We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again.”
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #7 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again.”
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay here on a recent trip. We especially enjoyed Rachel's hospitality. The stairs were steep but manageable and the room was small but nice and had everything we needed. We especially appreciate the complementary drinks and snacks provided in the room. The bathroom was roomy and shower good, although I would suggest replacing the shower curtain with doors. Breakfast was nice and I especially appreciate having an egg made to order. The location was very good - on the outer edge of the red light district, near a lot of sights but on a quiet street so we felt very safe. And you can't beat the short walk to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avalonbride36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    117
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
64
434
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

This is a fantastic little place and I can only echo all the great things that have been said before. It is a small unassuming-looking hotel (we walked past it the first time too!) but inside it is great. The rooms are amazing - as it wasn't too busy, we were allowed to choose which room we wanted out of 3 - we chose the Rembrandt room and it was lovely being surrounded by all those great masters! The room was not huge, but perfectly big enough with all the facilities you'd expect (and more - a fridge packed with chocolates and soft drinks for free!). Rachel was a lovely hostess - friendly, helpful but not over the top. Breakfast was low key and informal but tasty (fresh eggs and lovely yummy cheeses). For a central location so close to the red light district, this was surprisingly quiet and non-mainstream - its just a lovely quirky hotel and I'd recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScaryCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

From our (slightly early) arrival, Rachel and Pepijn couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.

We had the first floor 'Design' room, facing out over the canal, which was clean, light, spacious, and very comfortable (a huuuge bed!) There was an expresso machine and a mini fridge stuffed full of entirely gratis drinks and snacks (juices, water, soda, chocolate, crisps). To my amazement, this was topped up during our stay!

There was also a white noise machine, something I've not encountered before and perhaps it might be useful for some guests, but we never found the street/canal noise disturbing and didn't use it. I'd have preferred something to plug my ipod into to play music, but maybe that's just me!

The hotel location is perfect for exploring central Amsterdam on foot, with many attractions only a short walk away. And Rachel and Pepijn were a constant source of useful local information and ideas if we were struggling.

Breakfast was freshly prepared, delicious and plentiful, and its certainly a big plus that they serve it until midday. We took full advantage of this, not by having long lie-ins (there's too much to do!) but by browsing the local flea markets and then returning for breakfast at around 11.

Rachel and Pepijn were fabulous hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. Our occasional problems with the key card became a running joke, and they both demonstrated their humour and patience with us in this regard!

This is a great, friendly, informal, comfortable and well designed modern hotel, and I hope to return there again one day.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spare_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Very nice hotel in excellent location. Rooms clean, unusual and I second the favourable comments about the coffee machine, mini bar and shower!
Breakfast was excellent, especially the fresh bread! I really liked Pru the cat too!
Only downside was the vast difference in service levels between the two owners. Rachel was lovely, friendly and helpful, and even provided champagne, chocolates and roses for Valentine's Day. Her husband grunted at us, didn't smile once, and didn't say anything when we checked out. Maybe he was having a bad weekend but we were uncomfortable in his presence. Rachel more than made up for it though.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

My wife and I stayed here in Feb 09 for a three day short break in aMSTERDAM. The hotel got in touch before hand to make sure we had sufficient information to make it from the airport to the hotel and we walked with ease from the Central Staion to the hotle in a matter of minutes thanks for their excellent directions.

Location is very central and despite its apparent proximity to the red light district, this does not impinge on your stay and it feels very safe at any hour. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

We stayed in the first room at the top of a rather steep stairs. It was a nice sized room for an old building. The shower was great and the bed very comfortable. There was no street noise of note and certainly none to keep us awake.

I was particularly impressed with the fridge (complimentary soft drinks) and the coffee maker.

Breakfast was more than adequate and was available cooked or continental as per your preferance.

The hostess was friendly and helpful and courteous.

Overall, I would stay here again without hesitation. Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annettemg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I chose this hotel based on the reviews given by others on tripadvisor and I was not disappointed.
The hotel is located overlooking one of the many canals of Amsterdam and next to Nieuwmarkt square which hosts a small market every Saturday.
Calling Hotel Misc a hotel is a little bit generous considering its size and number of rooms (6). Infact due to the narrowness of the building we walked past it twice before finally seeing it! However, that is not to say the size of the rooms was affected by this.
We stayed in one of the cheaper, and apparently smaller garden view rooms, The Retro room. The bed was huge but even still there was plenty of room around and at the bottom of the bed. The en-suite bathroom was also a good size. Due to renovation work being carried out in the dining area on the second day of our stay, we also had the liberty of seeing one of the canal view rooms which had been temporarily converted to a breakfast room. This room ( I think it was The Design room) was also of a good size and nicely decorated. The mini bar was a very welcome addition to the room and was restocked daily free of charge. A very nice touch I thought. Towels were changed daily and toiletries replenished. The shower was one of the best I've ever come across in hotel accomodation, very powerful and never a shortage of hot water which can be a problem later in the evening in some hotels. The only flaws I found with the room wes the thick layer of dust that was clearly visible on the screen of the television. I also have a huge dislike of shower curtains and felt that a shower screen could just as easily have been installed.
Breakfasts consisted of muesli's, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, croissants and bacon and eggs served to your liking by Rachel and were very tasty.
Rachel was an excellent hosts and upon our arrival presented us with a map and gave us an idea of the scale of the city. This was very helpful. It was the little touches like this that made our stay enjoyable.
I would give this hotel 5/5 except for the fact that we were not informed that the aforementioned renovations would be ongoing during our stay. Being woken by drilling and hammering at 8:30 every morning rarely adds to a holiday. We felt that we should have been offered a slightly reduced rate due to this inconvenience especially when we had not be forewarned of it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Lovely boutique hotel situated right in the heart of Amsterdam within a 15-20 minute walking distance from most places in city. Unless you want to venture out of the city centre, there is no need to spend money on the trams or buses at all!
Rooms are slightly small but very comfortable. We stayed in a canal facing room which had a nice view.
Loved the super yummy breakfast.
The owners, Rachel and Pepijn, were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank van21_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,024 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,376 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing