We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deserves its star rating”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from an excellent trip to Amsterdam. Stayed at the new Waldorf Astoria. Th e Room as excellent. Large , extremely comfortable and well equipped. The bed was as comfortable a bed as I have ever slept in! with great quality linen.
The staff are naturally new to the hotel but without exception they were helpful , attentive and courteous. I begin to sound like an advert but genuinely a positive 2 nights.
If one negative was the fact that the restaurant only has 2 tables reserved for guests which meant we could not get in! Book the restaurant when booking the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you experienced our elegant rooms and our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff. I am sorry you couldn't enjoy our restaurant Librije’s Zusje Amsterdam, we would love to assist you with a reservation so you can experience our restaurant on your next visit.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    94
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
217
691
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Brand new hotel, highly motivated staff, nice and competent (and efficient) concierge.
Friendly atmosphere, beautiful and peaceful garden.
We had a beautiful, silent, big room (131) and were very pleased.
The room dining menu should be improved, the regular restaurant is said to be fantastic, who don't offer their specialties (or at least a part of them) also in the room dining menu?
Some small inconsistencies - like no outlets for the hairdryer in the bathroom - or some mistakes in the room service - but the staff is helpful, quick and competent.
So we were very happy and we liked it very much!!!!
Thank you!

Room Tip: 131 Junior Suite to the garden, very calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you were very pleased with the room and you experienced our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff. We have shared your comments with our teams, which helps us to continue to develop and improve our quality in this department.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for 3 nights during a business trip to Amsterdam. I was initially given a ground floor room with a very small window. Although the room was comfortable I found it claustrophobic. After one night I asked if I could move. Within 15 minutes I was moved to a room overlooking the garden with big windows. The rooms are lovely. Everything is new - soft white towels, crisp sheets etc. Other examples of good service: I went out and forgot to lock the safe where I had left my valuables. I phoned the hotel and someone went to my room and locked the safe for me. The concierge gave me an excellent restaurant recommendation and made the booking for me late on a Saturday afternoon. She had asked the restaurant to keep aside a few tables for her guests which was fortunate because I had already tried a number of restaurants and they were all fully booked. I had to have breakfast early on the day of departure. The staff were still setting up but made me feel comfortable and ensured that I had everything that I wanted. This really is a lovely new hotel. The staff are friendly and thoughtful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanm965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jean,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed the new room that was assigned to you, and the service that was given by our staff.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Note: This review only relates to the lobby service.

We met up with a family friend, who was staying at the hotel, for afternoon tea. Staff at the door are extremely attentive; it was raining heavily and we were escorted up the steps by an umbrella-ed doorman. The staff took our coats and promptly provided us with a coat check.

First impressions is that, unfortunately, the lobby is quite sterile. I fully understand the Dutch obsession for plain white interiors (good for spotting mosquitoes) but in a hotel of the Waldorf Astoria's standing I was rather hoping for a rather more extensive pallet; it is a bit generic Mc plainwrap.It is obvious that the hotel is brand spanking new; I am hoping that the interiors stand the test of time and rough tourists!


The food, on the whole, was average for a hotel of this quality; prices are in line with the 5* tag, be warned! Over 20 Euro for a toasted club sandwich is a little excessive, even more so for the somewhat limp fries. Selection of teas/coffee was good. Wine selection by the glass was interesting; primarily young wines though a little over priced for the age/quality. One would have hoped for something more classical.

I would recommend sticking to afternoon tea or a glass of wine if you are there to experience the 5* lobby. The staff are attentive (which for the Netherlands is quite a welcome experience). In saying this, there was, in my opinion, a shortage of staff on the day (a Sunday afternoon); the table was left uncleared for quite some time. This might be a small detail to some however in the luxury hotel market details are everything.

As a newly opened venture, the WA is still at the theeding phase. One hopes that the lobby service will continue to improve as the staff gain more experience.

Room Tip: Grab one of the comfy sofas if there with a larger party of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamAlex08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you experienced our True Waldorf Astoria Service giving by our attentive staff. We have also learned from your comments about the restaurants, which will help continue to develop and improve our quality in this department.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We wanted to go to the opera (Gounod's Faust) and spend th enight in Amsterdam. What better place to stay than in the newly opened Waldorf Astoria, a beautiful 6 minute canalside moonlit walk. Everything in the hotel is stunning: the 17th century Daniel Marot (known from Huis den Bosch and Kasteel Duivenvoorde) staircase, the extremely friendly staff, the Guerlain Spa, the Librije's Zusje restaurant with, for breakfast: the best Eggs Benedict I even tasted, the delicious home made Petra van Niftrik (known from Prince Henry Suites) james and the Van Namens juices. The room was big, silent and luxurious, with a wonderful Kingsize bed. The personal touch of Roberto Payer, the hotel's thriving force, is feelible everywhere. The only comment to be made is that the hotel is crisp and new and therefore sometimes hard to believe. Therefore, this hotel needs many guests to kiss it fully awake, just as it has been set out to be.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 105, very nice views on the Herengracht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Arent,

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are honoured that you choose to be one of our first guests. And we are happy to hear that you got to experience many of the unique features that our hotel has to offer.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

It's brand new but they are running exactly as a five star luxury property should! Top notch service,quiet, huge beautifully decorated rooms . Room 221 was sensational with bright views of the canal. The morning of my birthday I was greeted with flowers and choc covered strawberries! I Couldn't be happier anywhere ! Only 2 weeks old but clearly They are already #1 in Amsterdam !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Stacey,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we are honoured that you choose to be one of our first guests and that you choose to celebrate your birthday with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were on of the first paying guests of the hotel. Although they just had try outs for already one month there were still some things that didn't run smoothly. We were waiting for an hour to get our lunch in the Peacock Gallery, it actually never came. We ordered a bottle of champagne on the room but it wasn't there when we arrived (it came several hours later with the wrong letter, we were not the wedding couple!) The phone wasn't working in the room. Small things, but big for the ambitious The Waldorf Astoria. When we told the manager (because he asked us how our stay was) he immediately made it up to us. That evening there were two bathrobes in our room as a present. And the wines we ordered in the restaurant (Librije's zusje) didn't show up on the bill. The sommelier and the maître were extremely kind and qualified. Also the lady in the Spa was very helpful, when we told her about the non lunch experience, she made sure that we got some small bites in the pool area. Furthermore we had an upgrade to a suite. Although there were some things you wouldn't expect in a 5 star hotel, the staff really did go out of there way to make our stay a real threat. Chapeau to the staff! Especially Jeroen Werdmolder the operations manager who understands what service means. If you want to make a difference in Amsterdam with a 5 star hotel, you must score on service! And that is what they give at the Waldorf Astoria. If the start up problems disappear in the coming weeks but the excellent service will stay the same than there seems no better place to stay in Amsterdam than here. We will be back in a year time to evaluate :-)) Femmetje & Mark

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank femmetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Femmetje & Mark,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we are honoured that you choose to be one of our first guests. We sincerely apologize for not having met the standards we have set in our True Waldorf Astoria Service. We have learned from your comments and continue to train and develop our team. I am pleased to hear that the team was able to speak to you and had the opportunity to turn around your experience here at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam!

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Property: Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. Choose our Hotel to plan your next social event, featuring events rooms with unique features, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. For all kind of events, weddings, receptions, or special occasions, our dedicated events team will be glad to assist you, to make you day memorable in an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing