We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
NH Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
379
45
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
45
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bvan gogh museumtram stopguest kitchenshared kitchenfresh flowers in our roommajor museumsfresh fruitthought of everythingrooms are largesmall kitchenperfect place to stayhome away from hometrams and buseseasy walking distancequiet neighborhoodquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2010

It was a lovely Bed and Breakfast. The room was spaciouse and clean, Bed was very comfortable. We got fresh towels everyday. Nice, clean toilet and shower room. the kitchen was well stocked with food and drinks. We made our own breakfast every morning and even had fresh eggs. The owner is a very friendly dutch man, very helpfull and gave us lots of tips and ideas.. All in all it was a lovely stay in Amsterdam. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We had a wonderful time at The Collector Bed and Breakfast. It is in a nice neighborhood near the Van Gogh museum, Rieksmuseum, and Concertbauw. The owner, Karel, went way out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. He stocks the kitchen with great foods for breakfast (you prepare your own at your leisure) and you can use the kitchen for other meals as well. The rooms are large and sunny. Karel even has a computer you can use (for free) to check email or research points of local interest. I can't recommend it highly enough. If I am ever back in Amsterdam (which I sincerely hope to be) I will definitely stay here again. It was perfect. If you are a lighter sleeper you may wish to ask for a room in the back of the house; there is some street noise in the morning that can be heard in the front room. All rooms come with a balcony. It was an absolutely great choice; thanks to Tripadvisor to leading me to this terrific B and B!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlfromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We found this bed & breakfast on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try since the reviews seemed good. We arrived really early, before 8 in the morning, and were prepared to wait outside if the proprieter wasn't up yet, but he answered the door on the first ring to let us in.

After getting the suitcases in the front door, we followed Karel up to the small kitchen on the first floor where we had coffee and relaxed for a bit. Our room was still occupied and so we decided to go out and have a look around before checking in. We ended up taking in the Rijksmuseum and having a light lunch before heading back to The Collector at about 2pm. By this time our room was ready and Karel had taken care of the ardous task of getting our suitcases up the narrow staircase to the room. (Narrow staircases are a fact of life in Amsterdam, so if you are planning a visit you should be prepared for this.)

Our room was fairly large and comfortable with its own attached bathroom, a TV and a balcony overlooking a small garden at the back of the house. The beds were really great to sleep in and there was plenty of hot water for showering. We really enjoyed our room!

From The Collector, we were within walking distance to the museums and the entertainment district and a short tram ride away from Dam Square and other Amsterdam attractions.

Another thing which made The Collector a really nice place to stay in was Karel himself. He really pays attention to little things to make sure guests have a pleasant stay. We made our own breakfast in the little kitchen where Karel provides a selection of bread and a fridge stocked with cheese, jam, yoghurt, orange juice, milk and little packets of butter. There are also eggs from his very own chickens which he keeps in the back garden - lovely fresh eggs for breakfast, how yummy is that?

At the end of our stay, we each got a small gift set of toiletries and a red pen to take home with us. But best of all we got to take home a really nice B&B experience with a really nice gentleman who was a great host during our short stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbadada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My adult son and I stayed at the Collector from June 13 to June 20. We came to (a) explore Amsterdam via bicycle and (b) watch as much of World Cup soccer as possible (with local fans in bars or pubs). On both accounts we had a marvelous trip.

We selected the Collector after extensive on-line research of other accommodations in the area and found that the excellent reviews were accurate. Karel Poels is the perfect host, extremely helpful in answering almost any question about Amsterdam and always cordial. The rooms are sunny and spacious. Our room overlooked the back garden with Karel's prize chickens (which provide wonderful eggs in addition to entertaining viewing from the balcony). Our bathroom had a great shower and also was roomy. Wi-Fi is available and easy to access. Plus, there are only three guest rooms, so competition for the kitchen and the noise level were minimal.

Breakfast is serve-yourself from a very well stocked larder in a well appointed kitchen (everything from local cheeses, rolls, and fresh eggs to cereals and always lots of fresh fruit). Some of the guests even made their dinners in the kitchen, which is a plus.

As American visitors, we were a bit apprehensive about the language barrier. We quickly learned that English is spoken fluently by almost everyone. Also, as we had heard, the Dutch are super friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.

Our major problem in Amsterdam was finding our way around on our bikes. The Collector is located withing easy walking distance to the Rijks and the Van Gough museums (must sees), but beyond that, we found that negotiating the streets with frequently changing names and going over and around canals was a bit challenging. The up side is that we saw a lot of Amsterdam that we would not otherwise have seen. We also learned that it is ok to ride without a helmet, something we would not dream of doing in the U.S.

In short, my son and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Amsterdam and fully recommend the Collector as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fadeseran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We were fortunate to stay at Karels B & B last week.
Accommodation was clean, the bed was very comfortable everthing needed was provided.
Karel stocked the fridge every day, and would provide additional items if you requested them.
Tram stops right outside, B & B well placed for sightseeing.
Highly recommended we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews