We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep”
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Verdi
Ranked #188 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A place to sleep”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

At first positive points: staff is friendly, nice atmosphere in breakfast room, close to museums and midtown.
Disturbed that fan did not work ( in +30 degrees ) , TV was a stampsize, there was a little water cattle in the room, but no spoons, mugs, coffe , tea; walls were kind of dirty with dirty fingerprints, and a cupboard was on the edge to collaps. One hook to hang towels but we were two. It is a HOTEL! Looked more like really cheap B&B, but we used this place only for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eestisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    93
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
43
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Had a nice stay here for Queen's Day. The best value budget hotel that I could find in Amsterdam at a reasonable price for the time I was there - the busiest for many years. The hotel is nice and quiet and my room, although small, was comfortable and warm. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good with an all you want to eat continental buffet. They also have bikes to hire for 12 euros per day. The owners let me leave my luggage on the last day as I had a late flight, while I explored the Rijksmuseum nearby. The 'steep' steps that have been mentioned are not an issue! Typical of every old Dutch house. And the area around the hotel is the nicest in Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

Room Tip: The single room has a shared toilet and shower which are nearby and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djfraybentos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Hotel Verdi is quaint, quiet and warm. The breakfast is decent enough to get you going in the morning. The location was ideal for me, as it is close by several museums, eateries, shopping and Leidesplein. It is a few miles walk to get to the "city center" but that was no problem for me. Great deal for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My flatmate and I had a great stay at Hotel Verdi. We were on a university student's budget so we were not expecting much from the hotel for the price that we payed. However, we were surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly and were able to answer all of our questions, and the rooms, although small, are very clean. The shared bathrooms are also very clean and maintained. We couldn't have asked for a better location! Regardless of where we wanted to go, it was within walking distance or a short tram ride away. I would definitely stay at Hotel Verdi again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel, the owners are very kind and attentive; they always ask how are you and if you need anything. Also, they gave me breakfast even if the breakfast time was over! :) The room where I stayed was small but clean, very warm, and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great because you are close to the Museumplein, and from there you can easily take the tram anywhere you want! (Amsterdam isnt that big haha). Overall great place to spend some days!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleurverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#212 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#192 of 367 in Amsterdam
164 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#114 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#269 of 367 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#108 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,180 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Property: Hotel Verdi
Address: Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Verdi 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing