We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dysfunctional overpriced hotel. Avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #96 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a dysfunctional overpriced hotel. Avoid.”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed in a three star room. My room layout was OK, after I rejected the first room offered. First the good news. The bed was great. End of good news. Now the bad news. I found the room very traveller unfriendly. No safe, no mirror except a small one in the bathroom. No note paper and pen. TV had a broken housing and the TV reception was very bad. Both bedside table lights didn't work. No bar fridge. Towels were very old and threadbare. The bathroom comes complete with a mop to clean up after you shower, because the design is so dysfunctional. I found the hotel staff to be poorly trained and at times abrupt and rude. Room service, which is advertised as 24 hr, did not exist late at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mort35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    541
    193
    106
    90
See reviews for
173
511
109
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed in a '4 star' room, on the positive side the bed was comfortable and the room clean. The room however was open plan and with no wardrobe, just hooks on the wall for clothes, all of which hang in the bathroom area - so you could sit on the loo and see your shirts hanging on the wall in front of you!!. the shower was good but always left a puddle on the floor.
Sleeping was also a problem, the shutters were insufficient to keep the room dark (no curtains) and the noise throughout the night (particularly on saturday night) meant sleep was almost impossible. If you do have the misfortune to stay, ask for a room at the back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JR_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel and rooms looks very nice on the web abd they claim they are located in the centre of Amsterdam City. They are located OUTSIDE of town as far from 'leidesplein' (where you want to be) as possible. We came and got a room in the basement. It was actually the basement and it smelled that way and looked that way. Another word is BUNKER. With a free view from the outside and down on the bed. We complained but with the rude response from the staff we decided to not stay. Then the staff wanted money for having reserved the BUNKER/ROOM to us. This is a SCAM.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
2 Thank trolldans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Travelling with a baby in a pram, we saw before we ordered our rooms online that the hotel was handicap-friendly with an elevator. Turns out that to get to the elevator, one has to walk up 20 or so steps to reach the hotel entrance. The HC-elevator on the side of the building (where one has to call for someone from the staff to come and unlock it), is for employees only, we were sternly told as we tried to enter the building that way with the baby pram.
We got a rather large room in the basement. It had a large bath tub, a small table with two chairs, a sofabed and a regular bed in an opening in the wall. No door into the bathroom. We were happy until we discovered that there was no ventilation whatsoever. After a shower, the whole room was damp for a long time, because we were just below ground, we didn't feel like having the windows open when we were out. We returned every day to a damp room, and the bedsheets felt/smelled moist because the room never got time to dry entirely.
Everything else looked nice, beautiful building, fancy restaurant (the breakfast was too expensive for us, so we bought breakfast in the supermarkets right outside). A nice part of the city, too, but a bit too far to walk.
It was an interesting stay, but next time I am going for something more central, without moist /damp bedsheets.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a 3 star equivalent room, which from reading some of the other comments must have been one of the better ones. We had requested a water view, but when we arrived early afternoon to check in, the room was not available. We were given the choice of another room which we could have immediately or a couple of hours wait. We opted to take the available room as we had walked from central station having been given some very poor advice and directions on the proximity of the hotel by 2 red shirted city guides "helping" people outside the station. Whatever you do, if your coming from the station make sure you catch the tram 26 (IJtram) and get off at stop Rietlandpark!! The room we were given was basically a bed and a huge bath - it was nice in a quirky sort of way but way too small and we didn't intend to spend the next 2 1/2 days in the bath! We went back to reception and after a short wait were put in our original room with water view. This room was everything the other wasn't - it was spacious with table and chairs, an alcove for bags, queen size double bed. It also had shuttered windows, funky carpet, and of course the river view. The only odd thing was that there wasn't a door on the bathroom/toilet, but overall we were very happy with the room. Otherwise, the staff were friendly and helpful, there was wi-fi in the room and there were tea/coffee facilities available in a hall cupboard. As noted, the hotel is well away from the city centre, so buying the 2 or 3 day travel pass is worth it. There is also a supermaket across the road from the hotel for picking up any supplies. As explained by another reviewer, the continental breakfast in the hotel restuarant is expensive at 15 euro per person, but there was plenty to eat and it was very tasty (the freshly baked baguettes were to die for!).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marknmeils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Englad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed in various rooms at the hotel while I was working in the city for a couple of months in early 2010. This is certainly not your usual hotel, but the rooms are spacious and warm. The beds are amazing with superb linen and are always made up to a high standard.

The restaurant menu is limited and expensive, breakfast was almost £20. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby which were great though.

The hotel itself is a little out of town, but you can get a tram to Centraal Station literally right outside which takes about 10minutes. If you get a cab back make sure the driver DOES NOT take the freeway! It adds about 10Euros to the cost!

If you're feeling like something different to your usual hotel experience then Llyod would definitely be worth trying out, I had a very enjoyable stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend. It was a 15-20 minute walk (10 minute bike ride) from the main train station. It is on the water and is a quiet area. The workers were very helpful and allowed us to keep our bags before check in. We stayed on the 5th floor and shared the bathroom and shower. The towels and the robes were wonderful. The room used to be a cell so it was small but the beds were very comfortable. I suggest buying breakfast in advance since it was an expensive last minute purchase. It had a nice museum in the hotel explaining the extensive history of the hotel. Great value for the money. They offer different rooms for every budget. I know the larger rooms must have been wonderful!! Oh, bring earplugs...some loud drunks may stumble in after hours

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenslaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#116 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing