We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, excellent location”
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #8 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We booked misc eatdrinksleep for a 3 night 'minimoon' after our wedding. It was the perfect choice. We arrived before our room was ready but the owner was happy for us to leave our bags while we went for lunch. Upon returning we were shown to our room 'the Rembrandt'. The views over the canal are lovely for watching the world go by, the bed was massive, nice furnishings and a clean bathroom and loo. The only down side is the 2 sets of very steep stairs that you have to climb to get to the room - but I think this is a feature of nearly all buildings in Amsterdam!
The breakfast was good - fresh bread, smoothies, cereal, croissants, bacon and eggs, coffee - we certainly didn't feel the need to snack before lunch!
The location is excellent - on the edge of the red light district but still quiet in at night. It's also only a short walk to the main station.
I would go back to misc eatdrinksleep on another trip to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryonybooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over Easter 2013 (two adults, two teenagers and an eight year old). The breakfast is fantastic. Great care and attention is paid by the super helpful owners to enable guests to make the most of their stay - good maps, good local knowledge and advice. We occupied the two first floor bedrooms, totally different decor in each, quirky and fun! The complimentary drinks and snacks in the room were a massive hit with the children... In our front bedroom the bed was huge and very comfortable and there was a great view of canal and street scene from the window seat.. I had been concerned about the potential for noise at night, given the central location, but we had no problems during our stay. Great location, wonderful service, fab city!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteCShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I could rave for hours about the breakfast but I won't. Delicious and fresh and the tastiest orange juice I've ever had. The owners were very friendly and easy going. The location is great and the rooms are quaint. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mightysparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our week long trip through the Netherlands and Germany. I am so glad that it was last because it was the best! Rachel (from Wisconsin) and Pepijn were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. They purchased "fast lane" tickets for us to see the Van Gogh exhibit and they steered us toward the best time to visit the Anne Frank house (only a 15 minute wait). They also recommended several excellent places to eat and drink including the Puccini sandwhich shop on the way to the Hermitage/Dutch Resistance Museums and the Brouwerij 't IJ (brewery with a windmill - don't miss!).

Location: The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from Central Station down Zeedjik across Nieumarkt square. As with everything in Amsterdam, it is walking distance to wherever you want to go, but it was nice to be so close to Central Station so that catching our training in the morning was a breeze.

Room: We stayed in the Baroque room on the top floor overlooking the inner garden. It was quiet, comfortable and nicely luxurious. All of the little touches really made this room special. After walking up the three flights of steep stairs our bags were waiting for us in the room along with a bottle of prosecco, chocolates and beautiful purple calla lilies. The bed is two twins pushed together, but unlike other hotels, there is a bumper in between and king size linens with heavenly pillows (best ones on our trip). The bathroom was quite large (although the shower curtain made showering a bit cramped) with frosted windows to let lots of light in. I like how they use the soap dispensers too - wish more American hotels would do this. All items in the mini bar are included in the price of the room and they will restock everything - amazing. There's also a Nespresso machine with both coffee and teas. And I loved the robes too. The room was not large, but it was more than comfortable. The view over the inner courtyard was neat - interesting to see the surrounding buildings - and in the distance we could see the dome of the Royal Palace and the top of the ferris wheel from the carnival that was in town over the weekend. Don't let the three flights of stairs scare you... this room was fantastic.

Breakfast: Eggs any style and made to order, fresh bread, meats, cheeses, cereal, coffee and tea. Served from 9-12 (we enjoyed sleeping in a bit on our first day) but can be served earlier if needed (as on our second day when we had to catch the train they made breakfast for us at 7:45).

Wifi is free and works well in both the lobby and the room. I couldn't agree more with all of the positive things others have had to say about this hotel. I will stay here again and recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANCBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The owners are fantastic people, the rooms are quaint and comfortable and the breakfasts are incredible. I have stayed here twice over the last few years and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The proximity to the train, buses, food, flower market and tourist sights is very convenient. Wifi and stocked mini bar is nice too, they really take care of all of the little things that make travelling that much more enjoyable. One of my top hotel choices around the world!

NOTE: There is no elevator and the staircase is narrow. They will help you get your bags up and down though if you need assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skgal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This lovely hotel is centrally placed, the room was super with a huge bed and we were even treated to some Prosecco. Rachel is a great font of knowledge and could not do enough for us and recommended some fantastic restaurants and always with a smile on her face. The hotel is in a super position and you can walk to all the sights. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreborLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed two nights in this little bed and breakfast and were made very welcome from the moment we stepped inside. Yes, stairs are steep but thanks to Gabriel who took our cases from us and delivered them to our room we didn't have to worry. Clean and comfortable, great breakfast, perfect location being central to everything we wanted to visit and a massive bed! Very congenial hosts with great local knowledge, nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and stay again if over that way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,636 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,786 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,132 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £153 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing