were greeted by Gabriel who immediately offered to bring our luggage upstairs. Thank You!!! Though the stairs were steep, they were not too hard to get used to and comparatively mild compared to some places in Amsterdam.

Our 3rd floor garden view room gave us a great behind-the-scenes view of what you can't possibly see from the street as a tourist. It was very peaceful as well and very little city noise found it's way to our room. The bed was a bit hard for me as I was recovering from a spine surgery, however, the staff was willing to work with me to create a softer surface via extra comforters and duvet covers and it all worked out splendidly. Under normal circumstances, I would have had no issues with the bed. The included breakfast was satisfying with bacon and eggs cooked to your liking each day if desired and a variety of breads, granolas, yogurts, etc...

Our hosts, Rachel and Pepijn were very friendly and Rachel is to be commended for her going above and beyond the call of duty to help everyone find the best experience for them. She steered us in every right direction and certainly enhanced our stay. She even arranged a canal tour which was fairly exclusive with a local fellow who takes as few a 2 people. There were 2 others on our tour and the captain was knowledgeable and fun. I recommend taking advantage of this tour as opposed to one of the larger outfits. It was personal and charming with complimentary champagne and/or beer.

The hotel itself is fairly centrally located and within walking distance of most of the major attractions the city has to offer. We chose to take a taxi to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseums due to a bad knee and the aforementioned spine recovery but an otherwise healthy person could certainly make it there on foot in around 25 minutes.

There are bikes everywhere(!) and some for rent even, but I would suggest that only experienced bicyclist apply and perhaps do some walking around first to get a sense of the rights of way and tenacity of the bicycle culture in Amsterdam.

All in all, we have no complaints about misceatdrinksleep and won't hesitate to stay again if we find ourselves in Amsterdam in the future. A+!!!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms show and otherwise unavailable view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. The Design Room was large, and the bed was perfect. Rachel and Pepijn gave us excellent information and helped us whenever we needed guidance. We loved the view of the canal. They provide a noise machine, and we didn't notice noise when we slept. The church bells and sea gulls added to the flavor of the city's energy vibe. We walked to all the major attractions and enjoyed the minibar snacks each day. We were so full from breakfast that we couldn't even eat lunch most days. Be sure to get a museum pass to avoid lines. We managed to walk right into the Anne Frank house late one evening even though the lines had been long all day. Bring an umbrella and rain coat; the weather changes by the minute here.

Room Tip: They help with the luggage, but you do have to be able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

From start to finish the staff helped us get acquainted with the city, and made wonderful recommendations based on our personal travel style and preferences. The rooms were large by European standards. The room was clean and well-appointed, and the views of the canal (2 windows!) were very nice and relaxing. We won't stay anywhere else now...this really was an unexpected treat. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My twenty year-old daughter and I stayed at this charming inn in Amsterdam. The breakfast was included and made fresh to order. The rooms were clean and comfortable and service pleasant and efficient. The extra touches like the snacks and drinks in the room and free wifi were appreciated. Best of all is the location. Close to major historic attractions and the fun of the local pubs and clubs that surround the red light district. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBarker34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel made our stay in Amsterdam such an incredible one. My husband and I stayed on the second floor canal view room, the Rembrandt room. The room is on the small side, but has everything you need. A comfortable bed, a mini bar with free water, drinks, beer, snacks, and they restock it! There is an awesome coffee maker in the room and it is just great to wake up and have an espresso while getting ready. The room is decorated very well, with some prints of rembrandts paintings, a small flat screen tv, and sitting area by the window with a vase with lovely tulips/flowers. The bathroom shower is great, good pressure. They supply nice shower gel and hand soap, although do not supply shampoo. The canal view is great! We were so pleased with this hotel. It was located on the end of the canal so it was less busy and not too noisy at night. The room did come with a white noise machine.
The stairs are steep and narrow, as are all canal house stairs, but the owners were nice and brought our suitcases up for us. We arrived very early in the morning, so left our bags with them, and then did a little exploring nearby and came back at 10am and were able to get up to our room earlier than expected. The hotel is very close by to central station, and was not a problem walking there with our luggage, its about a 10 minute walk be we left the station on the wrong side and it took us longer as we had to walk around. Be sure to have a map handy! There are so many cafes, restaurants and coffee shops nearby. This is the best location! We walked everywhere. Its about a 25 minute walk to the museum area, but very close to the Redlight and Dam square. Don't be scared of the Red light district, there are some great bars and cafes, and I never felt unsafe here. If you walk left out of the hotel there is an outdoor market, and lots of cafes with outdoor seating about a block or 2 away. We spent a lot of time having a cappuccino in the sun while watching the market people here, its very nice!

Breakfast here is superb! Breads with jams, jellies and spreads, musile ceral, granola, yogurt, fruit, croissants, and they will cook you up some eggs and bacon. You also get a platter of 3 cheeses and a dish of sliced meat and a cappuccino! What a great start to the day!

I highly recommend this hotel! I can't wait to return! Thanks Rachel and Pijpin :)

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, 3 are canal view rooms and I recommend a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgrl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing