We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hotel Dwars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dwars
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights last week and found the staff to be very welcoming and gave us lots of useful information on arrival. Room was very clean with a nice, quirky design. Beds were made and towels changed daily. Key cards allow access to the building 24/7 so you can come and go as you please and although there is no permanent reception the staff are around regularly and are contactable should you need them.

Most importantly the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on and the pillows were amazing too - wish we could have brought them home with us! Had four fantastic nights sleep and would definitely return next time we visit Amsterdam. Great location with a tram stop just around the corner.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    55
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
62
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location, with many nice restaurants and beautiful houses. The hotel i s really small and personal, staff was really helpful and made my stay easy and nice. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Last June, I stayed at the hotel for 4 days as the beginning of my European summer holiday with my family. I stayed at room #9, sadly it took me to bring 4 luggage using the stairs, but inside the room is very worthy. 2 beds and a nice little bathroom. The free wi-fi is incredibly fast and i enjoyed using it. The location of hotel is also very strategic because it is near with some great restaurants and interesting spots. Don't doubt yourself or anyone to go and stay in this hotel because it was an incredible experience to enjoy Amsterdam from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room #9 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrworldwide216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a group of 10 girls for a hen weekend, all of our rooms were designed in slightly different ways but all really quirky and stylish. The rooms aren’t huge but they’re big enough, very comfy beds and pillows and nice big powerful shower and clean bathroom. Even on a 2 night stay our rooms were cleaned & fresh towels provided.

There isn’t a reception just a ‘cupboard’ with the computer/paperwork in, and the staff arrive to the hotel for check in/check out times. They do leave a number to call if you need anything & there’s a buzzer on the door in case of any problems too, we managed to get in touch with the staff easily each time we needed to. The hotel is located in a lovely area full of cafés and shops, a 10 minute walk into Rembrandt Square (so far enough away for it to be quiet). The only negative I’d say is the stairs are extremely narrow & steep, so it was tiring for the girls in the rooms on the top floors (if you’re elderly or have mobility problems definitely avoid this hotel or ask for a guaranteed ground or second floor room).

Room Tip: Stairs are very narrow & steep (no lifts), so ask for ground or second floor rooms if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyramid160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Dwars in the loft room ie top floors. The Dwars has 9 rooms and this was on the top floor, narrow staircase makes it a challenge for some. But the staff was very helpful, even taking our luggage up the 4 floors. This building was a youth hostel, very nicely renovated to a boutique inn. There is a tram stop 50m from the front door, so getting around is very easy.

The room was actually the whole top floor - two rooms and a bathroom. Quaint, quiet, comfortable, trendy - a very nice place. There are plenty of restaurants, cafés, bakeries, grocers nearby. This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: if narrow stairs are not an issue, the loft is wonderful. If stairs are an issue,then asked for low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ-Kville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and a group of friends took our first trip to Amsterdam and stayed in this hotel recently. It is a great place to stay, the rooms are modern, clean and decorated beautifully. Could not have asked for more. Pleasant staff, great location and worth every penny paid! Cannot complain at all!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Brogz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend here and absolutely loved our room! Felt brand new, very stylish, clean and comfortable bed! Close to all attractions but not noisy, we felt very safe in the area. Hosts were welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SavyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,371 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dwars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dwars

Property: Hotel Dwars
Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 79, 1017 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dwars 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Dwars be your starting point to explore all the wonderful sights of Amsterdam. Located in the city centre and just a few steps away from the vibrant Utrechtsestraat known for shopping and food. Our friendly hotel with nine rooms is the place to return after a long day or recharge for whatever the night may bring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dwars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing