We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely pretentious,ridiculously overpriced,shabby,noisy and bad vibe.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #98 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Completely pretentious,ridiculously overpriced,shabby,noisy and bad vibe.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My husband and myself had booked a room at 180 euros for one night,because we were attending a specisl party in the vicinity,so I thought it would be a lovely treat.it was not.
When we arrived we were told we hd to pay a 50 euro deposit,I had already paid for the hotel room,when my husband questined this ,he was spoken to arrogantly by the young male eceptinist, we were alloted our room, room 117... too light,too noisy ,shower was dity,the towels were literally falling apart, I would upload pictures,but cannot find them .
Any way,it was in short disappointing to say the least. I managed to get our breakfasts for nothing less 10 percent tax,Iwould NEVER reccommend this place,a rip off,so called design,cheap rubbish meant to be trendy. I wrote to the hotel to complain and asked for a total refund,my request was not even refferd to,if anyone wants to read the reply I will be happy to forward it. Just awful,,,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angela188593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    528
    187
    104
    89
See reviews for
168
495
107
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Ambience: Great modern hotel, situated in the eastern docklands of Amsterdam. Relatively close to Central Station. Good tram connection. Integrated in an old 1920s building. Open design, great open restaurant and terrace (see photo). Lots of Ikea-like designed furniture, but I'm no expert in interior design. Rooms intergrated in the original period building design. e.g. stone floors. Directions to rooms are not displayed. Stars: ****

Room: We had a "5 star" room. Stars ONLY refer to room size, NOT to facilities. No fridge, not enough towels, no shower gel, no minibar, tea and coffee only available in the corridor. Ancient, small-screen TV. No radio. No closet. No sink in the WC. Small windows, not a good view. Large room though, with a nice hammock. Bed very comfortable. (Its the "5 star" room displayed on hotel homepage, upper right picture, 360€ per night plus taxes. Breakfast NOT included!). Overall stars: **

Service: Non-professional receptionists (students?). Find your room alone - staff do not assist you with this. No help with bags. Room service looks cheap, but there is a 7.50€ extra charge for delivery - this additional charge is not displayed in the menu, but we were told on the phone when we tried to order something. The staff is friendly, free coffee while waiting for the room. Waiters very friendly, but still inexperienced? Stars: ***

Restaurant: We had excellent squid rings for a fair price. Steak comes plain, with no sides - chips cost extra. Quality of the steak: questionable. Also pasta with mushrooms: Ok. Overall too expensive for what we got. If you know good restaurants, you will not like this, however, they describe it as a "snel "fast" restaurant" so you wouldn't expect anything more. Breakfast was good, though not included. Sorry, only **.

Overall: ** (Would be three stars, but it's way too expensive!!)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roter_hirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The Lloyd Hotel is a great hotel for a family (as we were) but we would recommend it also for anyone who likes their hotel not to be a uniform chain style. The restaurant staff were really friendly to all of us and brought the children their own pot of chocolate sprinkles at breakfast. Nice food at dinner, too. The beds were REALLY comfortable. The Lloyd Hotel is very quirky. The rooms are all very different to each other. We had 2 3star rooms (for other adults in our party) and 1 4star room. The 4 star was great with children as it was a very big room divided by dividing doors into 3 normal sized rooms. The first had 2 single beds for the children. The second was the bathroom and the third a very light, nicely decorated double room. The 3 stars did not have lots of cupboard space but were fine for a weekend. One of them had an enormous freestanding bath in the middle! The hotel has lots of nooks and crannies to explore, staircases all over the place and photos of its prison past. It is in the Eastern Docklands but is only 5 minutes from Centraal by tram 26.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel2824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I was there for 4 days. So all i have to say is that all we got were damaged walls and floors. the rooms are very manky. The toilets and showers were separately, but they were usually too dirty. The service often forget to finish their work. Only the location was good, there is a tram directly to the near Central Train Station

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnechteGott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed at the Lloyd as part of a press trip so I can't comment on the tariffs, but I know there are several levels of room/service to choose from. The Lloyd is set in an old immigration/child detention centre near the docks, but the refurb has been wittily and cleverly done, with only remnants of its former self left. The rooms are simple and clean, roomy and warm. However, be prepared for the bathroom to be a little quirky! My bathroom was positioned in a corridor between the entrance area and bedroom, with double doors for privacy but no locks and no alternative way through to the bedroom - fine (just) for single occupancy, but not so private for shared ablutions! Other rooms had a shower positioned in a corner of the bedroom, with mop provided! Try this hotel if you want something different from your stay, rather than just another anonymous, eponymous hotel room. The bar is small and fun, and breakfast was conventional continental, but tasty and plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

This was our second stay at Lloyd hotel and although I am a fan of the hotel it will probably be our last visit. As an architect I found the idea of the hotel interesting with rooms rated from 1 to 5 star, However I wonder why anyone would want a 4 or 5 star room as you dont really get a 4 or 5 star hotel service. We stayed in a 3 star room on special rate so had a nice big room with a cot for our 2 year old to run around in.

As a note to Lloyd hotel its time to update the rooms. As they prize themselves on being hip you need to stay ahead of the game. Some of the rooms are now looking dated. Our green bath pod was leaking slightly and the toilet smelled a bit. The window was also difficult to close. I cant recall the last time I saw an old telly surely its time for LCD TV in the rooms.

Pros
1. Good for children, lots of space to run around and toys available. Cots available
2. Good but basic restaurant
3. Interesting building and rooms
4. Good value
5. Good tram connection straight to rail station and around city.

Cons
1. Time for an update!
2. Too far to walk to city centre

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

This is a revised review of the hotel after they really went above and beyond the call of duty to help me with a misfortunate event that happened there.

First the good: This building and people are really amazing. From the open dining hall full of community meeting places, art work, and friendly staff to the rooms that are clean and unique in character, this is the place to stay if you want a thinking person's experience of Amsterdam culture. The rooms vary a lot in price and layout, so if your room doesn't suit you, you may find a better one if there is space. It's also next to a lovely canal-lined island that forms a great 1.5 jogging loop if your'e into that.

The revision: I had the unfortunate experience of having my iPad stolen from my room while in this place. I sincerely don't think this had happened before as the staff was at a loss what to do. The helped me file a police report and after no recovery of the iPad they paid for its replacement. Outstanding.

I'd highly recommend this place to any traveler to Amsterdam. It's a cool place and even the worst experiences were made right.

Room Tip: Make sure room has enclose bathroom
See more room tips
Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Untraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#63 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing