We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #98 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed at the Lloyd twice recently. As others have said, the staff is nice and friendly. The rooms are definitely unusual. Our first room for 3 people featured the bathroom in between the two bedrooms. It was very neat and clean, but inconvenient for the 2 people not using the bath. The second room was supposed to be 5 star. It was huge and looked like an unfinished attic. It had fewer amenities than the first room and not even a hair dryer. The lighting was poor as well. I think "quirky"was more important than client comfort.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyjanny08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    528
    187
    104
    89
See reviews for
168
495
107
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Location is a little off the beaten track but an easy tram ride into town, which is right on the hotel doorstep. Trams are easy to navigate and it's well worth lowering the cost of the accommodation by staying a little outside of Amsterdam centre.
we stayed in the 5* room with the swing. Our 11 yr old boy absolutely loved the novelty of having this swing in the room.! The room was lovely, and fully beamed attic. Huge space and an extra single bed was put in for my son and we still had plenty of space to move around and make full use of the swing and the free standing tub.
There are tea and coffee making facilities along the corridor, no one informed us about this, we were just wandering the corridors and stumbled upon it. The hotel restaurant is pricey if you compare it to outside restaurants, though we didn't eat here the food looked very nice. For breakfast we cycled along the canal and there are a number of cheaper healthy options to choose from. We particularly liked the bagel place which about half the price of the hotel. There is also a great supermarket outside the hotel, just go into the shopping precinct as you can't really see it out front.
We decided not to rent bikes from the hotel, which were 14 euro per day, and instead rented at another bike shop near the movenpick hotel, which was 7 euro per day. Or 17 euro for 3 days. It's about a 20 mins walk from the Lloyd hotel.
My suggestion to anyone visiting Amsterdam that wants to visit any of the museums would be to book online ahead of the trip. Try to be organized in this area, otherwise you will be in for disappointment or very long lines. We didn't do this and missed out. Even arriving at Anne Franks house 1 hour ahead of the museum opening meant hundreds of people and no guarantee of entry.
Overall we had a great first visit to this hotel and Amsterdam, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_A273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Only a ten minute ride on tram 26 from the Central Station - very easy to find. Our 2-star room was very spacious, with table and chairs as well as a large, comfortable bed, and had a great view over the water. Quirky hotel with lots of interesting features and an "arty" feel. Staff were efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdaips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel has a wonderful relaxed feel to it. The staff were very accommodating and helpful to us and our 2 young boys. Food and drink was very high standard. Room was fantastic for our family with a bathroom separating the 2 bedrooms. Location is great - 5 mins on the tram from Centraal Station, so out of the hustle and bustle but close enough to get into Amsterdam whenever you want. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b3astieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very interesting building with lots of character. We were very impressed with the quality of the 1 star rooms; much better than a hostel and the shared bathrooms were kept extremely well. A great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

A bit nervous before arrival, but went in with an open mind, and we were very pleasantly surprised :) perfect location, not far from city but quiet and peaceful area, right across from tram stop!
Got a free upgrade on arrival which was an awesome bonus :) staff were friendly! Liked the design aspects of everything, and the random shower in the middle of the room was actually quite fun and different! Breakfast was quite expensive, only had it on one of the days we were there, but very tasty and fresh with nice options. Only negatives was that there wasn't even a fan in the room, which would have been nice on the uncomfortably hot summer nights we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the historical Lloyd Hotel in Amsterdam for 4 days in early August. If you like Amsterdam for it's abundant cultural offerings, this hotel needs to be top of your list. Situated a brisk 15 minute walk from the centre it's an utter joy. From all angles, be it from a design aesthetic, a comfy and relaxed one, or historic with its difficult past, this beautifully restored building is for you. The staff are wonderful, friendly, super helpful and knowledgeable.

We were lucky enough to stay in a 5 star room, but was torn as some of the design and layouts of all the other rooms look just as fabulous.

We will come again, in four days we only scrapped the surface of this fine city. There's only one place we'll be staying though...right here...just a different room as there are so many we want to try out! This could take years to achieve!

Thanks Mr & Mrs Bigg.

PS. There is a wonderful dutch lady who works mornings in the restaurant. She made us gorgeous coffee and was a delight every day. She leaves at 4.30am for a 5.30 start on her bicycle. We love her!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#63 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing