We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here with my partner and four friends for a long weekend in Amsterdam. We decided to stay here rather than a large hotel, we weren't in anyway disappointed.

The hotel is literally less than five minutes from Central Station. Started off with Wimmo welcoming us into his private part of the house, he sat down with us and gave us all coffee, he asked where we wanted to g & highlighted every where on a large map for us, and also pointed out some of his recommendations. Told us if we needed anything to go to him, gave us his private numbers in case of an emergency. Wimmo made every effort to accomodate us, we arrived early (around 9am) and although our bedrooms weren't ready at the time, Wimmo still found a place for us to keep our bags safe whilst we went off exploring. If you're worried about the cat don't worry - he's very very friendly! You're given a set of keys to all parts of the house, so there's no worry if you want to roll in at 4am! (we didn't we were very well behaved).

Everyone said their bed was comfortable, as was ours, I found my pillow a little too soft, but I like a very firm pillow - and Wimmo did say when checking in if we didn't like anything, or needed different pillows or towels etc just to let him know, I didn't ask, so it's my own fault!

We and another couple stayed in a patio room which were well appointed, and we recieved breakfast in bed (orange juice, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, omlette, toast, butter, jam). Another couple with us stayed in the Buddha room, their room was excellent really pretty inside, they didn't get breakfast in bed, but had to help themselves to breakfast in the upstairs kitchen, we had a sneaky look in the fridge one morning it was stacked with cut meats, cheese, fruit, milk etc, then there were lots of cereals, and a Nespresso coffee machine, I can't recommend the Nespresso machine enough, I'm a big fan.

Overall I'd recommend anyone to stay here. We're usually a couple that would stay in a bigger, much more expensive hotel (with work I usually stay in the Sofitel or somewhere similar), but we really enjoyed the personal touch provided by Wimmo & Godwin & think we'll be back.

All in all we found the B&B was very well located - the only thing we bothered getting a tram to was the Bols Experience, everything else we were happy walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    130
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
432
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Unbelievable location, easy walk to Centraal and Red Light District, but not so close that you need to put up with noise.
Just one street off High Street and plenty of coffee shops, but not at all sleazy.
This is in a residential area, so it's lovely and quiet. Close to supermarkets and laundromats.

The owners are lovely and welcoming, plus they have a cat, so we were happy.

The 2 units next door do not get breakfast, which I didn't know, but it's not a big deal.
The main rooms have an incredible amount of steep stairs, so be aware if you have back or knee issues and stay in the apartments instead.

I couldn't imagine a better place to stay in Amsterdam. I've known so many people who choose to stay in the wrong area and have a bad experience of this city.

We can whole heartedly recommend Barangay.

Room Tip: One of the apartments has no windows at all, just a sun roof, and the main rooms have lots of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed three nights at Barangay in late June, mainly so that we could see Pearl Jam at the Ziggo Dome. We picked the Barangay out of a myriad of Amsterdam B&Bs decause of the cats, and we weren't disappointed. The Barangay is only a 5 minute walk from Centraal Station, and we packed light, so it was an easy trip across Prins Henrikkade.

We arrived around 10 p.m., after a short flight from Glasgow. (Love EasyJet!) Wimmo was there to greet us and give us a cup of tea and some chocolate, as well as an orientation of Amsterdam. As we hadn't eaten supper, Wimmo gave us directions to the delightful Toscana Ristorante just around the corner on Haarlemmerstraat, where we shared a large pizza for 8 euros.

We had a room downstairs in the main building, which was really cozy and comfortable. Wimmo and/or Godwin had set up the bath towels on the bed like a pair of swans. There was a small flat screen television attached to the wall. The room itself was a bit cramped due to the size of the bed, but we certainly didn't mind, due to the privacy which the room afforded. We had our own bathroom, which was not attached to the room, but just down the hall. The coloured lights in the shower head were great!

We had breakfast brought to us in the morning, and what breakfasts they were! So much food that we had to reluctantly leave some - crepes, meusli, delicious omlettes, fresh fruit - a true cornucopia of gustatorial delight. In addition to the delicious breakfast, we were visited by "Flip," one of the two Barangay cats. After begging for food, which we couldn't give him, as he's on a restricted diet, Flip curled up on our bed and went to sleep.

The Barangay is close to all the action in Amsterdam, but is on a quiet side street. We walked all over the city, and found our way to the Ziggo Dome for two Pearl Jam concerts.

We were really sad to leave the Barangay, as Wimmo and Godwin are wonderful people and wonderful hosts. We have no hesitation in recommending Barangay to anyone visiting Amsterdam. For what you pay, you get a lot more than you would in the finest of hotels.

One caveat - when we checked out, we were billed an extra four percent on top of our total bill. I figured that this was a local tax, and didn't have the presence of mind to ask what it was for. I later found that this was a supplementary charge for paying by credit card, but I had deliberately paid by cash to avoid any extra charges. It was only 16 euros, but as I'm from Scotland, it still rankles.

We'll return to the Barangay next time we're in Amsterdam, but I'll be sure not to pay the extra four percent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runrig_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at the Barangay for a long weekend as a group of three and all fell in love with it! We arrived very late and Ed stayed up to wait for us and gave us a tour. He was so helpful, showing us a map of the area and where to go, what to see etc. We had the room on the mid level opposite the kitchen and it was lovely. The tropical theme is amazing and really gives extra character to the place. The room is really spacious and had everything we needed. The breakfast the next morning was also amazing and loved the fact that you could wander in and help yourself, make your own eggs etc. The steps are very steep but we saw this everywhere we went in Amsterdam, you just need to take care.

The street parallel to the Barangay was full of bars, restaurants and cute shops and there was a food festival on when we got there the next day. Location wise I would say Barangay is perfect - there was no hustle and bustle as its on a quiet side street and yet Centraal station is a 5-10 minute walk away and shops and restaurants around the corner.

Wimmo and Godwin were very helpful and friendly, we didn't get to meet them until we checked out as we were so busy but they were really welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Overall our stay was lovely and I cant recommend it enough to anyone looking for a beautiful comfy room central to the action but is still nice and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmaine87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just returned from another great trip to Barangay. It was a bit of a last minute decision to go to Amsterdam and we were given the last available room at Barangay - the South Tropical Room. This is a room without a view but it does have a skylight for a little fresh air however, it is a delightful room, very comfortable, with two double beds and a large bathroom and lets be honest, when visiting Amsterdam one doesn't expect to spend a lot of time in the room other than to sleep! Everything is provided from shampoo and shower gel to TV and a Nespresso coffee machine and whilst there are no facilities to make breakfast it is possible to go next door into Barangay itself and for a small charge you can have a sumptuous breakfast there. For those people desperate for a view, Wimmo has created two 'windows' with a delightful tropical theme. We love Barangay and the location - it's close enough to 'the action' but far enough away to be peaceful and on the edge of a delightful 'local' area that has a village atmosphere. I should really stop recommending Barangay just in case they don't have room for me next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

we had a great stay here.. the location was excellent and wimmo and godwin were great hosts! be warned - the stairs are treacherous! if you're arriving by train with significant luggage, may wish to take only whats needed for your trip and leave the rest in the station luggage lockers!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkkshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Bc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Recently stayed at the B&B for 3 nights. I had researched for a B&B back in March and the reservation link on the internet was easy and response was within 24 hours. Pre-booking information was very concise and helped immensely after our arrival in Amsterdam. The information/pictures on the web are exactly what you can expect which was very reassuring. We were greeted upon early arrival by Ed who was very welcoming and full of information. He quickly answered all our queries and provided a city map upon he quickly marked the itemized places. We had the 2 upper rooms and I personally loved the front room we had. A lovely breeze flowed into the room when the window was open. I was warned about the steep curved stairs but did not truly appreciate that until I actually saw them and now can truly wonder how Ed managed to get our big bags up there. We shared the bathroom with the other upper room which was okay since we were family. Each room had a small fridge which we always appreciate to keep drinks cold, etc. The breakfast was ample European style with meats, cheese, fruit, yogurt plus other breakfast staples plus you could cook eggs in the quaint kitchen/breakfast room. If you needed something else, all you had to do was ask. Everything was clean and the decor was creative throughout. I loved the location close to the Centraal Station, Jordaan area and really everywhere was easily walkable. Close by are supermarkets too. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Keep in mind the steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing