We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this horrible hostel”
Review of Travel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Hotel
Ranked #336 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 June 2014

High price for Saturdays and not worth it. The staff was unbelievably rude. A blonde female worker and a dark haired male worker were terribly unhelpful. The woman was very curt and unwilling to help. The man would not speak to you at all. The stairs are very steep and only one person should go up or down at a time. The bathrooms run out of toilet paper and are not replaced. The shower floors are disgusting and muddy. Shoes should be worn at all times while in the bathroom. The rooms are dusty, littered with trash, and beds are not made. The rooms are also very hot when someone showers, and the window is the only source of cool air and ventilation but then it is very noisy from the crowds outside. Bells were constantly chiming in the morning. All the guests were rowdy and inconsiderate of others and their noises levels. Overall, worst hostel I have ever been to. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel has no elevator!!! We stay in the 5th floor with a child and a lot of baggage and without elevator, and you know what.. They didnt tell us about that 5th floor with no elevator!! If they told us before use our credit card, we definetly will find another hotel! And when we wanted to cancel our booking for the second nights, the refused it. Oh my GOD. This is the worst hotel ever. Do not take this hotel unles you love to get disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Was not too sure what to expect before arriving. But on arrival, I settled in alright, just ideal for my short break. I was generally satisfied with my time there. Friendly and helpful staff. I'll definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Kelvin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent two nights here, more than enough I think. The staff were mostly curt and unnatentive most of the time, failing to notice guests arrival, which was annoying when they needed to 'buzz' you into the hotel. Our room was on the 5th floor, the stairs were very steep and precarious, however I beleive this is the style of old Amsterdam houses. The room was far from perfect with 6 beds cramped into a very small room, as such it got very warm and a little intimidating for a girl sleeping in such close proximity to strangers. The room had a sink, which was useful as there was only one bathroom on the whole floor for both males and females, catering for about 20 rooms. Lockers were available but no locks, however these could be purchased for 5 Euros at the desk. Due to the nature of Amsterdam, sleep was interrupted by the very late arrival of some guests. The hostel was advertised to have wifi, but the router was located in the lobby and got weaker and weaker as you clibmed the stairs, cutting off at the second floor. So no chance on the 5th. 2 Computers were available for use by the main desk, but were very slow and loud. Was cheap, but not so cheerful, wouldn't come here again. Should have taken heed of other reviews here. P.S. it doesnt have a terrible swimming pool or fitness center, mistakes were made.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelpiesaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

1. Hotel pre charge my c.card for 1 night without my consent even though I have already placed 10% payment with budgetplaces.com
2. No lift. Narrow staircase. Problem with big trolley bags.
3. Reception was so-so only.
4. Housekeeping didn't keep the place clean.
5. Only 1 plug to share in a 6 bedroom.

Room Tip: Bring extra chargers as only 1 plug in the room Toilet was dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Traveller23230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I think that people greatly exaggerate the flaws of this hotel. Yes, if you're looking for 5 star accommodation, you won't get it here. But if you're looking for someplace to stay in the center of Amsterdam (and it really is as central as you can get), and you're not terribly fussy, you could do a lot worse. The location is 5 stars, the rooms are between 2 and 4 stars depending (at the end of the day, you're paying for somewhere to sleep, and that's what you get), and the atmosphere is 3 or 4 stars; people and staff are friendly, and there is a friendly feeling to the whole place. Yes, you may have to climb stairs. Yes, there is dust under the bed. No, there's no room service or ensuite jacuzzi. But if you're not terribly precious about such things, it's a pretty good deal. I wouldn't call myself the most die-hard when it comes to living conditions, and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I've never wrote a review before but felt I had to on this occasion. I saw a lot of bad reviews and was dubious of my visit but it turned out to be perfect!
Location was incredible, in the centre of everything! 24 hour bar, pool table , clean beds!
Yes the rooms are small but it's amsterdam, how much time you gonna be spending in your room?
Would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordanmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 373 in Amsterdam
742 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#275 of 373 in Amsterdam
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#204 of 373 in Amsterdam
260 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#239 of 373 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hotel

Address: Beurstraat 23, 1012 JV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £50 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travel Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing