We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Loved everything about this B & B, from the crowing rooster in the chicken shed in the lush, green courtyard to the interesting collections of musical instruments, barbie dolls and souvenir spoons. The red and white themed kitchen was well stocked each day with a good variety of items and we weren't restricted to specific breakfast times. The rooms were spacious, airy and tastefully decorated plus we had a balcony which connected our rooms. The location is excellent, a short walk to restaurants , canals and museums plus the convenience of the bus to and from Schipol Airport. High recommended,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dzintra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

For us, the Collector was ideally located, just down the block from Het Concertgebouw and the public bus from/to Schipol Airprort. We bought Museumkaarts and were a short walk from the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk and the Van Gogh museums. We also enjoyed walking to more distant neighborhoods.
Our room was spacious and clean, the bed extremely comfortable; bathroom and shower excellent. Our room and small balcony faced the street. We enjoyed seeing children en route to school and Amsterdamers cycling to work. With the windows closed, it was quiet. Other guests told us their rooms faced the garden.
Karel takes care to place beautiful fresh flowers in the common areas and rooms. We particularly enjoyed being able to make our own breakfasts on our own schedule. Karel keeps the kitchen stocked with fruit, vegetables, bread, cheese, eggs, cereals among other items and he asks you to tell him if there is something missing that he can provide. One day we met him at the local outdoor green market that sets up in the neighborhood every Saturday. When he learned that Andrew really enjoys cheeses, he bought one he especially wanted us to try and bring home with us.
We really felt comfortable at the Collector; Karel was accommodating but not intrusive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herzbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Karel makes Amsterdam feel like a private, unique experience every time I stay. I love the kitsch yet tasteful collections he integrates into the comfortable, spacious rooms. The kitchen is open so 'breakfast' is on your terms in a lovely, casual space as well as a place to grab a snack when you need it.

A great value & location- I'll never stay anywhere else.

We recommend Café Welling and L'Entrecôte et les Dames nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keentravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were very comfortable here. Guests can use the kitchen at any time and Karel is happy for us to use his computer too! he was also happy to tell us anything we wanted to know about Amsterdam. The B&B is conveniently located, being an easy walk to the museums and into the city. We will go back there next time we are in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for one of the back rooms in summer as they are cooler and quieter than the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelixNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you are looking to stay in a 5 star hotel with a personal touch, the Collector is it!
The 3 rooms are all very spacious and clean with a big bathroom. A direct bus from the airport stops 50 meters from the house, the tram right outside. Nevertheless, since you are in Amsterdam, you should rent a bicycle. The short ride to the city takes you trough the rijksmuseum and then along the grachten.
You can have your breakfast whenever you like with eggs from the chicken in the yard and a more than well stocked kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have recently spent 3nts at this lovely b&b . The situation is really good to reach all parts of amsterdam , with the tram near by . It was our 1st visit to amsterdam and we loved it , Karel was very welcoming , and was helpful giving us information on restaurants , taxis etc . During our stay it was my birthday and Karel left some flowers and a happy birthday message in our room , which was a lovely surprise . The room was large and airy with great facilities , including a shared kitchen which was well stocked . If we visited again we would return to this b&b .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukisu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I had the front double room and it is large and comfortable with a little balcony. The trams stop running at a certain hour so it is not noisy. The kitchen is stocked with an abundance of food and it is serve yourself. It is a great formula. I would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#87 of 375 in Amsterdam
972 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 340 in Amsterdam
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 340 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 340 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 340 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast offers bright, stylish and spacious rooms, each with its distinct own character: one decorated with Amsterdam School (Deco) furniture, the other one with Gispen Dutch Design classics. Both rooms have an ensuite bathroom. There's a guest kitchen for your breakfast around the clock. You will find a well stocked fridge, fresh fruits, a Nespresso coffee machine and lots more. Amenities include bath robes, a hair dryer, toiletries, a safety box, a guest computer to use for internet and email and there's even a bagage storage in case of early arrival or late departure. Here you will be able to freshen up, too. The house dates back to 1914 and is located just behind the Museum square with the Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk Museum. The 17th century canal area is just a 10 minute walk from the B&B. There is direct bus line nearby for transfers from and to the airport. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. You will find those collections in the guest rooms and the rest of the house: unique Dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Bed And Breakfast
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing