We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #96 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at the Lloyd 6 times and I absolutely love it! You can choose between 1 and 5 star rooms, most of them being completely unique and modern. A wonderful change from cookie cutter rooms. The location is away from city bustle and only a short tram ride to Central Station or other spots in the heart of Amsterdam (the tram being a block away). The staff is always incredibly cordial and helpful in any way they can be. The restaurant serves excellent meals in a beautifully sunlit room as well as an outside patio area. If you're looking for a unique and enjoyable stay in Amsterdam, I would highly recommend The Lloyd!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarjunkie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    547
    194
    107
    91
See reviews for
174
517
110
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel's concept of 1 to 5 star rooms all in the one establishment leads to an interesting and enjoyable atmosphere, with quite a mixed set of customers in age and approach to travel. It also gives you options. I had booked a 2 star room, found it a little cramped and upgraded to a 3 star room and was delighted with the new room, particularly its quirky architectural solution to fitting a good bathroom in to the existing space.

The internal and outdoor eating areas are delightful and the food is excellent without being expensive. It's a 20-30 minute walk to the city but easy access to trams and buses and the walk itself is great.

Room Tip: Go for the 3 star room. Worth the difference in price over the 2 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jenny,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that we were able to find the perfect room for you! We only meet our guests on arrival, so it isn't always an easy task to fit the right room to each guest without knowing their tastes. So it always helps when our guests let us know what they are hoping for.
I hope that you chose to stay with us again if you decide to tour Europe again!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Economy room - so expected a poor room but got the equivalent of a prison. communal areas are lovely though! Be prepared for them to take a £200 deposit on arrival which i was not informed of! excellent location, take the 26 tram to centraal station, takes 5 minutes from the tram stop opposite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Harry,
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that your room wasn't to your taste. I have spoken to our reception staff about the comment concerning the deposit, I completely agree that our guests need to be informed correctly concerning the deposit requested on arrival. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the area.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was in Amsterdam just for one night and so I have canned see all of the hotel. But I was really good for the price ! Take just the 2 stars room to have a personn shower.
And the personnal is very comptent. I was a problem for the booking with my credit card and the morning after I recevied an email from the hotel to help me. (special thank to Mister Bas van Rooij from the hotel for the help). Good holiday :-)

Room Tip: 2 stars rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonMiguelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that our staff were able to help with the credit card issues.
I hope to welcome you again in the Lloyd Hotel on your next trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I liked the arty and quirkiness of the hotel and it's in one of my favourite areas of Amsterdam and within easy access of the centre. I like the idea that all the rooms are different and they are unusual. The bed and bedding were absolutely superb and really comfortable. I wasn't so keen on the shower being in the middle of the room with no surround but it was ok. My room had lots of green metal cupboards on the wall which was unusual. The only real downside was that you couldn't shut the blinds if the window was open and the blinds let in lots of light so I was woken up early. I found it a bit expensive and wish that breakfast would have been included in the price. But overall I had an enjoyable stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Jackie,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed you stay and that you appreciated our concept. Just in case you didn't know in addition to our extensive breakfast buffet we also offer an a la carte option.
I look forward to welcomming you on your next trip to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A great hotel run by great people with effortless style and charm. Beautiful, cleverly designed rooms, a marvellous location, good food, lots of airy space - and an art gallery. All wrapped up in an extraordinary, beguiling building. Really, what more could you want? Well, you'll probably end up wanting to live here, but a weekend is the next best thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderfull review. I am so glad that you had a great stay and that you appreciated our concept! Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to stay with us again.
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

quiet and friendly place to stay...
easy acces to the nearby historical center of the city...
exciting place for people interested with art...
I warmely recommend the hotel even for the dinner and indeed for a luscious brekfeast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Lloyd Hotel. I hope to welcome you again on any future visits to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,413 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#94 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing