We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Amsterdam
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Sander(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Omega(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Trianon Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Verdi(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Annemarie Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Alfred Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
378
45
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
45
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bvan gogh museumtram stopguest kitchenshared kitchenfresh flowers in our roommajor museumsfresh fruitthought of everythingrooms are largesmall kitchenperfect place to stayhome away from hometrams and buseseasy walking distancequiet neighborhoodquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 433 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
216
Reviewed 1 December 2005

If you're the type of person who wants to feel as if you're home, even when away from home, you stay at The Collector. My boyfriend and I just returned from Amsterdam two days ago, my intention was to book a couple of days at The Collector, then switch to another hotel closer to town...but the reviews were all so stellar, I decided to book our entire 6 night stay at Karel's place.

I can't say one negative thing about the Collector.

The location is perfect, although it is considered to be in the outer "Museum" area, it's so close to everything. The Tram stop is right out side his door, and tons of other tram stops are around every corner. It's just a ten minute walk to the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum, the famous Concertgebouw is even closer.. and restaurants...sheesh, there are too many! Karel will certainly give you lots of good recommendations.

Karel stocks the fridge with goodies for you to cook with every morning, and you're free to cook whenever you feel like it. We even used his kitchen for our own stuff we bought at the Albert H. market around the corner. The beds are very comfortable, fitted with fluffy white bedding, the rooms have an adjustable heater, balcony and immaculate bathrooms. You get your own key to the front door, so you can come and go as you please.

I'll join everyone else on this review list and say that, for sure, I'll be back to stay at the Collector.

Thank you Karel!
Carolyn

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
218
Reviewed 27 November 2005

Hello,

sorry took so long to get this review up, we stayed at the Collector four nights. Could not have had a better place to stay. We had the first couple of nights of our self, but even once the nice couple from Barcelona arrived the place was quite and very comfortable. Amsterdam is so pretty and everything is so close, even though we were in a suburb, everything was with in walking distance. The rooms were LARGE clean and beautifully decorated. The host Karel is very friendly and helpful if you do not know where or what you want to do, or how to get somewhere. We are plannig on coming back in two years and can't wait. We plan on telling everyone we know who will be traving in the future where to stay.

One of the best treats was on our first day we staying in, because we were so tired and had to leave so early for our train in to Amsterdam. We sat out on the lovely balcony in the back, off our room and saw some green and red-faced wild parrots. It was like being at home in San Francisco, excepts the parrots are smaller with long tails. We had know idea there are wild parrots in Amsterdam.

We will come back everytime we go to Amsterdam.

Thank you,
Sophia & Derek

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Barcelona
113
Reviewed 18 November 2005

We strongly recomend this nice and friendly Bed and Breakfast. We had a very pleasent stay. Very comfortable and practical the kitchen facilities available for all guests. Furthermore Karel is a approachable kind and attentive for his guests' needs. We will return for sure soon. Giuseppe and Andrea Fashion House Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
112
Reviewed 11 November 2005

The Collector is a truly lovely place to stay if you are considering a trip to Amsterdam. We stayed for four days, (the same time as the couple from Portugal!)
Karel is a marvellous host and provides wonderful accommodation, a full fridge, relaxed atmosphere and superb rooms.
All in all I would highly recommend this to anyone - indeed I haven't stopped recommending it since I got home!
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
19
Reviewed 9 November 2005

The Collector B&B is designed and maintained with the guest in mind! It could not have been more convenient, is in a safe neighborhood and has easy access to restaurants and shopping. Karel, the host, enjoys taking care of his guests and enjoys meeting them. He made our stay even more delightful than we expected. Read the reviews from Newport, OR - we breakfasted with these guests and others, extemporaneously, during our stay. The place just invites gemuetlichkeit. Karel keeps a computer at the guests' disposal and our own kitchen, stocked with breakfast goodies, but also available for storing and making anything you need during the rest of the day. We highly recommend this lovely B&B.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews