We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect for 1 star”
Review of Bema Rentals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bema Rentals
Ranked #250 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights in early April. Amsterdam is an expensive city and for the budget traveller I can reccomend the Bema Hotel. The breakfast was very good although isn't served until 8:30-9am so we missed out on one morning, The facilities are clean and the staff friendly. The free wifi is always a plus. The bed in our room was very old and sank to the middle. The stairs are steep but thats what you get in Amsterdam. The location is good as you are close to the Van Gogh, Rijkmuseum and Concertgebouw and a short tram ride to the Dam. Overall good for a 1 star

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mjb_eswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Upon our arrival we were immediately upgraded a beautiful apartment suite! The staff explained that there had been a cancellation and that they "felt sorry because we booked the smallest room in the place." Despite the upgrade, we still would have had a great time at this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and offered wonderful suggestions, such as bike rentals, and where to go in Amsterdam (no lonely planet needed). I would definitely stay here again, if only to support the small business.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in the apartment belonging to Hotel Bema, it was located near the Overtoom tram stop on Eerste Constantijn Huygenstraat.

It was a bit of a pain having to go to the Hotel in order to be taken to the apartment, if I was going again I'd ask if they could meet us there.
Although, it wasn't too bad as the hotel and apartment are only one tram stop apart. (If you're looking for the hotel, take the 197 bus from the airport, straight to Museumplein stop, it's really close to the hotel and saves about 50euros on a taxi).

The staff were friendly and gave us a map and also had a rack of minicards we could look through for attractions' offers. Then they took us on the tram to the apartment and showed us around.

The apartment was basic and a little old-fashioned, re-decorating would be nice. However, it was pretty clean, not much dust, no mould in the bathroom, clean sheets etc. The living room was a decent size but the sofa was tiny. There was a table and chairs for four to eat at. And a very tiny, but working TV. No hotel comforts like a phone or hairdryer.

Clean towels were provided, (3 small bath towels and two hand towels between three people).

There was a double bed in the bedroom, with no room for anything else! And a single we had asked for in the living room. There wasn't a wardrobe, just a coat rack.

The kitchen had everything we needed- a hob, fridge (with freezer shelf), microwave, kettle, coffee maker, pans, utensils and cutlery.

The stairs leading to the apartment make it only suitable for young and/or fit people who can climb a lot of steep stairs.

The location is great as you can walk to Leidseplein or Museumplein in about 10 minutes. There's also a tram stop outside if you're feeling lazy.

And a beautiful chocolate shop just nextdoor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank kayleigh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed 9 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 April 2012

As we travelled with 2 small children, Hotel Bema offered us a two-bedroom apartment "...located about 10min away from the hotel", in reality it was apx 5 min by tram plus 5 min on foot. The guy who took us to the apartment had 4 travel cards with him and asked us to pay for 1 tram ticket ourselves which seemed a bit greedy. But otherwise he was very friendly and helpful. So was the lady at the reception.
The apartment is very basic but full of character and situated close to Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, tram stops and a supermarket (they don't accept cards in the supermarkets, be aware!). There's a kettle, a coffee machine, a toaster, a very good shower that looks brand-new, a TV. But there was no toilet paper and no soap!
The heating in the apartment wasn't on when we arrived and it seemed that it had been off for quite a while before - it was absolutely freezing in the rooms that night. And though it warmed up and was fine afterwards, I wouldn't recommend you to stay there in winter - the gaps in window frames are unbelievably big. The toilet and the bathroom are particularly cold.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tobyquak
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#210 of 373 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
Urban Lodge Hotel
#72 of 373 in Amsterdam
519 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bema Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bema Rentals

Address: Nassaukade 351, 1053 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bema Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, fully furnished and clean apartments for short stay, always ready to welcome families, couples and small groups. The lodgings are located through the city center, all connected to trams and buses and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bema Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing