We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most friendly inn-owners ever met!”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Most friendly inn-owners ever met!”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I chose this accommodation for its location (central, on a quiet street) and for the good ratings. But not only: the reviews I saw spoke about the owners and they very special way to receive their guests.
From the first contact with them (it was on the phone) they was so friendly! We met them some days after and the offer me an espresso in their warm living room, we spoke about Amsterdam , about what to do, where to go. They were very attentive at our requirements, they understood our concerns and we are separate 3 days later as friends. I will come back in their B&B absolutely!
Rooms are clean and decorated in the colonial/ tropical style. The breakfast offers the complete, the real experience of an original Dutch breakfast. The rooms are equipped with expresso machine but also all you need for making a tea or an instant coffee. The room was good heated and the cleaning is made every day.
Dear Wilmo and Goodwin, tropical thanks for everything! It was great...

Room Tip: Some few rooms have private bathrooms, but outside of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    130
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
432
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Was a relaxed and quirky place with a lot of character! Had a lovely welcome upon arrival, was offered a drink and a much needed map and then shown to our room. Nice location, very central, didn't use any public transport the whole time we were there as everything was walking distance away. Breakfast was lovely, was a good idea being left to cook whatever we wanted with lots of food supplied and laid out beautifully in the kitchen and the kitchen was open till late morning (11am), so was able to have a lie in which made a change from your average hotel. I found it difficult to choose accommodation when looking at the vast amount of faceless hotels in Amsterdam, they all looked a bit samey and expensive, however Barangay offered a more personal and interesting accommodation experience.

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in the Buddha temple room, in which the bed was to die for! Very very comfy, spacious and lovely bathroom with a large bath and shower.

Great value for money, a right little gem.

Would highly recommend Barangay to everyone and anyone. Made our trip to Amsterdam even better and will definitely stay here again next time we visit without a doubt! Thanks to everyone at Barangay for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My two friends and I decided last minute to go to Amsterdam for New Year's...By which point everything was either booked or the prices were like double. Barangay had gotten some good reviews, so I sent them a message. They told me that they didn't have any space, but set us up with a friend of theirs who had an apartment to rent. We signed in at the B&B, which was lovely by the way...And they were so nice, had a nice chat about the city and he gave us their cell numbers in case we needed anything. The apartment we went to was beautiful as well. All in all, it was a really lovely stay and I intend to stay at the B&B next time I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I easily found B&B Barangay, and the location (5 minutes from Central station) is close enough to the center of city, but still on a quiet street.
We had an amazing experience from the moment we entered the B&B. We were met with a warm smile and offered a drink and a seat in the living room. Wilmo spent a good amount of time explaining the city to us. He asked us what we had planned, what we wanted to do/see and then gave us his favorite restaurant and bar suggestions. We tried almost everything he suggested, and we had a wonderful time in Amsterdam. Since we live about three hours away from the city, we are already planning a trip back. We will only visit when we can get a room at B&B Barangay! We have not stayed at any other places, but I cannot imagine any other place could be better than this darling little tropical getaway in the midst of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer you breakfast in bed. I hear that is a lovely option if you're intereste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanamarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

He said us that we must call before the check-in, and we send 3 emails with the confirmation. He responded to our emails but he didnt remember the emails. After them, he was arrogant and rude all day. There is cat hair in everywhere. The filipinos of the B&B are friendly and educated, unfortunately the manager no. Keep calm and be more polite with customers when you have any problem with you booking system. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
I was really surprised when this review came in 4 months later.
We do not ask our guests to call us, we know at what time our guests check-in, this is also written in the confirmation.
We do not have a manager! and of course me and Wimmo are not rude and arrogant to our guests, why should we? ( see other reviews)
In september 2012 we had 1 cat in our private living room, it is impossible that there are cat hair everywhere. The cat has no acces to the other floors and also not to the guest rooms.
I would be not surprised if this person stayed in an other B&B...(?)

Godwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Spent 3 nights in this cozy B&B, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We haven't tried any other Amsterdam B&B's, so can't compare, but I can't imagine anywhere else could be any better. Breakfast is do-it-yourself, with a full kitchen and normal ingredients available. Wilmo is as friendly and helpful a host as can be imagined. Kyle, who works there part time, a trained masseuse, gives a WONDERFUL full body massage - better than any shipboard spa for 1/2 the price. Their website warns you that the stairs are steep and narrow - they were a real challenge for my size twelves. But the spacious, quiet and comfortable tropical room was worth the climb. Great central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viagrande, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Oh where to start, they are soo amazing, The location is five min from the train station and walking or biking from everything!! I love the rooms, the hospitalitiy is great!! So happy I will tell everyone to stay here!! They were great to get a surprise present and wine for my friends birthday while we were out!! They really care! Loved it and totally safe for gals to go out all night together and have a wonderful place to freshen up!! They know about all the off the beaten path places to go! Have discount tickets and the apartment with a kitchen is perfect for up to five people!! Price right and perfect! Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Easy to get there from the train to and from airport!! There are many units we had the one room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejennifer4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing