We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly enjoyable hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #98 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly enjoyable hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Deciding to meet for five days in Amsterdam my far flung family chose Lloyd’s Hotel as a base. We are all so glad we did. Like the city itself Lloyds is both elegant and welcoming and the grand building with its rich history and architecturally designed interiors capture what worldly visitors enjoy most about Amsterdam. Each bedroom is different and what we saw was delightful, especially the deliciously mysterious suite high in the attic that my two offspring shared. The staff was both friendly and attentive.
Every morning we enjoyed the airy breakfast restaurant and the supper we had there was excellent too. My wife loved the neighbourhood, only a short canal walk to Dam Square and the center of town. Lloyds is better than a family hotel. Under the museum trained eye of its director, Susanne Oxenaar, Lloyds has become a member of that select segment of international hotels that have become cultural destinations as well as comforting retreats. Amsterdam’s very efficient public transportation system has Lloyds as a marked destination as well it should - a lovely city and a delightful hotel.

Room Tip: many look out at a large canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alastair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderfull review. I am delighted that you had such a great stay and that our staff were helpfull and acomodating.
I hope to welcome you back at the Lloyd Hotel on any future visits to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    528
    187
    104
    89
See reviews for
168
495
107
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
344 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here at the recommendation of a family member who lives in the area. We saw online that you can book one through five stars...and naturally assumed that there was some correlation between their star ranking and that conventionally applied to hotels...this was a huge mistake. We booked a four star. It would rate about 1.5 stars by conventional ranking. A weird room with a make shift bathroom wall....basically a divider between the bed area and the toilet that you fold away to get out of the room. The toiletries are very poor. The shower was oddly large for the size of the room with poor hot water and there are basically no plugs anywhere useful. The TV was a tiny, old piece of crap (think 10" CRT with a taped together remote).

The bed was fine as were the linens.

The room was full dirt and dust in corners, unmaintained walls and doors and just a generally a junk heap of mismatched furniture.

Quirky is a cute, if dishonest, method of describing a room that made no sense, was a poorly (not in a quirky way) designed space. This is hostel, not a hotel. It is not close to anything.

To a insult to injury, it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be noisy...this is a hotel for young people. They are not necessarily quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillyAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that your stay at the Lloyd Hotel did not meet your expectations. Our 1 to 5 star concept is based on size and design of the rooms. The higher the category the larger the rooms and therefore the more spectacular the design of the room. Our hotel incorporates design and visions of various designers. We have recently started replacing all our TV's, I am sorry to read that you were inconvenienced by this. As we uphold the highest quality standards I have shared your comment about the cleanliness with our Housekeeping Manager. Once again thank you for taking time to write a review.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

A work colleague booked me in for one night at this hotel - making the reservation by telephone. He was quoted 90 euros a night for a one star room - no breakfast. When we arrived we decided that the one star room was not going to suit our needs - bathroom facilities were down the hallway... So I upgraded to a 2 star which was very nice-shower and toilet in the room and a very comfortable bed. The floors are painted concrete with the odd rug on them. The noise created by the people walking about upstairs was disturbing. The breakfast was 17.50euros.... Too expensive for my budget, so we didn't take it.
I was disappointed with the cost - in that when I asked for a move to a 2 star room it became clear that the 90E they were going to charge was more than their walk-in rate which was 75e. They charged 120e for the 2 star room. We felt a little cheated to be honest. 45E just to get an en suite and over £100 with no breakfast!!!!!
It is a fair distance from the centre - we got a taxi 10E. The atmosphere was very nice and the decor is mostly fun. Opposite is a very good Spanish Tapas bar. I wouldn't stay there again mainly because it is too far from the city centre and we felt is was too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that we were able to accomodate you on arrival with a different category room. How unfortunate that you were disturbed by some noise during your stay. We are very proud of our extensive breakfast buffet and have chosen to offer an a la carte option for the smaller appetite! Should you chose to stay with us again, feel free to contact us directly so that we can explain all the option we have.
Kind regards,
Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

we are a family of 5 with three small kids and stayed at the large 5* room with the piano. In theory the concept works but not in practice- the building does not have any 5 star facilities, or service awareness. at best this is a glorified hostel in need of a face lift and better service awareness. no real need to wait 20 min to get car park card stamped, or rather impatient staff attitude towards kids at the breakfast restaurant. not easy location as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srkedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mr. Keda,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We regret to read that you and your family did not enjoy the concept of the Lloyd Hotel. We pride ourselves in being a hotel for every kind of traveller and we glady welcome everyone ranging from families to indvidual travellers.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review about your stay.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a very excellent hotel,and The transportation is convenient, the Tram 26 can reach the central station.and the Tram 10 can reach the center of the city.The Java island is on the other side of the hotel, and at least 2 supermarket near the hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors can see the java island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Duan,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the public transport to be convenient.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had an entry level room with shared bathroom for 3 nights. Our room was very spacious and functional with a view over the canal. The shared bathroom was always clean and I loved the potted plants in the window.
The hotel is within walking, or cycling, distance to the city centre so nicely located to be in the heart of things, or to take a step back and relax.
We found the hotel restaurant lacked ambience, but there are plenty of good places to eat within walking distance.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view and if you can pay a little extra I would go for an en-suite bathroom next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 1* rooms.
We hope to welcome you again in the future on your next visit to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

30 mins walk or 10 minutes by tram will take you to Lloyds from the city center. This famous hotel caters rooms ranging from 1 to 5 stars -- whichever budget you have.

We had a 2-star room overlooking the canal -- all white, very minimalistic, shower refreshingly unseparated from the rest of the space. The bed is heavenly, the room rather empty -- but a good value for money overall. The place itself is a monument to Dutch history and design -- don't miss the opportunity of staying there, it's a lovely cultural experience.

The breakfast can be a bit pricey -- and there are no cafes around, so you're kind of stuck to the restaurant every morning. However plenty of options for dinner: Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen" within 10 mins walk, a Spanish "Mercat" almost across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms with canal view. Remember -- 2-star rooms do not have any separation betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astakhova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Lloyd Hotel. We also enjoyed reading that you found your stay with us to be a cultural experience.
We hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#64 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing