We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel”
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #7 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed there for the one night we had in Amsterdam. The hotel was really nice and corresponded exactly to my stereotype of Amsterdam: small, steep staircase, crooked walls, fun/interesting decoration (in our case, the room was mainly in red and had a very Asian feel to it). The bathroom was also very nice, with high-standard fixtures. The only problem was that the shower did not really have a basin and when showering, ended up flooding the whole bathroom - we thought this was normal for Holland (you know, water everywhere), and were surprised to find out that it was actually a blocked pipe and we'd flooded half the room!
Breakfast was excellent, with a very fresh and tasty selection of both sweet and savoury food.
The owners were super-friendly and helpful - we spent a good time on arrival and on the day after discussing possible trips to take and places to see. All in all a great experience and would definitely look into staying there again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Our room faced out back and was therefore very quiet at night. Not sure if the other side is louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FCK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

After booking based on tripadvisor reviews, we were utterly delighted with our 2 night stay in this lovely hotel. We stayed in the Wonders Room, which was heavenly! The minibar was stocked full of tasty treats, perfect after a long day walking/travelling and Rachel gave us a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates for two upon arrival! What a lovely surprise! :) The hotel is located perfectly, not too far to walk from Centraal Station, on a canal and right near some great restaurants and not too far from some attractions. It is near the red light district, which is all part of the Amsterdam experience, but you can walk past/round it. The breakfast served was delicious! Freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee and excellent, fresh bread, cheeses and EGGS! wow! The best eggs we've ever tasted! Scrambled and fried, done to perfection! Rachel was incredibly friendly and helpful with making sure we had everything and it was lovely to see Sophia, their little toddler interact with the other guests and play nearby. The minibar was freshly stocked upon our return, which was brilliant!
Upon checkout day, we were in a rush to get to Koan Float (highly recommended!) and were able to leave our bags and check out quickly, coming back that evening to collect our bags and settle up money.Nothing was too much trouble!
I've been reading why some people have given 'terrible' reviews on here, as we really could not fault it (if pushed, we would say the wet room was a bit too wet- but we probably weren't used to it!)
This is the perfect hotel if you don't want some big hotel with fancy lights and a different person on reception every day. If you are happy to have a chat about what toddlers like or have a simple, yet delicious breakfast in an utterly clean, modern, characterful building, then this is the place for you!
If you want a run of the mill experience, far away from the hustle and bustle and what makes Amsterdam great, in a copy and paste room with loads of other guests and you're the sort of person that likes to be waited on hand and foot whilst on holiday, this isn't the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in Wonders Room, which was magical, but take a look on the website for all the different t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In all my years of travel have I ever seen such a kind gesture! I had to call my mom in Canada, and talked with her for an hour and a half...I was totally prepared to pay, what would have been a huge amount likely 150Euo or more...the owner asked if I had breakfast, and when I told him no, he said "forget the phone call" Unbelievable!! This place is the best, with great location, canal views and excellent beds...outstanding!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here early July. Rachel And Pepijn the owners made us feel most welcome. It is only a 6 room hotel, but that made it so much better. Rachel and Pepijn ( not forgetting Sophia ) were very helpful with directions and eating out sites. Freshly cooked breakfast daily. Our room was large and clean and the owners went out of their way to provide refreshments free of charge daily in the mini bar as well as acting as porters. Overall an extremely pleasurable time was had.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sophie607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very friendly small hotel ( 6 rooms) in the heart of Amsterdam; excellent, welcoming and helpful owner/hosts, Rachel and Pepijn; fresh breakfast cooked to order; free minibar with snacks, refilled every day; large and well appointed canal-view rooms. The hosts are happy to help organize the guests' activities, recommend good restaurants and make reservations, etc.
There is no elevator and the staircase is quite steep, but they will cheerfully carry your bags up and down for you.
Great location, close to most museums and attractions, which really lets guests feel the vibes of the city.
I would come back here.

Room Tip: Choose the canal-view rooms rather than the garden-view, since they are appreciably larger and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had an amazing time at misc eatdrinksleep. The owners were wonderful and extremely helpful. They made the experience so much better than it would have been in a "normal" hotel. The room was comfortable, with great, big windows that opened out to the garden.

Breakfast was the same everyday, but was really tasty. The location was perfect; you could walk easily to and from the train station. It was a perfect five days for me and my wife.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 539David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a hotel that I can "maybe" compare with a Bed & Breakfast. It is not a regular hotel that you will find staff all day. Rachel and Pepijn are the great owners/hosts working there to help you organize your visit of Amsterdam, suggest amazing restaurants at walking distance, help you find your way around town (they have books that you can borrow, maps), and they also can reserve a private canal tour for you , and much more. Gabriel is the wonderful chef that is preparing delicious "made- to-order" breakfast (eggs, croissants, bacon, ham, fresh pressed orange juice (delicious), and of course fresh brewed coffee). You will be well fed in the morning before heading out. If you prefer having cereals, bread, fruits, etc...and of course cheeses you'll be delighted.

When we stayed at the hotel, there was a heat wave. Having the room at the top floor with the windows opened was perfect. The breeze was cooling and we had a great stay. We were not bothered by the street noises, but keep in mind that with this location (right in the mist of the heart of Amsterdam) you can get some noise from the people walking at night (the Red Light District is at 3 minutes), or the street cars. I really liked the mini-fridge in the room that was full (beer, soda, juices) and the tea/coffee maker as well. They were both restocked everyday.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at walking distance to everything in Amsterdam (even the train station is close by 5-10 minutes walk). It would be your home away from home.

We also liked the fact that Rachel and Pepijn organized a taxi pick-up for us at the airport. It was easy and straight forward. As you arrive at the airport from overseas, you have to pass customs; which are pretty easy and very quick. From there you pick-up your suitcases, and go find the driver that will pick-you up. We did take the option of the taxi driver waiting for us at the luggage claim. He had a sign with our last name on it. It was so easy. Couple minutes aboard the taxi, Pepijn called the driver to be sure that he had found us and picked-us up. All was perfect.

On our check-out day, Rachel called a taxi to come and pick-us up. Rachel, Pepijn and Gabriel were amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sweethummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,398 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,249 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £146 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing