We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B in a top-notch location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in a top-notch location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is by far the best B&B I've stayed. The location is second to none, just two blocks from Amsterdam Central Station (very convenient), and very close to the City Center, but it is still in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are very very friendly and helpful. They offer you a welcome drink, give you a map and explain to you about the city and the best places to go. The room is very comfortable, clean and new. We had one with in suite toilet, on the top floor (a tropical suite I guess he called it). Decoration is beautiful, specially the kitchen, where you have your breakfast (you make it yourself, which makes you feel kinda at home). On the downside, only to mention the stairs which are very steep, but they help you with your luggage to carry it upstairs. But every house in Centrum Amsterdam has that kind of steps.
I will definitely stay here if I go back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank federoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    129
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
80
429
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at Barangay for 3 nights in June last year (2012). We arrived at the b&b after a super early flight with a friend and were anxious about leaving her outside while we checked in. No need for any worry, she was invited in along with us and made to feel immediately welcome. We all had a welcome drink (very much needed at this point) and a chat where our hosts seemed to pick up on our personalities straight away and were able to pinpoint areas that we would like and point of interest.

We were shown to our room which was up some typical steep Amsterdam stairs (as noted on the website) and were blown away by the size of it - I think it was the Upper Masters Tropical Room. A huge luxurious comfortable bed, loads of character, extra seating ... and a pristinely clean shower room and toilet right outside our door. We immediately felt at home.

The kitchen was just across from our room, where you could help yourself to loads of different types of food for breakfast, and has an impressive coffee machine. It was quite lovely to sit there every morning and decide what to eat - pastries, eggs, cold meats, cheese, cereal, toast, fruit etc. So much to choose from .. and with the added bonus of being able to chat to other guests at breakfast.

In terms of location it is perfect - on a quiet street yet only 10 mins walk from the train station (max). We like walking so it was perfect that we could walk to most of the attractions. The b&b is situated in the Jordaan area which is near to the canals, to bars, to a lovely park ... so much is on your doorstep so its great for exploring.

We will definitely be going back!

Wimmo & Godwin were perfect hosts - they helped us with our plans and provide excellent accommodation

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlevic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We chose Barangay on the basis of the reviews on this site and were very glad that we had done so. It is conveniently close to Centraal Station and the city centre. The hosts are clearly characters; very welcoming and very helpful. We had the tropical red room, one of the few with en suite facilities. We were in Amsterdam during a heatwave and the room was hot, but in our view that's still better (with its fan) than air-conditioning. The self-service breakfast offered plenty of scope and suited us. The free wifi was of a much higher standard than at many hotels. We patronised all three restaurants recommended to us, each of which was excellent. We would certainly go back, but potential guests do need to read the very fair warning on the website about the steepness of the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in this B&B prior to our bike/barge vacation. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Very convenient location. The owners are very helpful and accomodating. Very nice (make it yourself) breakfast options including cereals, breads, croissants, eggs, meats, cheeses, yogurt, more. We liked being able to have breakfast on our schedule.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcoupleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed about a week, before and after an Amsterdam River Cruise. We found our hosts anxious to make our stay at the B&B and the overall Amsterdam experience first-class. Wimmo and Goodwin were charming and helpful with personalized tips and help with travel. Their choice of a taxi for our departure was perfect - efficient and not expensive. Do ask for and take their advice. This is not a fancy accommodation. The decorations are 'eclectic/bizarre' and our travel companions had some trouble with the not so soft mattress in the basement.

Yet it was a good value and close to the Main Station.

I would happily return.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are up typical narrow winding stairs. Difficult to negotiate heavy/bulky luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Godwin, one of the owners, did a great job in settling us in and calming us down, following a traumatic experience on the train from the airport when my wife's purse was stolen. After a very helpful briefing we were taken to our ground floor mini-suite which was most comfortable, overlooked a tiny illuminated garden and had a spacious ensuite shower room. Barangay is very convenient being located only 5 minutes on foot from Amsterdam Central Station, and even being light sleepers, we didn't notice any noise from the adjacent street! Room decor is fun and the delicately folded towels make a good display. The breakfast, taken in the shared kitchen, provided us with an excellent choice of food and drinks to start off the day. The free Wi-Fi had a fast signal and overall we enjoyed our stay and the hospitality received.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our hosts were friendly and helpful. Their advice helped us to cut through some of the things that take you a while to work out when you are new to a city.... Museums, shopping, laundry, supermarket, night life etc. the room was located perfectly, near the centre of Amsterdam and near the Central Railway station. We loved that it was self contained and could cook a meal or two after many weeks of travelling. Really helped Amsterdam to feel like home for a few days.

Room Tip: Location, location, location. Ring or email and see whether you get a prompt and helpful response. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing