We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great, private hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #98 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A great, private hotel experience”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The decor is immaculate, the breakfast buffet is delicious, the rooms are interesting and quaint, but the best part is how helpful, friendly and attentive the staff are!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crushfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for the beautiful compliments and recommendation. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    542
    194
    106
    90
See reviews for
173
513
109
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

There cannot be many hotels where the staff will mix you remedies for a sore throat, but I was treated to a wonderful concoction of mint, honey, lemon, cloves and hot water. Not only did it taste good, it looked and smelled amazing - a real (and very memorable) pick- me-up! It was all the more welcome because it was volunteered - I did not ask for it - just when I needed it most.

This hotel is a true experience and I cannot wait to visit again. The rooms are spacious, comfy and quirky. I had a 2** room which was very good value. Once you get used to the open showers (with accompanying squidgee mop) they are great fun. The water was really nice and warm, and the water pressure just right.

The food was lovely, managing to be both interesting and tasty. The chocolate croissant and home made jam brought me down early in the mornings in anticipation, but there was a lot of equally delicious things to choose from.

The hotel was easy to access from the train station and had plenty of space to meet and chat. It was also great that you could end your day be wending your way up to bed with a hot chocolate and a plate of biscuits. Bliss!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotonthemove63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Wow! Reading your review was like reading a poem! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are happy to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were treated so well by our staff!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast, NSW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I love the idea of this hotel and merging 1 to 5 stars. A much more diverse crowd and if your meeting friends you can decide what you can afford etc. however it was pretty expensive and there are plenty of new alternatives to hotels if you are into design like me. The service was warm and wonderful, the restaurant was great with fabulous food and coffee, but the rooms were a real let down. I chose 3 star and got an upgrade to 4 star, but the room was shabby and in desperate need of a repaint and recarpet. The bones of the hotel are fabulous and they just need some new ideas and emerging artists to quirk it up a bit like an ace hotel room. It can show case the great ideas and design of this city. The public areas and restaurant did this well but it didn't carry into my room or the others I peeked into. I love this idea and would like to see more hotels adopt this idea so that there is more diversity in guests.the area that the hotel is in is really interesting and not far from the station with great public transport. It's a lovely hotel, it just needs a bit more love!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at the Lloyd hotel for 5 days and loved it. Great service and great hospitality and o so comfortable bed! The proximity to the tram stop makes is so convenient. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halinishi_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Halinishi,
We enjoyed reading your positive review! We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We are very pleased with our stay at the Lloyd Hotel in Amsterdam. The room (with the open shower) was spacious, the bed slept fantastic and also the service was very good. The only remark is that it's quite hot in the room, even when we switched of the heater.

The Lloyd hotel is easily accessible. Within a couple of minutes you are in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. A good choice when you visit Amsterdam for the weekend.

Room Tip: When you're not a couple, don't choose the room with the open shower ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jose,
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good night’s sleep! Next time, please feel free to contact the reception to place a fan in your room or to assist you in opening up a window. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel on a Friday Night with a friend of mine. I believe we booked a 1 or 2 star room at the basement- I have no complaints, the room was very tidy and it was a pleasure staying there! Before our arrival, I e-mailed the staff to check the directions to the hotel and they were most helpful and very prompt with their responses. My friend and I returned to the Hotel at night feeling very unwell from our night out and had to call room service for first aid. The staff attended our room immediately to check on us. Despite booking a 1/2 star room, we felt we were very well looked after. I would definitely return to the hotel if I ever visit Amsterdam again! Would also highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. Also, the location is conveniently close to Central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nohman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Nohman,
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read that you were in good hands with our staff when you were not feeling well. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

when I booked this hotel as I had read a few bad reviews but nothing was further from the truth. I had booked a 3 star room and was perfectly happy with it...a large shower and toilet. comfortable beds...the room was on the small side but who comes to Amsterdam to sit in a hotel room...the hotel staff where very good and helpfull, the breakfast staff fantastic nothing was too much for them...some people may think 17,50 euro is expensive for a breakfast but it is a royal breakfast I only had cheese on toast, coffee and juice it was about 10 euro's for two...the only down side was the weather..it blew a gale and rained all day...I went to the Design Icons which is held in the area, that was also great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jim,
Thank you for your positive review! We hope to welcome you again in the future and we will have a fingers crossed that you will be experiencing better weather!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#97 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing