We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant journey!”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

At the Barangay you will find a big hospitality and a very warm and clean ambient. People are friendly and kind, the only thing I did not appreciate too much is the of 20,00 Euro if you arrive after the 6 pm, all the other things was simply wonderful and perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis
2  Thank acsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thanks very much for your lovely review!!

We would just like to explain about late check-in and how to avoid the surcharge.

If you book directly via our own web site, there is never a 20 euro sur-charge if you arrive after 6pm.
If you make a ( last minute) booking via an internet booking website, you can read the check-in policies before you book. ( we have to pay these booking sites 15% commission)

Often we give 25% to 35% discounts for last minute bookings, but.. you have to check-in before 6pm. ( It is possible that we have appointments in the evening already)
We advise you to use our site, and you can always check-in till 10pm without a surcharge!

Hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Wimmo & Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Located just a few minutes walk from the train station and within easy walking distance of all the main areas of Amsterdam, this B&B is a great place to explore Amsterdam from.

We stayed in one of the en-suite rooms next to the main B&B. The room was underground, so did not have a view, but this was not too much of a problem as the room itself is decorated very nicely. Very quiet, didn't hear a thing from anyone else in all the time that we stayed.

The freely available nespresso machine in the room is great, as is the huge TV.

Breakfest is a self-service buffet available until 11:30 (a very civilised time for breakfast indeed!) and had the usual continental choice of cheese and cold meats, with croissants, yoghurt and the option to boil an egg if you wish.

The owners are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome, and on the last day allowed us to leave our bags there until late. There is no reception desk, so you need to let them know what time you will be arriving so that someone will be there to welcome you and give you your keys. Not too much of a problem at all.

Not completely sure about the price as we booked last minute so we had little choice, but this B&B fitted inside our budget and included breakfast which was a bonus. Best deals are from contacting them directly if you have a bit more time to look around and get prices.

Overall a very good B&B and somewhere I would definitely consider visiting again if I am back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

On Trip Advisor's site for this B&B it clearly is stated 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms for the one night we requested, for $107. But when we used links to confirm and pay for our reservation, and after havingt sent a detailed Email, price went up to Euros 136, and then we phoned and were quoted Euros 138. We complained and said we would not make the reservation. On phone owner said we had used another server/site and that room was no longer available, and he then quoted Euros 138 for a triple room.

Room Tip: Beware of various sites for this B&B. It just might be better to telephone them and get a less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Unhappy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

This is the mail we wrote to Mr. Unhappy 200

Dear "Unhappy",

I just want to let you know that we are very upset that you rated us "terrible" only because you wanted to book a TRIPLE ROOM for the price of our cheapest double room. We only answered your inquiry and offered you our master upper (triple) room.

We are running our B&B for 15 years, but this never happened. Our prices are very clear on our site or on one of the many booking sites. We also advertise on many other sites and often on those sites you see a price for the cheapest double room. You wanted to come with 3 persons!

We are surprised why you don't understand that not every room has the same price and that sometimes the room you prefer is booked by someone else.


On the Tripadvisor site are no prices, for available rooms and correct prices we gave you a link to our own site.

I do understand it is a big misunderstanding, but to rate us "terrible" ?? We hope you consider to remove or adjust your review.

Best regards,

Wimmo ( also very unhappy)
Barangay B&B

Later he replied and wrote us we can take of the "terrible" Unfortunately we can not do that our selfs.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

great location, took the red room and couldnt have been happier. beautiful view over the rooftops. the hosts were kind and full of information. breakfast was generous and tasty. shame i only spent one night, but will be back soon ! definitely would recommend over hotels in amsterdam, as they tend to be overpriced and underwhelming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zakkutner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

All the staff are really friendly and helpful and the place is immaculate. You can tell these guys really take pride in their B&B! I loved the breakfast in the morning where we could help ourselves to whatever we wanted in the kitchen. The breakfast food was varied and tasty and the coffee machine was super duper! Just what you need to set you up for a day sight seeing! We felt really taken care of, whilst having our privacy fully respected. We had access to the pc too, which was always available whenever I needed to use it. The B&B is perfectly located being right by the central station and at a walking distance from the town centre.
The only down side is that the room we had faced the road and it was super noisy. Without earplugs I would have woken up all the time.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you are going to be alongside the road. The rooms are each equipped with a fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FritesandGravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Our street is a small residential street without cafe's, restaurants etc. Normally it is very quiet. But it can happen that on some nights you hear something.
Here the good news!! At the end of the year (2013) the rooms at the street side will have sashes ( 2nd set of windows) so you can sleep like a baby.

Wimmo & Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is an excellent B and B. Friendly hosts, great breakfast and good location. The bathroom was not in our room (think it might have been renovated since so perhaps it now is) but it was for our exclusive use only and was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickle191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our second time at Barangay and we will definitely be going back again. The welcome is warm and the hospitality great. We stayed in the patio rooms both times - we love the breakfast in bed.
The location is perfect - a short walk from the station but also in a lovely area of central Amsterdam. Take some time to walk around near the B&B and you will find some fab bars.
Thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: If you don't need to be up and out early, we recommend the patio rooms where you will get breakd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#4 of 338 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £113 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing