We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the BEST”
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #8 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very personalized service. Absolutely outstanding. We stayed here for one week at the end of June, 2012 and could not be happier with our accommodations and the warm and helpful service we received from the owners--their 'watch' cat is even loving. The rooms are adorable, artsy, and very clean. And, of course it did not hurt that they have Nespresso machines in every room. The breakfasts are fresh, good, and nutritious. Pepijn is truly very helpful with everything. He can get tickets for anything, so there's never waiting in lines to get into the popular museums. We absolutely would not stay any other place in Amsterdam. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: check Trip Advisor before any other site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Chic rooms, cheap rates, situated in downtown Amsterdam and with friendly owners (?) treating everybody like an oldtime friend... No wonder why they're nearly always full. The Misc is a great place to stay. Thanks for the experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were looking for a hotel within walking distance of the train station and centrally located this hotel was perfect for both. The main tourist attractions are about a ten min walk away and it is just around the corner from the red light district also a few doors down from an amazing Thai restaurant and 5 min walk to china town. Room was spacious as was bathroom but very steep stairs to third floor but worth it when we got there! Room was beautiful with lovely big windows only one tiny complaint was that the chandelier had not seen a duster for a very long time! Mini bar was full of drinks and snacks which was very welcome and the bed and bedding very clean and good quality, slept very well. Wonderful breakfast in the morning searved till 12. Would highly recommend and i normally would not consider a 2 star but this place was fab.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Great localization, warm reception, wondeful service, excellent rooms! We strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamFelzenszwalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I initially chose this hotel based on its location, reviews, and price. This was my first trip to Amsterdam so I wanted to stay near the hustle and bustle of the city without being overwhelmed. Misc really fit the bill. It’s located on a bustling canal with a number of great restaurants and bars just up the block. The red light district and a number of tourist attractions are a quick stroll away, and to move farther afield there is a metro station across the canal. We couldn’t have asked for a better place to start our travels through the city.

The hotel itself was fantastic. We stayed in the baroque room at the top of the house. It was much larger than we expected and the bathroom was huge. Both were clean and in great condition, the room also comes equipped with a mini fridge filled with interesting snacks and a variety of drinks which was nice to find. I do a bit of travelling in the US for work and did not have high hopes for the mini bar, but I’m happy to say I was pleasantly surprised to find nice chocolates, juices, along with soda, wine, chips and beer. The room had a few large, beautiful windows that we could open. Since we happened to be there on an especially warm weekend in early May we made good use of them. We slept with them open most nights and had no problems with noise (not that I expected any but I read someone had been complaining about this earlier and wanted to note that we were there on a beautiful spring weekend and did not have any problems with it… honestly we didn’t hear much at all from the street.)

We spent time interacting with both Rachel & Pepjin (the innkeepers) during our stay. Rachel is extremely friendly and was really helpful in planning out some of our wanderings / excursions throughout the city. I notice that some folks thought that Pepjin was a bit gruff but we found him to be open and approachable. He did the majority of the cooking while we were there and the breakfasts were great, everything was fresh and delicious - bread & coffee, had-squeezed juices, along with a variety of yogurts, fruits, eggs, cheeses, and meats… there was plenty for just about any palate.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately a long weekend wasn’t quite enough time to see everything we wanted but both agreed that Misc would be at the top of our list of hotels when we return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanHanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Thank You Trip Advisor for helping us to find this great hotel.
Dont be put off by the quirky name. This is not your normal Tourist Chain hotel. It is a boutique hotel in a great location in Nieuwmarkt. Amsterdam is a very walkable city and Misc eatdrinksleep is an excellent base for an Amsterdam visit. The Niewmarkt district is very central and has great restaurants, bars and shopping. An easy 8 minute walk to Dam Square, 2 minute walk to Chinatown and about 10 minute walk to the main rail station and harbour. The Red Light district is located on a canal behind Chinatown, but there is absolutely no issues in staying at this hotel. The hotel is located on a canal which is quiet, safe and delightful.
Each hotel room is individually themed and decorated and very comfortable. It has the normal steep and narrow staircase of an Amsterdam Canal House, but your luggage is quickly carried upstairs to your room - and downstairs again on departure.
We had a canal view room and were not disappointed. Did not experience any noise at night, but our four night stay was not over a weekend. The free mini bar in the room is a bonus.
The included breakfast is individually prepared for you each morning including eggs, bacon, ham and continental as required. And very good coffee.
If you are coming from the airport, take advantage of their limo transfer service - fair pricing, clean car and driver provides a short tour of the city on the way to the hotel.
Owners Rachel and Pepjin are friendly and helpful and enjoy hosting you in their boutique hotel.
Very good all round value in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a canal view and although we did not experience any street noise, other reports men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodLyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We booked this hotel for a 4 night stay because of reviews on TripAdvisor and were very happy with our choice. It is in a great location - a short walk from the main train staion and all the sights we wanted to visit. We had a canal view room on the top floor and it was very large and comfortable with the free Minibar being a definate plus. It was a bit noisy but not too bad and didn't disturb our sleep. Being on the top floor our room was quite hot so we had to keep the windows open all the time -there is no airconditioning. I notice all the other reviewers mentioning how friendly and helpful the hosts were - this was a bit of a disappointment - we hardly saw Rachel and Pepjin we found quite gruff and not very friendly at all. When I asked for some places he recommended he just replied - I don't know what you want so how would I know what to tell you ? - I was a bit disappointed after the reviews mentioning their friendliness. Gabriel was obliging and helpful but very quiet. All in all we were happy with this choice but probably not as thrilled as some other reviewers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,636 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,131 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £153 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing