We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A non-conventional hotel in the Eastern Docklands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #101 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

30 mins walk or 10 minutes by tram will take you to Lloyds from the city center. This famous hotel caters rooms ranging from 1 to 5 stars -- whichever budget you have.

We had a 2-star room overlooking the canal -- all white, very minimalistic, shower refreshingly unseparated from the rest of the space. The bed is heavenly, the room rather empty -- but a good value for money overall. The place itself is a monument to Dutch history and design -- don't miss the opportunity of staying there, it's a lovely cultural experience.

The breakfast can be a bit pricey -- and there are no cafes around, so you're kind of stuck to the restaurant every morning. However plenty of options for dinner: Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen" within 10 mins walk, a Spanish "Mercat" almost across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms with canal view. Remember -- 2-star rooms do not have any separation betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astakhova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Lloyd Hotel. We also enjoyed reading that you found your stay with us to be a cultural experience.
We hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in April 2014 and loved every moment - definitely my favourite hotel in Amsterdam. Rooms are beautifully designed and functional, the food at the restaurant was sophisticated and the local area is peaceful and picturesque, with several tram stops very nearby. The staff are amazing too - ask Anne and David in the restaurant for local tips, they are wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalyaElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Natalya,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked this hotel at a GREAT rate last minute for Konings Day. Its very swanky and it was clean. We had a room in the basement.. The decor was kind of amazing. There was free wifi, the desk upfont had very friendly staff and the bed was very comfortable.. I had two minor complaints. The WC smelt awful. It was clean and there was a fresh trash bag for some reason there was just this awful smell. AND the shower was in the middle of the room. Perhaps very sexy for a couple but I was a friend of mine, so showering was a bit of a task.

Room Tip: Ask for something not in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwhitney207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Whitney,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Lloyd Hotel. We are also very happy to read that the staff treated you well and that you found the bed to be comfortable. We hope you informed the reception about the toilet since we would have been able to take care of it immediately. If you choose to stay with us again, don’t refrain on telling us that you would like to have a seperate shower in the room as we have lots of those rooms available as well.
One again, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

lloyd hotel was recomende to us and we keep recomending it further. we loved the place, its inspiring atmosphere - the playfull furniture, we enjoyed the library.... great view from our roofwindow, super comfortable beds. we asked for top level room and really got it. we were traveling over easter, little noise from nextdoor tenants.. the hotel didn't feel too buisy although it was booked out. only noise from tapas bar over the road. really good to reach with tram.

Room Tip: we chose the 1star category and were more than satisfied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Ina,
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the atmosphere and our beds.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We found this place by looking for novelty digs in the 'Dam. As we were given money towards our honeymoon we decided to treat ourselves to a 5* room and we were not disappointed. If we had been given the room with a swing or piano or bath in the middle of the room we would have been even more stoked BUT the one we had was huge, like an apartment. There was a bath big enough for two, big, soft bed and a sofa and table area near a television that we could get some home channels on.

On different levels there were art installations which were really fab and there was also a little museum explaining the history of the building which was brilliant and just a bit different to have it right where we stayed. There was also a library area to use and chill in.

We were up on the 5th floor and large panes of glass gave us views right down to the dining area. Breakfast was not included in the price and the food was expensive so we only had one breakfast there and stocked up at the supermarket for most of our food!

The tea and coffee facilities were really odd but interesting as they were in cupboards in communal areas. It would have been slightly better if they provided milk sachets there or a fridge but never mind!

The hotel is out of the centre so requires a tram ride to get there but it is easy to hop on and off and we invested in 72 hour passes and used them to get about quite a bit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogueWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Lloyd Hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 5* rooms. Furthermore, we enjoy knowing that you liked the art installations and library. We hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Usually we stay in hotels of a higher level in the center of the city. However, the trip was a budget, so we choose this hotel. Uniquely odious hotel. We are not in habit these days of the common bathroom on the floor, although extremely clean! Our room was so tiny, that it was a little more wide than a bed, standing in it. Actually if it were my husband with me, he couldn't feel himself comfortable in there. The location is not bad, quite close to the Central station, views of the canal is great. In general, for those who chose a travel budget, I recommend, at least for the first opinion!

Room Tip: don't forget to question which version of the toilet and the bathroom you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Targo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to tell us about your experience while staying in a 1* room. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the view from your room and that you appreciated the clean bathroom. We hope to welcome you at the Lloyd Hotel again.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were slightley skeptical about staying here after reading some of the reviews on here, but in all honesty its completely fine! Short distance into central amsterdam- about €5.60 on tram for 1 hour, i would reccommend spending €7.50 for 24hours if your planning on going back and forth to get changed for evening etc. or you can get a taxi for around €15! The hotel itself, we did have to laugh when we walked into our room, well bathroom! Literally opened the door and bang there was the toilet! Then leads into bedroom which was quite small considering we we upgraded to a 2* for an extra €100 but we only upgraded because i wasnt too keen on the shared bathroom situation. The bar staff were lovely, friendly and always happy to help! Basically to some it all up- its fine to stay here, a cleaner comes daily and makes bed etc, its pricey but so is everywhere else!, there is no kettle etc in your room but go up to very top floor and there are facillities there. Dont judge this hotel from all the bad reviews because a lot of people over exaggerate!!! We were very happy customers :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah89Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,036 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#69 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,047 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#114 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 376 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,405 reviews
Volkshotel
#39 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £57 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd Hotel in Amsterdam is created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing