We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, a little far out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #93 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent room, a little far out”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here just over a week ago in the 2 star room. It is a spacious room for what you pay and had a lovely double bed. There is no aircon so it can be a bit hot in the summer but you can open windows to get a draught through. The main thing about the room was the toilet and shower were at the other end and threre was just a screen covering them - it's fine for a couple.

The main disadvantage of the hotel is the distance from all the attractions. It's a minimum of 30 minutes walk to the city centre and then more to get to other places! Definitely hire a bike if you are staying here.

Room Tip: Specify whether you want a double bed or twin with the 2 star room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastleRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the room we allocated to you. Having so many differently styled rooms, this can sometimes be a challenge! I agree that discovering Amsterdam by bike is the best option.
Hope to see you again in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    555
    196
    110
    93
See reviews for
180
533
111
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It's my 4th time here & I've stayed in 1*, 2*, 3*, 4* star rooms - & each time has been a great experience. I like the location, the staff are friendly & helpful. We hired bikes this time from the hotel which worked well. Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C4mber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It's great to hear that you had another great stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Let us know if you have already found a "favourite" room so that we can make sure to book that room again for you!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is my edited review of the Lloyd hotel. My last review contained content from their own materials about their history as a detention center, and I was told it was not family friendly and they erased my review. So my new review is limited to the hotel as I experienced it. (Please read about the hotel in advance). The hotel has a variety of room rates and quality and rates them with stars. On a scale from 1 to 5 I stayed in a 4 star room. It was bare, sparse, dirty and my toilet was in the open.i had no pictures on walls, filth on the bare non carpeted floor, and I experienced bad dreams (I am avoiding another word that is not family friendly). I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Nora,
I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I totally agree that it is good to read up on us as our hotel has a unique concept (1 to 5 stars) and a rich and diverse history. The room you referred to is a room designed by architects MVRDV. They wanted to maximize space by creating a bathroom without walls. To create privacy the large doors can be closed thus creating "walls". I appologize that we clearly didn't explain this room sufficiently on check in. I hope that your time in Amsterdam was enjoyable.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I booked my hotel on the bus from Paris to Amsterdam. A tram ride away from central and next to the old port. Taxi is the only option for late nights. Pricey for a 1star room. However I had to work on a fixed budget. At the reception I was told about a 2 star available at double the price which I politely declined. Decor is a bit whacky and spooky. Our room won't lock from inside. Reception said they can't help. I had to remind them that they had a basement room where I got a free upgrade. On checkout I was charged the higher rate. I spent 20 mins explaining as the last person forgot to mention in the register. Finally got a refund after 3 days. Beds are comfy though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mysticlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
What a shame that we weren't capable of offering you the level of service we are accustomed to giving all our guests! Our receptionists should know that it is possible to lock all our doors from the inside, safety is very important to us. I can fully understand your frustration that after changing rooms your invoice wasn't correct on check out. I am glad that we were able to sort the mishaps out. My appologies for the inconvenience. Hopefully you will chose to stay with us again so that we can convince you that the level of service you received was the exception and not the rule.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed one night in the Lloyd hotel and it was fantastic! The staff in all areas of the hotel are friendly, efficient and interested in making your stay pleasant. I requested a room with a bath and we had a huge bath in a fun orange painted room. The food in the restaurant is excellent - we had a business dinner one night and an early breakfast before our flight home. The history of the hotel has been maintained with integrity but without compromising on comfort. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Easy to get to by tram and the staff are knowledgeable about getting to other destinations in the city. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for anything specific you require. The rooms are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurkcatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am glad to read that you had such a good stay with us and that we were able to give you some insider information about the nice spots in Amsterdam. You definately stayed in one of our more quirky rooms! Having an orange room during the World Cup was good timing though... I hope to see you again when you next come to Amsterdam.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. It is a very nice and interesting hotel. Especially its history during the last decades. The rooms are clean. So is the restroom. Reception service is friendly and helpful. Besides the hotel is very close to the Centraal train station. Only two stations to go in each direction. Compared to some other hotels it is for quite moderate prices. When choosing to visit Amsterdam again I WILL take it again!!!

Room Tip: Take standard 2 stars room for a short stay. Absolutely satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Yulia,
It is so good to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you managed to find your way around the city with ease. I am glad that you were able to find some time to read up on our history. We are very pround to be able to house our hotel in a monumental building with such diverse history. Next time you visit us, we would be more than happy to give you a personal tour of the hotel.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It's about a 30 min walk to Amsterdam Central train station, but if the weather's good then it's a nice walk along the river. I didn't take the tram but there's a stop a few mins away from the hotel. There are a couple of upmarket bars and restaurants in the close vicinity (it's a regenerated former docklands area, so feels quite trendy), as well as a supermarket over the road, so it's a good location as a base, and you can relax and unwind away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre.

The hotel itself has a wonderful central area with different lounges on different levels, and the whole building has quite an arty style. The reception is just a small desk in a corridor, so the entrance doesn't wow you, but you soon realise the building is quite special. I got a room upgrade which was a pleasant surprise and stayed in a 3* room. The staff were very friendly indeed. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoMike1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
What a great review! It's good to read that you were able to discover the gems of the Eastern Docklands area. It is an area that some forget to put on their "places to see in Amsterdam" list, but definately worth while adventuring into. Next time you visit make sure to rent one of our bikes thats the best way to get around Amsterdam.
Thank you for you kind words about the feel of the hotel.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#66 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
3.9 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing