We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #8 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at this neat little hotel the first week of May. It was everything I thought it would be after reading other reviews. I had a courtyard view room and it was quiet, didn't hear a sound actually. The room was larger than I thought it would be. I was surprised that the small refrigerator in the room was so well stocked with beer, water, soft drinks and chocolate bars. All was complimentary, and was restocked daily. The room also had a single serve coffee maker, and the coffee was actually enjoyable. Great location, just a short walk to Dam Square, the Central train/bus/canal taxi area, coffee houses, and the red light district. A complimentary breakfast was served each morning consisting of orange or apple juice, coffees, expresso, lattes, cappichino, or regular coffee. Choice of cold cereals, artisan breads, and warm croisant, or all of them. Whatever you wanted. Upon request you could have a freshley cooked egg, and bacon. Proprietors Rachel and Pepjin were always at the ready and helpful with directions, recommendations for travel options and restaurants. I will stay at this hotel again when I visit Amsterdam in the future. Thanks to Rachel, Pipjin, chief cook and bottle washer Gabriel, and guard cat Kit Kat for making my too short stay an enjoyable one. Hope to see you all again soon.

Rick Blasco
San Antonio, Texas

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    117
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
439
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great location. Its within 10 min to centraal train station and they will give you very detailed and easy to follow instructions on how to get there by car, train or on foot. They arranged a car service pick up for us at the airport and everything was excellent.
We stayed in room number 6 on the third floor. Ill post a pic of it here. The ONLY con would be the stairs. The steep, circular and narrow stairs ARE a problem. Staff will take your luggage up and down, but watch out for that if you're not in perfect shape – The room itself is very nice, with a lot of light coming from the two large windows.
They bought our tickets to the keukenhoff and gave us every piece of info about trains, trams or whatever it was we wanted to know. I strongly advise buying tickets on line to the main attractions(Ann Frank, Van Gogh etc) cuz the lines are HUGE and it will save u a lot of time. The hotel will kindly do that for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdseyeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Okay, first off, this is only the second 5 star rating I have given. I am very particular about giving 5. First, Rachel and Pepjin are the best. They have it figured out. Room, service, loaction......the best. The only reason not to stay here is if they are full. I was a solo traveler during Easter weekend at the culmination of a multi country trip and this was by far the best place I stayed. I would love to go back some day and visit with them again. Great end to a great trip! BOOK YOUR ROOM NOW!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a courtyard rrom and it was very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadagain12_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Every trip we take starts with tripadvisor and we have yet to be disappointed! So I'll start with a vote of thanks to all who post reviews here.
Assuming you have already decided you want to visit Amsterdam, I will try to restrain myself from raving on about what an awesome place it is.
First time in the city, and first time in the country, we stumbled off the plane bleary and sleep deprived, with directions to Misc in hand, which got us to the hotel without a problem. But first-timers be aware that you will step out of Centraal Station into a world packed with bicycles, and pedestrians do NOT have the right of way!!
We were greeted at the hotel by friendly staff who got us settled in to our room quickly and easily. After a little rest, we began a week's adventure that is going to become a lifetime of wonderful memories.
Most frequently on hand is Rachel, who I think has a knack to quickly read her guests' wishes, and she gave us tips and directions to all the places we wanted to go (and all the places we didn't know we wanted to see til we got there!).
Misc serves up a breakfast that is varied and tasty, and enough to last a busy day if need be.
We chose a Garden View room, which costs a bit less, but the primary reason for the selection was other TA reviews which said the Canal View rooms could be a bit noisy, and a couple guests affirmed that, though they were not unhappy. Our room was very quiet, and the only sounds were a couple pigeons cooing outside the window. Although the room is small by American standards, it was more than adequate, and had all kinds of extra goodies like an espresso machine and a micro fridge with drinks and treats that are included in the price of the room. The bathroom is comparatively spacious tho the shower is a bit small but hey, we didn't come to Amsterdam to look for big showers.
The bed is comfy and the comforters are downright luxurious.
Everything is sparkling clean!
A tip of the hat to Gabriel, who keeps things running smoothly but is never too busy to drop everything and make you a cappuccino.
So in all, it's a hands-down 5 stars for MISC. I thank you all at your "little hotel" for making our visit to Amsterdam a wonderful experience.
Travel tip: Canal tours are popular and recommended! If you want you can get a cruise-ship equivalent and float around with a hundred people or you can take Rachel's advice and get your own private tour right in front of the hotel. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Fitness center? That's a chuckle. A few trips up and down the stairs and you'll be in great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnbike4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

misceatdrinksleep met and exceeded our expectations on our first trip to Amsterdam. We walked from Amsterdam Centraal station (we travel fairly light) and even in the confusion and exhaustion of a long day of travel, it was no problem to find thanks to the given directions. We were greeted by Gabriel who immediately offered to bring our luggage upstairs. Thank You!!! Though the stairs were steep, they were not too hard to get used to and comparatively mild compared to some places in Amsterdam.

Our 3rd floor garden view room gave us a great behind-the-scenes view of what you can't possibly see from the street as a tourist. It was very peaceful as well and very little city noise found it's way to our room. The bed was a bit hard for me as I was recovering from a spine surgery, however, the staff was willing to work with me to create a softer surface via extra comforters and duvet covers and it all worked out splendidly. Under normal circumstances, I would have had no issues with the bed. The included breakfast was satisfying with bacon and eggs cooked to your liking each day if desired and a variety of breads, granolas, yogurts, etc...

Our hosts, Rachel and Pepijn were very friendly and Rachel is to be commended for her going above and beyond the call of duty to help everyone find the best experience for them. She steered us in every right direction and certainly enhanced our stay. She even arranged a canal tour which was fairly exclusive with a local fellow who takes as few a 2 people. There were 2 others on our tour and the captain was knowledgeable and fun. I recommend taking advantage of this tour as opposed to one of the larger outfits. It was personal and charming with complimentary champagne and/or beer.

The hotel itself is fairly centrally located and within walking distance of most of the major attractions the city has to offer. We chose to take a taxi to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseums due to a bad knee and the aforementioned spine recovery but an otherwise healthy person could certainly make it there on foot in around 25 minutes.

There are bikes everywhere(!) and some for rent even, but I would suggest that only experienced bicyclist apply and perhaps do some walking around first to get a sense of the rights of way and tenacity of the bicycle culture in Amsterdam.

All in all, we have no complaints about misceatdrinksleep and won't hesitate to stay again if we find ourselves in Amsterdam in the future. A+!!!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms show and otherwise unavailable view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. The Design Room was large, and the bed was perfect. Rachel and Pepijn gave us excellent information and helped us whenever we needed guidance. We loved the view of the canal. They provide a noise machine, and we didn't notice noise when we slept. The church bells and sea gulls added to the flavor of the city's energy vibe. We walked to all the major attractions and enjoyed the minibar snacks each day. We were so full from breakfast that we couldn't even eat lunch most days. Be sure to get a museum pass to avoid lines. We managed to walk right into the Anne Frank house late one evening even though the lines had been long all day. Bring an umbrella and rain coat; the weather changes by the minute here.

Room Tip: They help with the luggage, but you do have to be able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

From start to finish the staff helped us get acquainted with the city, and made wonderful recommendations based on our personal travel style and preferences. The rooms were large by European standards. The room was clean and well-appointed, and the views of the canal (2 windows!) were very nice and relaxing. We won't stay anywhere else now...this really was an unexpected treat. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing