We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must for Beer Lovers”
Review of In de Wildeman

In de Wildeman
Ranked #4 of 285 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A beer lover's paradise, this Amsterdam institution serves literally hundreds of different kinds.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must for Beer Lovers”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stumbled across In de Wildeman after finding it on TripAdvisor. This was our favorite bar in Amsterdam. Very relaxed atmosphere with awesome local beer options. The bartender was really welcoming and we felt right at home in the eclectic crowd.The prices are reaonsable as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlysiaEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    114
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best bar in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loved the location and selection of beer at In de Wildeman. Friendly staff. Make it a must do on your trip!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jbst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetherby UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DUTCH BEER HEAVEN”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I went to this temple of beer while on a long weekend and founs it to be one of the best if not the best beer pub i have visited in Amsterdam. To be fair belgium is the place to go for beer lovers but this watering hole is a true gem. The brewpubs on the Leidesplein offer a decent range as a conglomerate but to get variety in one place this is the best choice. They have a well thought out range of about 15 brews on tap and loads of bottles. The variety is very good. While i was there i had an Anchor IPA from the USA, a Cantillon geuze from Belgium and a Belgina trappist beer i had never heard of from Chimay. It is easily found just a few blocks from the Central Station.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wetherbyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Start your brown bar tour here.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Probably the best known brown bar and thus often crowded with tourists.
However if you only do one brown bar this is probably the one to do. Say 10 plus beers on tap plus up to 200 in bottles. Some are very strong and there are many tastes. Bar staff are knowledgeable and will guide you.
Good authentic decor and atmosphere if you like it will set you off looking for more brown bars, each with their own special character.
Special note - not a place for pints of Heineken.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhandlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jomala, Aland Islands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“They seeve great tap beer”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When a good Dutch tap beer is served at the right temperature after a long workday it is an experience difficult to beat. Friendly and quick service added to the positive experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed In de Wildeman also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to In de Wildeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing