We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our lives!!”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend in January and i have to say it was the most perfect b&b ever! Felt so at home! The place was oozing with personality and our host Ed was lovely. Great location, walking distance to everything and the room was fantastic! The breakfast is great with access to everything you could possibly want. If you're looking for somewhere to stay i can't imagine a better choice. Favourite holiday ever! We loved Barangay and will most definitely be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, General Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

hallo KERI.
thanks a million for such a lovely review. i am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that i have been a really nice host to you. also great for the owners godwin & wimmo to read that i took great care of the b&b while they were in vacation.
hopefully you will meet them the next time your stay with Barangay.
we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
btw, we just have renovated our lovely kitchen and it is much bigger ( 2x ) but not less cosier. again, my deep appreciation for taking the time in writing this review.
kindest regards, eds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent four nights here and couldn't have been more pleased. We arrived from an overnight flight and were given our room by 10:30 am, which we really appreciated. Self-serve breakfast is available in a large, modern kitchen and includes enough of a variety of foods to suit anyone. The B & B is located within walking distance to the Central Train Station, and just around the corner is one of the best streets for shopping and dining. Wimo and Godwin were friendly and helpful, providing us with a map where they highlighted all the don't miss spots. If we make it back to Amsterdam we will stay here.

Room Tip: We chose the room that is not in the main building because it was spacious and had only a few stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in Amsterdam and we were a part of that picture. Thanks for the time in writing your review. We are glad your like our brand new kitchen.

Indeed, our new kitchen has really been a great success. Very spacious for everyone to enjoy preparing their own breakfasts. The choice of sitting intimately on your own table or sitting ( as most guests do ) on the long table to meet and share your travel/amsterdam experience with other guests of Barangay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and a million appreciation for recommending us highly. Tropical regards, W&G, Eds, Billy & Bossy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Barangay for two nights in March 2014. Their website accurately describes their facility and location. The house is an old walk up with steep, narrow stairs. It would challenge anyone with mobility concerns. The location is great. It is an easy walk from the train. Breakfast was varied. Both hosts and staff were helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,468,933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for writing your honest opinion.
We always try to be as clear as possible with the facilities/services we offer. We are happy to know that you got the service you expected.

Indeed, our B&B / house is a typical Amsterdam building and has steep winding stairs. This building was built in 1777 and has a protected monument/heritage status. With it comes some restrictions in any renovations we are allowed to make.

Notwithstanding, the services we offer and the facilities are contemporary and all modern.
We look forward to welcoming you again and your friends and your family... he hehe.

Regards from tropical family of barangay, godxxx
++ Eds & Wimmo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a lovely stay! Great location, facilities and excellent support from the staff. I fell slightly ill on the last day of my trip and got whatever I needed from the staff. Will certainly stay here next time I'm in Amsterdam.Thank you so much :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks for honest review.
We are happy to know that we were able to be of service to your needs and that you still have a good time even though you were feeling sick.
It gives great pleasure to read reviews of our guests who appreciate our kind service.
Til next time around. Tropical regards, godxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Room Tip: Room was actually a MINIAPARTAMENT, equipped with 2 TV, a full kitchenette (coffee maker, fridge, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Dumitru C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Godwin Dumagat Y, General Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2014

For my second stay, I opted for the apartment next door so was able to prepare my own meals when needed and the extra space worked out well as the trip was a mix of personal and business. The hosts were spectacularly helpful, just as before, assisting with museum tickets and saving me time standing in line. I'll be in Amsterdam again and there's no doubt I'll book again at Barangay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northwestsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us again and for your great review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you again in future,

Tropical regards,

Wimmo & Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The staff is helpful and friendly. They were try to meet your need as requested. Location is great near to train station. The room environment is beautiful & fresh. There was got coffee machine to make your own favourite coffee easily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hallo Veronica.
Thanks for taking the time in writing your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As most of our guests have notices, we the staff of Barangay always try our best to give you a service a guest deserves.
We hope to see again very soon. A million thanks for recommending us.
Tropical regards, godxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 340 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 340 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 340 in Amsterdam
354 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 340 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing