We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Friendly Informed Staff”
Review of Hotel Impala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Impala
Ranked #362 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 February 2006

Having read some of the reviews on this site we came to this hotel with some reservations, but we had a reservation and went.
It is a fantastic location, the view from our room, which is at at T-junction of two canals, is fantastic. Open those windows and enjoy the sensory experience, the view, the sounds of the various boats and the people walking by. We tried not to look back into the room too much, the manager told us of the ways in which the cleaners use bleach to clean everything, including carpets.
The staff were really friendly; they went out of their way to find information about trains, tours, night events etc. I enjoyed my conversations over the generous breakfast.
Just round the corner you can hire a paddle boat. If you are feeling energetic enough it is a great way to see the canals without the commentary and crowds.
Travelling with Australian dollars with home prices in mind everything seems expensive, but compared with other places we tried the Hotel Impala was great value. it is a really nice budget hotel and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 20 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
113
Reviewed 13 August 2005

We had reservations well before our trip. The first thing that happened when we arrived to check in to the Hotel Impala was that they charged each of us with an additional 20 Euros. They claimed that was something all hotels do but we weren’t told about that in advance. In addition, the room wasn’t ready. They did let us leave our luggage until it was ready.

When we got into our room, the handle for the hot water on the sink came off. They gave us a pliers to use and said the plumber would be there by 5:00. He never came.

The day we were leaving, we packed our luggage so that it would be ready at check out time, then we went out for an hour or so. When we returned to our room, our pass keys didn’t work. It was not past checkout time, and we hadn’t checked out yet, but they turned off our cards. The staff was courteous all the time, but they made no attempt to make up for all the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide, Australia
744
Reviewed 6 August 2005

We stayed at Hotel Impala for two nights to finish two months back-packing through Europe. It is a nice, clean hotel and our room had a great view of the canal. The bathroom was huge, which was a pleasant change from other budget hotels in Europe and the TV had lots of English stations. Breakfast was really nice too, definately worth waking up for.
The only negatives about our stay were some furnishings in our room were a bit out-dated and the stairs to the 3rd floor were a health hazard they're that steep!
The staff are extremely helpful though and they gave us some great tips for seeing the best of Amsterdam.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2005

Just got back from our 1st visit to amsterdam. Had a great time but I don't think we'll be staying here again. Don't get me wrong.... the staff are friendly and helpful but the place is filthy! It needs Kim and Aggy in it urgently!
When we arrived we were told our room was ready. As my friend entered the room she found someone sleeping. so we left out bags and went for a walk whilst waiting for our room to be cleaned. When we went back we lugged all our luggage upstairs to find it was a double bed. Now i love my friend to bits but there is no way we could have a double bed.... we are both biggish girls so it just wasn't right! We tried to explain to the girl working on reception that we had booked a twin room but she explained that tein means double in the netherlands.....??! So then we were put on the phone to the manager who was really nice but said we should have phoned to confirm that we wanted a twin room and if we wanted to change we would have to pay another 45 euros! So my friend calmly explained that she had done this 2 weeks before and all was in order. We got the room in the end but make sure you confirm if you want a twin room as there is only 1!!
The room itself was tiny but we had a canal view which was great. The floors were dirty though so make sure you take slippers. Also the curtains looked they were about to fall down.there isn't much room for suitcases but if you're on a budget its ok to lay your head.... don't expect tea and coffee in your rooms. There are plenty of plug sockets and there's a hairdryer in the batroom, towels are provided but they weren't the cleanest.
Breakfast consisted of cheese, ham, bread, jam, cereal, juice and hot drinks. Very basic but for the money we couldn't complain.
the hotel itself is easy to find. take the 370 bus from the airport (can't remember the stand number). the bus takes to to Liedesplein. when you get off the bus you need to cross the road to the other side and head left, just before the bridge take a right (american hotel) and the impala is about 300 yards down there. If you arrive in the middle of the night make sure you have made arrangements to be let in as it's on a card security system.
If you're there for the tourist sites your 1st stop should be the VVV. It's on Liedesplein just after the square and they'll tell you all about the tickets you'll need, you can also pick up a map here (you'll definatelt need it!!). If you're going to the Anne Franks house, make sure you get tickets before. the qeues were horrendous but if you have a ticket you get to walk right in!
So all in all we had a great time though I do't think we'll be staying at the Impala again, ok if you're on a really tight budget (travelling or a student) but if you like the finer things it's not for you. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kezarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Eastleigh, Hampshire, England
16
Reviewed 28 June 2005

We are a couple aged 42 and 46 who know how to enjoy ourselves and are up for most things. Amsterdam is one of our favourite places in the world. We like to travel on a budget but don't put up with crap just to get the cheapest price.

We stayed at the Hotel Impala for the 4th night of our 4 night stay. We're not generally fussy but this was the 4th different room in 3 different Hotels. The first was disgustingly dirty with 'surprises' under the bed, the second was ok but after one night they moved us to a room with a waterbed which was deflated and didn't help with a nights sleep despite an extra dose of Super Silver Haze to get us off ?

Then we came accross the Hotel Impala. The first thing that struck us was the friendliness of the staff, yes I know all the Dutch seem to be friendly but these were particularly nice. The Hotel was clean enough and, after we had climbed the 2 flights of narrow stairs to our 4 bedded room (it was all they had available for the two of us), we were pleasantly surprised.

The carpets on the way up and in some of the other rooms left a lot to be desired but they seemed clean. Our room, however, had a laminate flloor, a reasonably comfortable bed, a very nice clean bathroom and a stunning view.

The walls could do with a coat of paint, there is a balcony with 2 big opening doors that you can't walk out of because it's not safe, an old fireplace which could be lovely, nowhere to hang your clothes or make a cup of tea but a window that fully opens up to leave what must be one of the best Canal views in Amsterdam.

After a hard days exploring it was lovely to get back to the room, open up the windows and sit having a drink and a smoke whilst watching the world go by. Then, when we got in after a night out we'd open up the windows and enjoy the serenity.

If you're travelling on a budget, you don't expect luxury and can put up without being able to hang your clothes up then this could be the place for you. Even the American Hotel, 100m down the road hasn't got a view like this one which is Worth the stay on it's own.

We'll be going back and asking for the same room !

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2005

Easy going and friendly, the young staff is always pleasant and enjoys working in this great find. You know its good because its booked full of young 20-30 something friends and couples from all over the globe every weekend. It's a two star- so don't expect four poster beds and made to order omlettes. But the breakfast room is nice and spacious, and great for making a cup of tea while watching some late night TV. It feels like home, excellent location in the Leidseplein area- tucked away location on a nice canal means no neon signs in sight. My triple had a great canal view to watch the boats and even a sitting area in a window nook. The doubles can be much smaller. Can't recommend it enough, especially for the very reasonable prices and a casual and friendly stay with friends.

5  Thank Islandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2004

I was impressed witht the friendliness and cleaness this hotel has.Very recomanded, Breakfast was far way over what i tought we get, we had freshly baked bread with a choice of cheeses and cereals.Excellent!Ive been to amsterdam a number of times and wasnt lucky on hotels as this time.I will Definetly go there again .

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank daintym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#103 of 372 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,090 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 372 in Amsterdam
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#272 of 372 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#213 of 372 in Amsterdam
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Impala Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing