We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Place to Stay”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stay at the clock room for 5 days and 4 nights. Personally, I am so amaze with the interior of the bnb, it’s so unique and interesting since it has display of Karel’s collection all over the place. You can find interesting stuff right the moment you are entering the bnb (at the foyer). It continues until the stairs, the room and the kitchen. Room was amazing, huge, clean and has a nice little balcony with flowers. Kitchen has been our favorite spot since we can do all the cooking and chatting here. I just love the way things are arranged. You can find lots of kitchen utensils, fridge full of juice, milk, and what makes it better; they actually provide fresh eggs from their little chicken coop at the backyard. So cool! Fauzan, the guy who assist the bnb is really nice, informative and helpful as well. He really help us on many things, such as providing information on favorite places to visit, where to shop and little other things. The location also superb, it is so near to the museumplein and the tram station is just in front of the bnb. Really love the place!

Room Tip: the clock is the biggest, but rooms overlooking the backyard is nice as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shintaagni27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
210
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Quiet location. Just a short walk away from central town madness. The back rooms are very quiet.
The owner Karel is very pleasant, accommodating yet unobtrusive.
Easy bus ride (197) from Schipol Airport. Other trams also within easy walk. Also direct route to Centraal Station.
Kitchen is set up for guests to use. Stocked with essentials to make own breakfast. Also allows you to eat on your schedule. Supermarket with take out 5minutes away. Nice to get a coffee or tea after a day of tripping about town.
The house is original and decor has interesting hip nostalgic collections.
We loved it here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EUCANADIANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

All three rooms have there own character and are decorated with taste. The place is well kept and clean. The kitchen is stocked and equipped with all you need and more for a self-service breakfast. It is conveniently situated; the 3 main Museums are at walking distance (10min), as is the bus stop (5min) for bus n°197 which runs from the airport to town, and the there is a tramway stop right in front of the B&B which will bring you he center. The owner, Karel, was not present at the time but his substitute was very kind, helpful, and not invasive. I now know were to stay If I were to go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Cute, clean and chic B&B the bedroom and bathroom felt much higher quality than the price would make you think.

The owner of The Collector is a super lovely guy who will chat if you want to, but will leave you to it if you're not in the mood.

Great breakfast options with fresh eggs from the hens, fresh fruit - whatever!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allthatkatydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I had a great time at the Collector. The room was large, clean, comfy bed with white comforters. Towel warmer, shower, ( no tub) and sink. A small two person table with free wifi.. .. Best part, cute country kitchen stocked w coffee, eggs, fruit and breakfast stuff. Convenient location...local grocery within walking distance. Close to concertbeuw, musuems, etc. I had great neighboors and a wrought iron balcony with table for two. .
I gave an average because I booked in January for 5 days in March. Thankfully, I checked my reservations two days before leaving and Kaerol realized he made a mistake and overbooked. He had me down for April. I decided to stay at his place for four nights since I was busy with work and did not have time to research places again. We were leavinh for a three week trip. Kaerol kindly offered to find me a place at one of his friends b & b for the fifth night. I was so happy to be on in Amsterdam I assumed he would find a suitable place since he knew other owners.

I should have looked myself. He said he found us a place w a canal view near metro for a 100 euros per night. It was snowing so he dropped us at his friends and sped off. I was appalled when I went upstairs. The room was as big as the collectors bathroom with dingy covers and dirty rug. You had to walk sideways by the bed. The bathroom was a lil bigger. It had a tub. The canal view was gross... a view of trash dumpsters and trash that accumulated at the brick walled-up-end of the canal. Around the corner was the university of Amsterdam. It looked like the lady made as many old dingy dorm rooms as possible out of the flat. Oh I forgot to mention she wanted $100 euros in cash as soon as we walked in the door... I should of known.

It was our last day so we made the best of it by being gone all day at the Hermitage Museum.

Would I refer someone to the Collector yes... Would I trust Kareol ..not so much...

BTW to be fair I asked for a credit due to his error and he took 30 euros off of my bill. According to his body language, he wasn't happy about my request so I said any discount would be appreciated.

Regardless, I still feel I was ripped off since I paid 100 euros in cash and received no receipt for a room that was below standard. Clearly, it was student housing acting as a B&B.

Room Tip: Hear people in kitchen ..... Ok if you are early riser...we had the clock room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ponygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a brillant time at The Collector - it felt like a home from home. The bus from the airport stops outside as does the tram to the city ans I had my 79 year old Mum with me. We were made to feel very welcome and the room was large, with very comfy beds - even a small balcony, though it was too cold to make use of this! The " help yourself breakfast" was such a great idea as you could have your meal whenever you chose - with different breads; cheese; meats; egges; cereal; bacon; jams; yougut; fresh fruit..... We often had a brunch type meal before heading out for the day - and it was so useful being able to bring food back form the supermarket to heat in the microwave as eating out is quite expensive. Would go back and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenkelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was my second stay at the Collector, and for just one night, unfortunately. It’s in a perfect location from which you can walk to many museums and sights. If you’re tired, the trams, including the airport service, are right outside. The rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Both stays, my room has overlooked the garden and there’s a balcony for the summer. It’s great to have the use of the kitchen and for the self serve breakfast, there is a plentiful and high quality selection of food. Karel is kind, considerate and helpful. I hope to return for a longer time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#106 of 367 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#112 of 367 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#8 of 336 in Amsterdam
257 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#4 of 336 in Amsterdam
344 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#20 of 336 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast offers bright, stylish and spacious rooms, each with its distinct own character: one decorated with Amsterdam School (Deco) furniture, the other one with Gispen Dutch Design classics. Both rooms have an ensuite bathroom. There's a guest kitchen for your breakfast around the clock. You will find a well stocked fridge, fresh fruits, a Nespresso coffee machine and lots more. Amenities include bath robes, a hair dryer, toiletries, a safety box, a guest computer to use for internet and email and there's even a bagage storage in case of early arrival or late departure. Here you will be able to freshen up, too. The house dates back to 1914 and is located just behind the Museum square with the Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk Museum. The 17th century canal area is just a 10 minute walk from the B&B. There is direct bus line nearby for transfers from and to the airport. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. You will find those collections in the guest rooms and the rest of the house: unique Dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam
The Collector Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing