We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
60
30
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
30
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde pijpbaroque roomfew minutes walkmuseum quartervan goghyogurtlocation is greatcanalrijks
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here in the wintertime. The room we had all the way upstairs was spacious but the bedding was really sub-par for a B&B. The bedding was old and not warm at all (more like staying in someone's iffy old bed in the basement). The bathroom had the shower and toilet all in one little room so everything got wet. I loved the breakfast- you have to make it yourself but there are drinks, eggs, bread, cheeses and spreads so plenty to eat, but nothing fancy. Overall the place was fine since we were out all day, but it was not conducive to romance or great relaxation- just the basics. Also the worst part was that it was very very smoky. All our clothes reaked of cigarette smoke - gross.
Now the neighborhood is really great- two steps from the market and it was great not staying in what may seem like "the center" from the map but actually is NOT the center of the great places to go in the city. There is a place to rent bikes right down the street which we kept for a couple days to bike around (definitely do this- so much fun!) Being along the canal was beautiful and you got to see "real Dutch people" go about their daily business. There was a tram that went directly to our neighborhood from the train station.
So, if you're OK with basics and only care about location, this place is fine. If you expect a little extra comfort and clean, warm bedding, this isn't the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkymiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Me, my sister and my mother stayed at Irene's place around 6 nights and we were extremely pleased with everything. The design of the rooms is adorable and Irene as a host is warm, caring and incredibly friendly. We really liked the fact that we can do our own breakfast from the stuff that she had bought for us; and little things, like the Easter Cake one morning (we stayed there during the Easter), showed us that Irene is a really sweet and thoughtful host. The view from our big room was towards beautiful Rijksmuseum, and all in all the location of the place is just perfect. We really warmly recommend this place to everyone who wants a very pleasant stay in Amsterdam. Thank you so much Irene!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123MT_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week recently. Unfortunately it poured with rain for most of the week but that didn't stop us enjoying Amsterdam and enjoying the quirkiness that is Between Art & Kitsch.
Irene greeted us from the top of the 40 stairs required to climb up to her front door. A bit startling at first but nonetheless a healthy start! Once in we went up another flight to get to the rooms. Yes there is the constant smell of cigarette smoke in the halls & landings but the rooms are non-smoking. As I said - old school.
The bed was very comfy - we were in the largest room at the front with a small kitchenette and en suite. It was spacious but cosy with a TV & free (fast) WiFi. Breakfast was essentially a stocked fridge & plenty of bread in the communal kitchenette on the landing that serves all 3 bedrooms. If you want your breakfast cooked for you, this is not for you. Everyone helped themselves each morning to an array of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, juices, ham, eggs (there are two small rings and a microwave) and a variety of cakes, buns & bread. I must admit that by day 7 we were over this novelty and you had to wait for whoever was making their breakfast to finish before you could attempt to make yours but for short stays, I see nothing wrong with this way of working at all.
Irene, followed by her pretty little white cat, came up regularly to check that we had everything we needed in the kitchen and to offer us snippets of where was good to go & visit, etc. She struck me as very straight forward and helpful which is all you need in a B & B owner really! We were offered different food types to our taste for breakfast, clean towels and regularly asked if everything was ok - a very attentive hostess. The rooms were made-up daily and apart from the odd whiff of cigarette smoke through the floorboards, I can't say anything negative about the whole experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at Between Art and Kitsch over New Year and thought it was great. Irene is such a welcoming host and as it was our first visit to Amsterdam, gave us loads of really useful information about how to get around the city and the various sights. One of the great things about the B&B is that there is a little kitchen for guests to make their own breakfasts; being left to your own devices means you can have breakfast when you like and around your own timetable. The choice of food was excellent too.

The B&B is located in a great part of Amsterdam - there are lots of good bars and restaurants nearby, and the main museums are only a 5 minute walk away. The B&B is great value for the location.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Me and my friend stayed at Irene's b&b over winterbreak 2012 and had the best time ever. She was incredibly welcoming, and made it feel like home. She explained the city and recommended places to go to. I have never had such an amazing experience at a b&b. Breakfast is self served, but you have tons of food to choose from. It is just a wonderful place and I highly recommend it. Also, the location is perfect, RIGHT next to the museum plein, about 15 minutes away walking from Dam Square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews