We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel d'Amsterdam
Ranked #202 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

After reading reviews about the hotel I booked through Expedia for a 2 night stay. I decided to book a deluxe double after hearing that standard double rooms were slightly small. The room was very big and had a balcony and lovely ensuite with a large shower cubicle.

Through the booking we had breakfast included, which was a great start to a day of exploring! It was the usual breads, croissants, cheese, ham, eggs, cereal, fruit and yoghurt and we could eat as much as we liked.

The staff were more than helpful in directing us to places we should visit and were very apologetic when the room wasn't ready to check-in until 40 minutes after we were told it would be ready.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We personally didn't feel the need to use public transport as everywhere was walkable.

I'd definately recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    149
    64
    13
    13
See reviews for
16
172
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very sleek, modern, and comfortable rooms. Yes, they are rather small, but you must consider that Europeans are generally smaller than our American behinds and are much more efficient as using up space. The air conditioning units at Hotel D'Amsterdam were a godsend during the summer months and all of the electronic devices worked quite well. The Wi-Fi was excellent and the service was helpful and friendly.

This hotel is a mere 3 blocks from an excellent bicycle rental shop, which I recommend to get around town.

Room Tip: Ask for Room # 8...unless I'm there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

A smart choice 3 stars hotel. Far enough form the center to be super quiet and let us have a nice night sleep and but at the same time 5 min walk close from the center. 5 min walk is enought to be near Liedseplein and from there, thaking the Liedsestraat we can go everywhere we want. It's close to Avis, Budget, it's 10 min walk close to Europcar and Hertz (Overtoom). It has a Lidl 2 min walk away and according to the reviews it's just in front on the best italian restaurants in Amesterdam. (we tried going there twice and couldn't get a table though).
It's very clean, every day they clean the room, Mr. Choi and his wife are very nice and always very keen on given all the information you need with the help of a map, or a bus schedule. Whatever information we needed they provided so, great.
I don't know about the breakfast. We decided to have breakfast out so, I don't know if it's worth the money.
Rooms are very small but are just right. I think when visiting a city what we just need is a place to rest and have a shower with some confort.
Shower water pressure could be better thought, but it also depended at what hour we had the shower - maybe too many people having showers at the same time(?)
From the hotel to Vondelpark it's about 5-10 min walk, very close.
If you what to go to Heineken Experience get out the hotel to Nassaukade and continue straight to Stadhouderskade for 10-15 min.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroAVHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked this hotel through booking.com. We read up some reviews that were helpful in deciding to stay here, for example, location was important to us. We needed somewhere within easy reach by foot/public transport and Hotel D'Amsterdam offered that. We caught the 197 bus from the airport (4 Euros one way each) and dropped off at Leidesplein and walked to the hotel in under 10min.

Depending on what one looks for in their room, this one offered a double bed, tea making facility, a clean bathroom, TV, fridge and very friendly staff who were always on the ready to help, guide and support. We did not use their hire bikes which are available but we used their facility to leave our luggage for the day after check out until our flight that evening.

Proximity to everything - again, if one enjoys walking about, there is absolutely nowhere one couldn't reach from this hotel. We will definitely be using this place again!!

The plus side - you can return from the hustle and bustle and retire to a nice quiet location!

Room Tip: The back of the hotel was quiet although the front didn't seem too noisy as it backs on to a dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avid_Traveller017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few days in March. This is a bed and breakfast hotel, not a chain run by a company. I was greeted warmly by a guy at the front desk. I came early, around 9AM. My room wasn't ready, so I was able to leave my luggage in the lounge while I roamed around the city until the room was ready. When I came back, they showed me to a back room on the ground floor. It was small, but recently refurbished, clean and very adequate. I didn't like the back room location, away from the other rooms, nor the fact that it was on the ground floor. I kind of felt like "let's stick the black girl in the back quarters". But it was quiet (except for breakfast time since I was in the back) so I can't really complain. The room included a flat screen TV, nice wall heater, small but clean bathroom with a nice shower stall. I would most definitely stay again (and I might even request those "colored" quarters again). The guy at the front desk was quite nice and was able to guide me to different destinations and recommend restaurants.

The hotel is near Leidisplein plaza (walking distance). You can catch a bunch of trams to other places. I also walked all the way up to Central station, red light district, Dam Square, and the major museums.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BK_Traveling_Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is located in a nice area but a bit far from the main attractions and shopping areas. The room was huge, but the full carpet is a big minus. It always gives you a bit shabby feeling. Otherwise the room was clean and the bed OK. Breakfast was nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great location - only 5 or 10 mins from museums and the Leidseplein.
Lovely room with all the essentials, including kettle and fridge. Spotlessly clean and fresh towels and beds made every day. Free wi-fi.
Breakfasts were good with fresh bread, boiled eggs, cereals, ham, cheese, etc.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and it would be at the top of the list when we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#231 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#146 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#270 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#130 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#111 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Amsterdam

Property: Hotel d'Amsterdam
Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel d'Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing