We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls weekend away and birthday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Viagrande, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Girls weekend away and birthday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Oh where to start, they are soo amazing, The location is five min from the train station and walking or biking from everything!! I love the rooms, the hospitalitiy is great!! So happy I will tell everyone to stay here!! They were great to get a surprise present and wine for my friends birthday while we were out!! They really care! Loved it and totally safe for gals to go out all night together and have a wonderful place to freshen up!! They know about all the off the beaten path places to go! Have discount tickets and the apartment with a kitchen is perfect for up to five people!! Price right and perfect! Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Easy to get there from the train to and from airport!! There are many units we had the one room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejennifer4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    129
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
80
429
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Västerås, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Great location with an awesome staff. Maybe a 10-15 min walk from the train station. When we got in we were offered tea and coffee which perked us up after our travels from Sweden. We stayed in the Buddha Temple Room which was a trip.Perfect for 3 people. Breakfast wont blow your mind, but it has everything you need. Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

we stayed last week and had a great time. the host was everything that has been said before and more. very helpful, with a great sense of humour! its not particularly cheap but then again its a major city so everywhere is expensive, and the welcome was unique and made you feel like you were with old friends. on the practical side for the ladies ..there was an excellent hairdryer in the room. ( i had hauled mine with me because it hadnt been mentioned in previous reviews) and shower gel etc in the bathroom and with most people just taking hand luggage this saves all the hassle. we loved the smoking area as we could just nip out our patio doors into it and it was a lovely area to sit in. the weather is freezing and a hat and scarf are definately needed. there are lovely restaurants in the street behind that were very reasonable and the food delicious. we tried Harlem and had lunch in Stout ..both really good. All in- it was a great trip and a really lovely central place to stay. I wouldnt use anywhere else if I went back and hope they continue to be as good as they are. Well done guys!

Room Tip: smokers are best downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastJanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in Nov. Room - moderately sized, clean, well presented with shared patio for smokers. Small fridge, TV, WIFI, tea and coffee facilities. Private though separate bathroom. Service - EXCELLENT! On arrival offered a welcome drink, hosts sat down with us for 15 minutes detailing all major sites on the map, giving restaurant/cafe/attraction suggestions. Happy to hold our bags on the last day for our late flight. Breakfast in our room delicious, generous and very well presented. Location - EXCELLENT! 5 min walk from central station, 1 block from a retail street full of restaurants/cafe/supermarkets/shops. Would stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The website talks of the world famous breakfast – this was self- service, in the fridge there were a few slices of processed cheese, plastic (reconstituted) ham, sliced cucumber and tomato plus a few eggs to could cook them yourself. With a kettle to boil water and a coffee machine this was about as basic as it gets.

The rooms are all over the place, some in the basement, others in a flat upstairs and yet another a couple of rooms off the landing. There is no sense of being in a small house as is often the case with B&Bs. The photography was excellent, the reality perhaps not quite as good. The bed was uncomfortable, both the mattress and “linen” were cheap and low quality and there wasn’t a comfortable chair to sit in, though there was plenty of room for one, or even two, of them.

On the plus side: it was clean; the one staff person I saw was friendly and tried to help; it was very convenient for the station and the canals.

But overall not that good and certainly not worth the inflated price.

Room Tip: I'd stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimmo, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, 29 January 2017
I regret that this guest had different expectations.
We do our best and we are proud of the many good reviews, but it is hard to please everyone.
We have high quality mattresses and they are definitely not cheap. The linen is made of 100% cotton or cotton-silk. The towels are hotel-quality thick cotton towels. On regular bases we renew the mattresses, linnen and towels.
Each room has 2 chairs! ( look at the pictures)
In 2012 there were 2 rooms per floor, now (2017) we have 2 rooms on the lowest floor and 2 rooms on the highest floor. Since 2016 we serve a wonderful breakfast in the guest rooms. We closed our breakfast kitchen.
We hope to welcome you soon in our Tropical hide-away!
Regards,
Wimmo


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

What a great way to start our trip in Europe. A quick train ride from the airport and a five-minute walk from the train station to this excellent B&B. It proved a perfect location to walk everywhere and we did! The hosts were lovely and very informative. We were able to go straight to our room at 10 am, armed with our maps and info from Wimmo. Loved the breakfast room and our bedroom and bathroom were spotless! As we checked out, we had another sit-down post mortem with Wimmo and Godwin and they were genuinely interested to hear of our experience in Amsterdam. At our next hotel in Bruges, my son was disappointed not to receive the same gracious welcome.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Loved the top floor front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Easy access from train station. Welcoming staff with a drink. Gave Amsterdam info. Attic room was huge and spotless along with the bathroom. Internet and self-serve breakfast was very good. Highly recommend. Mabuhay!

Room Tip: Attic room was seculded and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing