We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not let my dog spend a night here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #338 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would not let my dog spend a night here”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This has to rate as the worst hotel I have evr stayed in, the rooms were filthy, cramped and cold the windows didn't close properly, the curtains were pretty much see through and there was a big neon sign outside, staff were rude, this place is a disgrace, avoid at all costs

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    32
    52
    28
    95
See reviews for
7
78
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Came here on a trip to Amsterdam was staying with a friend and booked a twin room. They put us in a double and said there were no other rooms available we therefore asked for our money back and said we would find another hotel and they refused to give it to us. They said they didn't have a manager and we were unable to leave because they had taken payment from us and refused to give it back despite putting us in a room we did not book. There was no shower holder and random animals in the hotel. The staff were rude and hostile and not at all helpful. There is also no lift. HORRIBLE DON'T EVER GO HERE.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Umea, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Our room looked and felt like an old bathhouse, it was dark and kinda damp, it also had a strong smell of chlorine. When we asked about the internet connection that their homepage promised us we we're told that it had not been available for "some time" and that they had no clue when it was coming back up. We immediatly paid the cancellation fee and went to another hotel. Cant see why anyone in their right mind would stay at Barbacan, it wasnt even that cheap.

/Johan

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnySadegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

what a rip off hostel sorry hotel,booked singles ended up sharing doubles staff very rude and allways looking to scam money from u plus its shed loads of miles from anywhere DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trelly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveller
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Amsterdam is a large European city - and the average hotel price is high. My husband and I have stayed there six times, and we have never stayed at the same hotel twice. We are always hoping for a better deal and perhaps a slightly better room. But we never actually have found any outstanding budget hostel. The Hotel Barbacan was the latest one we tried.

Hotel Barbacan was pretty much the same as the others we have stayed at. The room was small with a simple yet comfortable double bed, a table, and a shelf with a TV. The room and attached bathroom were clean and there was plenty of hot water. We had a window that only overlooked a lower roof so no view. The price of the room included breakfast which was fine.

I have read the other reviews and would like to remind people that this is a budget hotel. You can't expect five star quality when you are paying a two star price. We paid 60 euros a night (US$ 75) which is a budget price for an Amsterdam hotel.

We quite liked the location of the Barbacan. It was out a bit but on a quiet street and easy enough to get to using the tram. Or you can walk it - we did several times.

Our only complaint was the wi-fi was down. But, at least when we stayed in October, the credit card machine was working as we paid using Visa.

We slept well here and would stay at the Hotel Barbacan again. However, we would first check www.AsiaRooms.com to see if there is any better deal for when we are in town. But if we cant fine a cheaper option, then we would have no worries about booking here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

The hotel Barbacan was horrendous. It was the price of an expensive hotel (150euros/night) but with the accommodations of a bad hostel. First of all, there was no warning that we had to pay in cash up front! Secondly, they have a cat roaming the hotel, which was also not mentioned on the website. The room was disgusting. IT had obviously not been well kept. The floor board leading to the bathroom was not actually connected to the floor. The sliding door to the bathroom was hanging on to the ceiling by a thread. THere were hairs in our bedding. The cleaning service did not show up for three of the four days we were there. They also left only one towel each time for four people. The front desk service could not have been more unwelcoming. After traveling europe for four months, I can sincerely say it was the worst hotel at the worst price I have stayed in. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank entourage12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed as a stag party of reasonable guys not crazy stupid blokes but respectable guys aging from 22 to 49 years old on the 26 March 2010 to the 28 March 2010.

After reading the horror stories of this hotel on here after already booking hotel for my stag do I have to say it is a 2 & 1/2 star hotel and the think the seriously negative reviews are a unfair.

The 6 bedroom room with on suite was more like a normal/large room with 6 beds in it, clean tidy no mould as some have stated as in other rooms, these rooms cost us around £25 per night per person you can't really complain I have stayed at hotel that cost more and were far worse. Beds are super soft sit and sink in them ok to sleep in no complaints. there is a hairdryer in the 6 & 5 bedroom rooms and also safes in each however we did not use these. also shower toilet and sink in each of the 5 & 6 bedrooms rooms.

the 5 person bedroom again slightly smaller with 5 beds packed in not as newly decorated as the 6 room but still clean tidy no mould or real problems small fist size hole in wall on left as you walk in the door but apart from this nothing to be really worried about.

Both rooms were located on the 1st floor

As we only stayed in the rooms for 5 and 6 people I can not comment on the 2 bedroom rooms or others.

Very quite clean and no complaints about hotel in general. You get for what you pay for and it's a 2 to a 2 1/2 hotel if you want a romantic beautiful hotel then you will have to pay for it, if you want a room to crash in and then go enjoy Amsterdam then this is fine.

Checkin painless as to effort fill out a quick form. Guy was a bit of a miserable sod but no big deal as it was late so may have been a off day for him.

However like others have said the 'credit card machine' does not work which means you have to pay euros for the rooms as soon as you check in which was really annoying as there was nine of us, all who only bought enough euros for the drinking and eating side of the trip and the room was expected to be paid via credit card so as to be paid off back in the UK, this resulted in us all having to find a cash machine (which is located on the corner need a cafe) and withdraw more euros for the trip resulting in cash machine charges for all.

didn't do breakfast as loads of cafes and things on the sort 10/15 minute walk to the main town centre/red light district (or 7 minute walk to a supermarket next to a chinese which has loads of food). it's a 20 minute walk max to station which isn't bad at all.

Don't think by my review that this hotel has lots of stag do people or large groups as on our stay we did not see anything that gave us this impression.

Would I stay there again? Yes when we go back with the boys to return to Amsterdam on a boys holiday, would I stay there with my girlfriend? If the rooms are like the 5 & 6 bedroom rooms as in of decoration and on a tight budget yes, however if romancing then I would look elsewhere, however this is my opinion only.

I think the reviews as WORSE HOTEL EVER are unfair and not a true reflection of my experience of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Kooyk Hotel
#219 of 368 in Amsterdam
583 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 368 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#296 of 368 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#226 of 368 in Amsterdam
284 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#269 of 368 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Barbacan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing