We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #117 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have just returned from 6 days at this hotel.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel clean and rooms great. Very comfy bed. Breakfast good and fresh. Did not eat in restaurant.
It is about 30 mins on tram to centre so quite good.

Room Tip: Room 711 very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xanmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    664
    250
    98
    48
See reviews for
119
674
49
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times now, it is very good, rooms are a good size, staff very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant is also good.
the hotel is on the outskirts, however not so far by taxi or car, i would recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The new name of the hotel Artemis, Dutch design hotel, speaks for itself as upon entering the spacious hotel lobby, i felt an ambiance of an Art Gallery ( They have exhibitions of paper arts in the wall, lamps and vases! My friend invited me to travel to Amsterdam to see the Keukenhof gardens, a botanical garden for tulips and bulbs, and the trip there is worth the visit! Our hotel room has 2 comfortable single beds, bath with shower, closet for 2, love that there is a water boiler where you can make coffee in the morning, hair dryer is installed in the mirror dresser, a plus for a mini cooler, and also a safe. Room is clean and lighting is also great with a night lamp you can use by your bed! A great advantage is that there is a bus stop just at the back of the hotel (Bus 145) to take you to the city senter. From the city you take all the trams to go around places. No need to use the hop on hop off buses! From the city you can also take a bus to Schipol airport. The only thing is that there are no buses on sundays. Location is also great since its is only 15 minute drive to the airport and 20 minutes to the city. Hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful! Thanks to Adam who checked us inn! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My husband took me away for the weekend for some chill out R and R we stayed Friday - Sunday. the room was fairly standard not worth 200Euro/night, especially as we spend lots on transport 25-30 Euros from airport and back and forth to city centre. There are transport links running 24hrs - but a little inconvenient and time consuming - especially as we were only there for less than 48hrs and as a Londoner I am used to more regular services. It would have been better for us to have paid more and been closer to the centre.

We stayed in an executive room, it was clean, the bed was large and comfortable. Although I still feel that this hotel doesn't offer value for money and would not stay here again.

The TV didn't work - but we didn't mention to the hotel as we weren't in a room much. We tried call room service at 3am but no-one picked up the phone, we didn't eat at the hotel so unable to pass judgement on food. Standard hotel prices at bar 10 Euros for 2 bottle beers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asprou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at start of march. It is on outskirts of centre but transport to city centre is easy to access and frequent although we had a car. I couldn't criticise it for location as it clearly states that it isn't city centre so can't understand why people criticise it on that basis. It's as good as any 4 star I have stayed in - very similar to Radisson blu or Hilton. Excellent nights sleep, extremely clean, comfortable and good breakfast with lots of choice from hot & cold. Staff are super helpful and friendly - yes there are a lot of business & corporate types but it is located in the business district so no big shock there! Definitely recommend to those who want to be a bit outside centre. Previous reviewer moaned about security- but it's the same systems as in all good quality hotels so no concerns there either.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t10mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It is always a good choice to stay in Hotel Artemis Amsterdam although it is far from the city center. But it is so easy to reach the city center by taking the tram line 2 which goes to Central Station.

Although Amsterdam has great choices of international cuisine, the kitchen of the hotel offers you fusion food alternatives if you are enough with eating less :)

The Wi-Fi is free of charge and the reception is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajandomundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have been a 'long staying' guest for just over four months!
It is like a second home. The staff are amazing and make a huge difference.
The service is second to none, especially in the restaurant and on reception.

Room Tip: I like the 8th floor because it's quiet. Ask for a room which has had the floors sanded and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#131 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,238 reviews
Volkshotel
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing