We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE OWNER ASSAULTED ME! (and the room was disgraceful.)”

Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Ranked #309 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE OWNER ASSAULTED ME! (and the room was disgraceful.)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hostel is undoubtedly the worst I have ever stayed in. Myself and 4 friends stayed on the top floor in what was supposedly a 5 man room. The room was approximately 2.5 metres squared, with a single peep hole window. There was absolutely no room to move and it was ridiculously hot and musty: Far too hot to wear a tshirt at any point in the room (this is in no way an exaggeration). And the icing on the cake? The lightbulb did not work, leading us to christen the room "The Black Hole of Calcutta".

However, this was by no means the worst thing about our experience. The staff are some of the rudest people I have ever met and the manager physically assaulted me.

One of our friends had come back early from a night out to go to sleep in the room, and therefore we could not get in our room as each party only gets one key. I went down to the reception to see if the owner could let us in (he was awake every night and always scowled at the guests). I knocked on the door and he came out, when I asked very politely and quietly "I'm really Sorry I know it's late but would you mind just letting us in the room as one of our friends has locked us out?" He stared at me with a grimace for about ten seconds so I repeated myself, at which point he grabbed me by the neck and pinned me against the wall and shouted "Why you so stupid, you wake up all the guests, [--] off!" (A bit ironic as his shouting did wake everyone up.) He then tried to fine me 250 euros, whilst still holding my neck, at which point I shouted back and told him that the streets were probably more comfortble than our room etc. My friends came down the stairs and we threatened to ring the police as we knew I had been very very polite and had done nothing wrong and it was all on CCTV. He then reluctantly let us in the room.

Just to clarify we are all very polite people and had done absolutely nothing wrong. We were not noisy in any way shape or form. He was just an incredibly aggressive and nasty man who resented all the guests.

The positives - no bed bugs as reported and a good location, but avoid this hostel at all costs. There are much cheaper and better hostels around. It did not ruin our trip but it came seriously close.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    38
    32
    40
See reviews for
1
8
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

First of all i went with one other friend there, the staff were very rude and looked like They hate his job. When we was in the room two guys told us that they were leaving because yesterday they slept there and woke up filled with bug bites. They ask for their money back but people in reception did not accepted that bug infestation even when they show their marks. We still slept there because we have already payed. And in the next day morning guess what, all the people in the room were with huge bug bites and there were blood marks in the sheets. Actually one guy told me later that he has recorded a video in Youtube showing the bugs running out of the lineen that of course was reported. So think twice before going there!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pologun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The location of the hostel is good, not far from most things. The sheets and bedding were clean which was good. They gave you a free map aswell.
The bad things were the amount of really steep steps up to the room, the bathroom REALLY smelt, it was soo bad! Also, you have to give a deposit for the key and the reception was closed when i was leaving so i lost out on the money. Also, the bar opposite blazed loud music until really late at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSunshine_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hostel was nothing special. It was pretty expensive, but the location was fantastic. Literally a minute away from some of Amsterdam's best nightlife. Very close to the tram if you need it, but there really is no need. Anne Frank House and The Heineken Factory are about 10-15 minutes away by foot. About a 20 minute walk to the Red Light district. Very nice location but the facilities weren't anything special. In fact, the shower in the en-suite was just a spout. No kind of indent in the floor to catch the water or curtain, it was sort of just...there. There were lockers in the rooms but they were still in the boxes they were delivered in. If you can find a cheaper place to stay I'd recommend that, but if all else fails, this place isn't terrible. The stairs were a bit dangerous too. Very narrow and on a steep incline.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Place was exactly what we needed. Were only in Amsterdam for the one night, and knew we'd spend most of it out on the town so all we were after was a bed for a few hours. It was very cost effective and did exactly what we wanted it to. There were four of us, we were all in the same room and there was a toilet and shower nearby. It was fine for what it was, but don't be expecting the Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stadt Geesthacht, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Hostel is very well located, the bedroom was Ok, but the bathrooms were not that clean.
Its a place to sleep....
I would recomend to people who dont have problems if not fancy Hostels

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed in for 2 nights with friends but would definitely not recommend this place to anyone. This place was wet, not clean at all (I even wonder if blanket are changed after the check out) and dangerous socket to plug your stuff in. Didn't even tried the breakfast. No curtains, noisy streets (well that not the worst). For this price you can find far much better in AMS.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbrancucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Property: Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Address: Leidsekruisstraat 13-1, 1017 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing