We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but difficult 2 get 2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #122 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice but difficult 2 get 2”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

hard 2 find but very nice and spacious and well presented rooms are lovely and very clean overall great stay, would like 2 of been closer but there is a near by bus stop that u can purchase tickets from reception would recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0bradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    617
    242
    89
    46
See reviews for
108
633
48
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pj
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with tour group. Good rooms, clean but very far from town. Had to walk about 20-30 mins to a good halal restaurant. Walked back but streets were lonely and dark. If you are on business & have dealings with the offices nearby, then this hotel is for you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank taziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at the Artemis in the course of a business trip to Amsterdam because it was close to my company's offices. It is a typical 'sleep factory' for business folk rather than a hotel for couples on a 'getaway' stay, particularly as it is so far out of the centre of the city.
Check-in at around 6 p.m. was slow as there was only one member of staff at the desk who was trying to juggle phone calls and other requests whilst I waited to be registered.
Overall the stay was just about ok BUT I was disappointed on several fronts with my room on the third floor:
1. The lighting was appalling - all of the lights had bulbs that merely glowed at about 25 watts each so that even with every light on in the room it was impossible to work comfortably without eye strain.
2. The screen on my T.V. did not work but this was rectified the following day
3. The sink waste was broken and I could not drain out waste water and had to have maintenance attend to it.
4. The shower was very low on power and below standard considering this is a modern hotel building.
5. The weather outside was very cold and I found the room temperature insufficient although the bathroom underfloor heating was reasonably efficient.
I did not eat dinner at the hotel but did take breakfast. The buffet style breakfast selection was very good but as I only eat a light continental style meal it was very expensive at over EUR 25 inc. tax and it would have been fairer to offer two prices for continental and full breakfast.
Overall a very average hotel and I would not choose to stay there again if I have to visit Amsterdam on business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoversReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
253 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on business. We arrived late and decided to have dinner at the hotel. The food was pretty good and the staff very friendly. The check in / out was painless. The breakfast buffet was v. well presented, although I did not spot any non-lacto products (such as Sojamilk, but I also did not ask so they might have been available).
The rooms were clean, although the room look and feel was not at the highest standard (hence 4/5 stars). The bed/pillow combination was not the best but that I guess is mostly personal taste.
We tried to get to town by bus and it took ages, so definitely a cab job unless you have time to spare.
Overall a positive stay.

Room Tip: Quite location. I could have asked for a double bed rather than getting 2 singles for myself, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugenio_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2012. We took public transport from the airport to the hotel and ended up getting lost! Would recommend getting a transport pass but get a taxi from the airport to save messing around with trams/buses!

Comfortable beds and clean rooms, lovely breakfast too!

The Hotel is a 5/10 minute walk to the nearest tram stop and the tram journey is around 15/20 mins to Leidseplein.

We felt that the distance from the hotel to the city centre was worth it to be out of the loud/busy centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraLH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business purposes and all the cash I was carrying was stolen from my hotel room. When I raised this with the duty manager he said that there was no record of anyone entering my room on the hotel system and refused to help any further. I filed a report with the police who confirmed that someone else had been a victim of exactly the same crime the very same day. I would definitely not recommend that anyone stays in this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
13 Thank 670Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here two night and had two rooms, one for me and my husband and one for my two teenagers. They hotel staff were very welcoming and put us in rooms quite close to each other. The rooms were of an average size and the bathrooms had good facilities. Everything was very clean and modern. The wifi was not very reliable and better in one room than the other.
The hotel calls itself an art hotel and the lobby and restaurant are dotted with works of art, both paintings and sculptures. Our breakfast was included as a deal in the price we paid, which was good because it was very expensive otherwise, although there was plenty of choice.
The staff were very helpful.
If this hotel was nearer to the center of Amsterdam I would definately stay again, but it is at least a ten minute walk to the nearest tramstop and then a half an hour ride to get anywhere near the center of Amsterdam, longer if you want to go to the trainstation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank devongirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#128 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing