We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #7 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It was clear from our 4-night stay at this boutique hotel that a great deal of thought has gone into every detail that made our stay so delightful. Our room had everything we needed, with some extras. The breakfast provided by Gabriel was wonderful. The owners were so welcoming; their ready advice and help arranging activities was spot-on - including their directions for where we could ride their bikes for a day. Even the reading material in the breakfast room was fun to look at. They provided us with a continental breakfast tray the night before our early departure. We will not hesitate to stay there again as besides being a great little hotel in and of itself, the location by Nieuwmarkt is perfect. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were on the canal side, and though it was a little noisy, it was cool enough that we could close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneFlorenzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 2 nights . We dont normally stay in such small hotels, but we were delighted with our choice . The location is great, a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station . You are right beside the re Light district but still seperate from it . The rooms are much bigger than you would think from looking at the building from the outside . The owners, Rachel and Pepijen are lovely people, and have great advice for where to go, and how to get around the city . Becareful of pepijens advice, no matter how odd it seems, he always seems to be right .
Overall a really great place to stay and we definitly intend to return

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view, but may be a little noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davephelan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I've never actually written a review before however after such an amazing few days at Misc eatdrinksleep I felt compelled to do so. I booked a 3 night stay as a surprise for my boyfriend's 30th and can't recommend it highly enough! We were greeted by the very helpful and welcoming Rachel who provided us with maps and local information, including restaurant recommendations, whilst arranging for our bags to be taken upstairs. The room was incredibly charming with lots of lovely little touches (including chocolates and a bottle of prosecco!) - the bed was unbelievably comfortable and my boyfriend is still raving about the Nespresso machine and fridge of endless goodies (not to mention the breakfast)! The hotel was spotless, quirky and in a fantastic location overlooking a quaint little canal leading to Nieuwmarkt Square. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic and memorable stay in Amsterdam, we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights and requested and received a room at the back of the house on the 1st floor(poor knees on my part) and loved every part of our stay. Both owners were very helpful in taking our bags upstairs, pointing out places to eat, getting tickets on line however the Rijkesmuseum did not let us go in with our tickets and we had to get in line to replace them for their tickets once we entered the museum (the owner said she would call their ticket agency to let them know about this as this museum had been closed for 10 yrs and just reopened). The man making our cooked to order breakfast was lovely and we talked to him each day, perhaps because we were his last breakfast he had more time, but when he was busy he was more efficent and not as talkative but he was very interesting. We left our bags on our last day so we had time to go out to the Kinderhof Gardens which the owner told us we could get to very easily by taking the metro to the airport and getting the busses from there as they left every 10/20mins. We really didn't even know we were near the red light district till Friday night when we were walking back from Dam Square and took a short cut and came upon it. There is a square down the street from the hotel which is family oriented with a market on Saturday's and outdoor cafes and it was easy to get to as we took the train in from the airport then the metro to Newmarket(all metros go this way so no getting lost and it's the first stop) then on the other side of the market is the street and down 2 blocks.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on the 1st floor (2nd floor in US as 1st floor is cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank respbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The building is quaint and in a great location. The owners are so incredibly nice and helpful. This is my first visit to Amsterdam and to misc eatdrinksleep -- but it won't be my last!! The steps are a little challenging so don't stay on the top couple of floors if tiny and steep steps are a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We booked misc eatdrinksleep for a 3 night 'minimoon' after our wedding. It was the perfect choice. We arrived before our room was ready but the owner was happy for us to leave our bags while we went for lunch. Upon returning we were shown to our room 'the Rembrandt'. The views over the canal are lovely for watching the world go by, the bed was massive, nice furnishings and a clean bathroom and loo. The only down side is the 2 sets of very steep stairs that you have to climb to get to the room - but I think this is a feature of nearly all buildings in Amsterdam!
The breakfast was good - fresh bread, smoothies, cereal, croissants, bacon and eggs, coffee - we certainly didn't feel the need to snack before lunch!
The location is excellent - on the edge of the red light district but still quiet in at night. It's also only a short walk to the main station.
I would go back to misc eatdrinksleep on another trip to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryonybooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over Easter 2013 (two adults, two teenagers and an eight year old). The breakfast is fantastic. Great care and attention is paid by the super helpful owners to enable guests to make the most of their stay - good maps, good local knowledge and advice. We occupied the two first floor bedrooms, totally different decor in each, quirky and fun! The complimentary drinks and snacks in the room were a massive hit with the children... In our front bedroom the bed was huge and very comfortable and there was a great view of canal and street scene from the window seat.. I had been concerned about the potential for noise at night, given the central location, but we had no problems during our stay. Great location, wonderful service, fab city!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteCShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,340 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#9 of 375 in Amsterdam
495 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £129 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing