We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis on the canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #11 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis on the canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Misc for 7 nights. The owners were fantastic and gave us ideas and suggestions of where to go during our stay. They even arranged a 2 hour canal tour that we highly recommend! The garden rooms face the back and are a little smaller, but alot quieter. Note there is no air conditioning so can get a little warm in the summer months. There is a free standing fan provided in the room. The breakfast provided is delicious and catered to your choices. There is even a resident cat if you are missing your pets at home. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who is planning on coming to Amsterdam. Just be prepared for steep stair climbing to your room, but totally worth the individually styled rooms. The location is prime and a short walk from Centraal station. Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Liked — Helpfulness of owners
  • Disliked — noisy stairwell and hearing other guests come in late during night
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wehollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    116
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
428
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fifteena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

This hotel was wonderful, my husband and I stayed there last night and absolutely loved it. They were told it was our honeymoon and sent up a bottle of champagne then when we came back from our evening out there was a piece of chocolate cake... it was like every time we left we came back to a sweet little surprise. The owners were a very sweet couple. A full breakfast was provided and the fridge in our room was stocked with complimentary drinks. Everything was clean and the white bed linens were beautiful and comfortable. Overall it was fabulous.

  • Liked — everything was beautiful and comfortable
  • Disliked — very steep staircase, there might be an elevator, we never asked
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifteena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

I chose Hotel Misc based on all the great reviews here, and it absolutely lived up to my (high) expectations.

As others have mentioned, what makes this place so special are its owners, Rachel and Pepijn. They are friendly without being intrusive, incredibly helpful, and seemed genuinely interested in the goings-on and satisfaction of their guests.

The breakfast they provided was fantastic: bread, meat, cheese, an egg cooked to order with bacon, and fresh baked croissants, not to mention cappucino, latte or any other kind of coffee, teas, and fresh squeezed orange juice. It all kept me going well into the afternoon.

The hotel itself is well-situated in Amsterdam, within walking distance of most attractions. I was a bit apprehensive about its proximity to the Red Light District, but it was not an issue at all. My room was comfortable and bright, and the free mini-bar was an extra-special treat, stocked each day with sweet and savory snacks, fruit juices, sodas and water.

I hope I have reason to return to Amsterdam and stay at Hotel Misc again! It's a very special place.

  • Liked — Rachel and Pepijn
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

I used TripAdvisor extensively when planning our vacation to Amsterdam. In the end, we ended up staying at the Misc, arriving May 1st among the fallout from the Queens Brithday celebration the night before. This was the final stop after seeing 2 other European cities.

While I wouldn't characterize Amsterdam as the easiest place to navigate, the Misc's location just off Nieuwmarkt gave us a great landmark to navigate towards. The location was a great home base for our walking expeditions through the city. We were never bothered by its proxiemety to the Red Light District.

In the end, we weren't struck so much by the size or quality of the room itself, but were absolutly delighted with the Misc because of the amount of attention and interaction with had with our hosts there, Rachel and Pepijn. From the quality of the food they prepared, to the conversations that gave us real insight into Dutch culture, to the restaurant and beer recommendations they gave, to a very special boat charter, they definately went out of their way to distinguish their hotel as a unique experience. We could not believe how willing they were to go out of their way for us.

Looking back , we agree that we got so much more out of Amsterdam because of our choice to stay at the Misc.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2008

Fabulously located, the Hotel Misc is a must stay if you're in Amsterdam. The owners run a top quality establishment. It's a very private small hotel/b&b. The breakfast is incredibly good and filling. Rachel, the owner, cooks a made to order fresh egg and bacon for you in the morning. There is also fresh squeezed oj which was my personal favorite, a selection of jams, cheeses, breads, fruit, teas and fresh baked croissants! It's fantastic. Every room has a mini fridge that is FREE and restocked every day with goodies like soda and brownies, so you can eat like you're on vacation. The hotel is well located and within walking distance to every major site. Although you have to enjoy walking because some sites are not right around the corner. The rooms are great, although more because of their unique furnishings than anything else. Each room has a different theme which is fun. We stayed in the baroque room which was large and quiet because it was at the back of the house. The bathroom was large, had great toiletries and the bed were SO comfortable. I highly recommend this place and would go back if we returned to Amsterdam. One word of caution, there are steep stairs up to the rooms, so if you can not walk well, this property would present some problems.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

Everything said about this hotel in these reviews is absolutely true! The owners deliver the best customer service, the rooms are cozy, you couldn't ask for a better location, and the breakfast is excellent. I can't imagine that any other hotel in Amsterdam could pay as much attention to detail.
The hotel is obviously very popular and was booked up the entire time we were there. I just hope there are rooms available next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Liked — The owners,loction, breakfast, free mini bar
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dmanders22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

We stayed at the MISC hotel in Amsterdam for 4 days in March along with my wife. I can simply say that it is the best small hotel we have ever stayed in. The hostess Rachel is from American and her husband is from Holland, so they are a perfect pair for American visitors. They were also unusually attentive to all of their guests –they even made breakfast for us before the usual opening time so that we could eat before cathing an early plane home.—and are very knowledgeable about Amsterdam. The nice touches and amenities were almost too numerous to mention. They included free snacks, soft drinks, and mineral water in the room, a cooked to order breakfast served until noon, with great bread and pastries, umbrellas for the rainy March weather, and even a very friendly cat. The location of the hotel is great-right on a canal and walking distance of the train station, Dam square, and the museums and other sites. Our room was small, but very neat and quiet. The room was also a good value for the money, although somewhat expensive for Americans due to the low value of the dollar. If only they could do something about the rainy Spring weather!

  • Liked — Friendly owners, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr._Bob_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing