We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea but needs some new input”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #97 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I love the idea of this hotel and merging 1 to 5 stars. A much more diverse crowd and if your meeting friends you can decide what you can afford etc. however it was pretty expensive and there are plenty of new alternatives to hotels if you are into design like me. The service was warm and wonderful, the restaurant was great with fabulous food and coffee, but the rooms were a real let down. I chose 3 star and got an upgrade to 4 star, but the room was shabby and in desperate need of a repaint and recarpet. The bones of the hotel are fabulous and they just need some new ideas and emerging artists to quirk it up a bit like an ace hotel room. It can show case the great ideas and design of this city. The public areas and restaurant did this well but it didn't carry into my room or the others I peeked into. I love this idea and would like to see more hotels adopt this idea so that there is more diversity in guests.the area that the hotel is in is really interesting and not far from the station with great public transport. It's a lovely hotel, it just needs a bit more love!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at the Lloyd hotel for 5 days and loved it. Great service and great hospitality and o so comfortable bed! The proximity to the tram stop makes is so convenient. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halinishi_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Halinishi,
We enjoyed reading your positive review! We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We are very pleased with our stay at the Lloyd Hotel in Amsterdam. The room (with the open shower) was spacious, the bed slept fantastic and also the service was very good. The only remark is that it's quite hot in the room, even when we switched of the heater.

The Lloyd hotel is easily accessible. Within a couple of minutes you are in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. A good choice when you visit Amsterdam for the weekend.

Room Tip: When you're not a couple, don't choose the room with the open shower ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Jose,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good night’s sleep! Next time, please feel free to contact the reception to place a fan in your room or to assist you in opening up a window. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel on a Friday Night with a friend of mine. I believe we booked a 1 or 2 star room at the basement- I have no complaints, the room was very tidy and it was a pleasure staying there! Before our arrival, I e-mailed the staff to check the directions to the hotel and they were most helpful and very prompt with their responses. My friend and I returned to the Hotel at night feeling very unwell from our night out and had to call room service for first aid. The staff attended our room immediately to check on us. Despite booking a 1/2 star room, we felt we were very well looked after. I would definitely return to the hotel if I ever visit Amsterdam again! Would also highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. Also, the location is conveniently close to Central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nohman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Nohman,
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read that you were in good hands with our staff when you were not feeling well. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

when I booked this hotel as I had read a few bad reviews but nothing was further from the truth. I had booked a 3 star room and was perfectly happy with it...a large shower and toilet. comfortable beds...the room was on the small side but who comes to Amsterdam to sit in a hotel room...the hotel staff where very good and helpfull, the breakfast staff fantastic nothing was too much for them...some people may think 17,50 euro is expensive for a breakfast but it is a royal breakfast I only had cheese on toast, coffee and juice it was about 10 euro's for two...the only down side was the weather..it blew a gale and rained all day...I went to the Design Icons which is held in the area, that was also great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Jim,
Thank you for your positive review! We hope to welcome you again in the future and we will have a fingers crossed that you will be experiencing better weather!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was booked into this hotel by a colleague as it was relatively near to my conference hotel which was full I arrived late and was given Room 001 which was in the basement. The room was stunningly bland, with no pictures, fully tiled floors and some weird but unusable furniture in the room. No wardrobe, heating all turned off, light bulbs that looked like they had been removed from a U-boat and pipes running everywhere. Little did I know that one of them was the down pipe from toilets above. After going to bed and tuning off my 1985 TV set, with no remote, I heard someone going to the bathroom from what sounded like in my room, next to my head. I noticed the silver wrapped down pipe and asked to be moved. I was moved to an upgraded room - 003. This was very similar but without the down pipe, and with a bed that had to be entered from the end as it was in a sort of bunker. The staff were all fine though, and the restaurant was equally OK. I guess the trick with this hotel is never let them put you in the basement and on this basis I have to score them very low.

Room Tip: Never let them put you on Floor -1: it is as close to a modern dungeon as you could expect and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Peter,
We are disappointed to read about your dissatisfaction of the room choices offered to you at The Lloyd Hotel. In addition, thank you for letting us know about the faulty TV remote, we fixed this immediately. In the design of the Lloyd Hotel we aimed to create diverse and unique room experiences ranging from 1 – 5 stars for all types of guests. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a room that you will enjoy. Please contact us directly if you would like this opportunity.
Kind Regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel has rooms from a very affordable 1 star (where you share a bathroom) to 5 star where you get a totally unique room. We stayed in the 5 star room (607) where you'll find a huge bath in the middle of a loft-like room and a swing. This room is all about being different instead of being luxurieus. We did not have a mini bar and the tv was super small, but we enjoyed the amazing views and quirkiness of this place. The breakfast was the best we've ever had and the staff is super friendly. Amsterdam is a busy city and even on the 6th floor we could clearly hear the sounds of the street (trains/trams etc) It did not bother us, but for others this might be an issue.

Room Tip: We had a 5 star room with bath in the middle of the room, we are convinced it is one of the best roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Alexa,
It’s very nice to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you liked one of our beautiful 5* rooms so much! It’s always nice to get compliments, especially compliments regarding our friendly staff make us proud (and smile). Thank you!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,018 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 375 in Amsterdam
872 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,365 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £49 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing