We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, we just loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #96 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you are staying in Amsterdam a little longer than 1-2 nights, the Lloyd Hotel out in the east docklands area is a very cool and comfortable place. Staff as noted by many are extremely helpful and pleasant. They tolerated my attempt at Dutch then helped me in perfect English.

The beds are comfortable and we were able to get two extra ones put into our room for our teenage boys. The trams as noted go right behind the hotel and you can get the 26 to Centraal Station or the 10 on the ring canal route and go right around the city. Or you can just walk, if you have time, and it's a neat walk to go along the harbour front back to the station.

The restaurant is very good and light and airy and is open long hours. Waiters and waitresses were very attentive and kind. Jamie Oliver's restaurant Fifteen is very close. Odessa (on the boat!) is great too and literally 2 minutes away.

We loved it as a vacation home base and I'd go back for business too if I ever get any there!

Room Tip: Try to take a higher star room because there are many cool touches and a bit more room in the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YesWhyNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

I enjoyed a lot my stay in Lloyd hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My room was very minimalistic but still it preserved the very special atmosphere of the past.Original place to stay. Good choice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TereKrejcirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam since we had both bought tickets for Cirque du Soleil and an invitation for the Jazz Experience with Wouter Hamel at the Heineken Experience in the weekend of March 31st/ April 1st. Our room was modern designed. Bathroom with all convenience in the room. Nice window shutters. Our request for a quit room was very well taken care off. The hotel did not seem very crowded. We were very pleased with the bar-service late in the evening when we returned to the hotel after the show. Very personal attention by the lady bar-keeper. Good glass of wine and excellent old Dutch sheep-cheese. A delicatesse!
We had a very good and quit night. The box-spring bed (1 matrass) was excellent! Nice breakfast buffet, although somewhat expensive (€ 17,50). We will certainly recommend the Lloyd hotel in Amsterdam to friends and business relations. The atmosphere of the hotel is very guest-orientated. The design is 'down to earth but also grand'! One feels 'at home' very easily. Staff is friendly, although one feels sorry for the people at the receptiondesk, who have to work in a very small ( former elevator) room!
Great hotel, we will come back and we can recommend this hotel very much!

Reinoud van Assendelft de Coningh

Room Tip: Various different rooms 2** to 4**** with 2-4*****prices! Try the sheep-cheese with a glass of red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReinoudvAssendelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a great 3-night-stay at the Lloyd Hotel. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. It's really nice to stroll through the hallways and find st new around every corner. The staff was really friendly, we had great food. I can absolutely recommend Lloyd Hotel for staying in Amsterdam! :-)

Room Tip: Just go with your guts and choose which room fits your wallet, they are probably all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiki_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

If you want a semi-exotic but affordable and comfortable place to stay and network, then the LLoyd Hotel is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

A great hotel with "character". Very different from other hotels. A unique place. Its 4-star rooms are excellent with a good price.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the canal are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaIacovou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

One of the best hotels I`ve stayed in Amsterdam. Not only the architecture and designs are in conceptual novality but the service and the food was worth trying. Very quite suburban location but just a few minutes`s tram ride to the Central Station (tram no 26) and to the Museumplein (nearby P.C.Hoofstraat)and Leidseplein (tram no 10)..
Definitely I`ll stay there next time. You get your money`s worth

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.9 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
3.8 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,952 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#69 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,422 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £69 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing