We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Let Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Big Let Down”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was quite excited to take myself and my girlfriends away on what was to be a bit of luxury break before my friend had to go into hospital for her operation. The Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam looked like the perfect place to treat ourselves and enjoy the rest and luxury we needed. 3 Adults in a beautiful suite which sadly was coated in dust with facilities for only 2 people, towels were in short supply, two tea cups, no milk, no bath robes or slippers, of which we asked and still did not receive. Room service was sloppy, 3 pots of tea was asked for , 4 tea bags turned up, no milk again when the tea finally arrived for which when it did finally turn up the tea was cold. The suite was very costly, the building oozes sophistication and the staff are polite and very well dressed, the image is perfect. The rest was very disappointing im sad to say, I wont be recommending it and I wont be returning. I only use Hilton Hotels and in the many I have stayed I have enjoyed every one and would return, im sad to say this one I would not return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
10 Thank P626HFamandac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback, we should have anticipated your needs much better, we would like to offer our apologies for the inconveniences we caused. We have shared your comments with our teams, which helps us to continue to develop and improve our quality and service. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to prove we can do better.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of service.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    93
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
203
658
54
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A truly wonderful & luxury hotel. Words aren't enough to describe our stay. Staff/concierge were very friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and polite, making us feel welcomed. Service certainly top class, could not fault. We stayed in a king suite with separate living room, understated elegance, very clean, fresh, quiet & relaxing. Food in restaurant and in-room dining was delicious. We requested pancakes at breakfast which were the best we have ever tasted across the globe, certainly recommend! My son didn't want to venture out to see the sights of the city, preferring to stay in the room or swim in the pool. A wonderful, luxury experience. Will certainly stay again and will now seek out this hotel chain whenever going abroad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
5 Thank krazymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful impressions with us in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. I will share your much appreciated compliments with the whole team and it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam or one of our other properties.

Please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I think the hotel is absolutely stunning with a service to match. The hotel is like a dream, all light, fresh and chic and has a real residential feel to it. I stayed with my two sons and they also loved it. we were pampered by the staff who did an amazing job.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 105 and 107 and those were gorgeous rooms with views on the canal and absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katia324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Katia,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family and that you experienced our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff.

The team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed @ the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam and the hotel is breathtaking. I love the design which is contempary classic with some abstract art! The hotel feels very fresh and light as well as residential. And the staff is very well trained and makes you feel very special and they all look beautiful in their custom made Jan Taminiau outfits! I took my sons of 15 and 7 and they loved it as well. They had a great time and were treated like little kings by all the staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank femke a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Femke,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased to hear you loved the design of the hotel as much as we do, you enjoyed your stay with your sons and you experienced our True Waldorf Service giving by our team.

The team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great decor, amazing location and impeccable service. Every little detail has been considered, from the amazing mattresses, the lush carpeting, the heated ceramic floors in the bathroom to the toiletry products. An absolute must!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your well valued feedback. We are glad to hear you were happy with our service and location, and that you appreciated all the décor details that the hotel has to offer.

The team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from an excellent trip to Amsterdam. Stayed at the new Waldorf Astoria. Th e Room as excellent. Large , extremely comfortable and well equipped. The bed was as comfortable a bed as I have ever slept in! with great quality linen.
The staff are naturally new to the hotel but without exception they were helpful , attentive and courteous. I begin to sound like an advert but genuinely a positive 2 nights.
If one negative was the fact that the restaurant only has 2 tables reserved for guests which meant we could not get in! Book the restaurant when booking the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you experienced our elegant rooms and our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff. I am sorry you couldn't enjoy our restaurant Librije’s Zusje Amsterdam, we would love to assist you with a reservation so you can experience our restaurant on your next visit.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Brand new hotel, highly motivated staff, nice and competent (and efficient) concierge.
Friendly atmosphere, beautiful and peaceful garden.
We had a beautiful, silent, big room (131) and were very pleased.
The room dining menu should be improved, the regular restaurant is said to be fantastic, who don't offer their specialties (or at least a part of them) also in the room dining menu?
Some small inconsistencies - like no outlets for the hairdryer in the bathroom - or some mistakes in the room service - but the staff is helpful, quick and competent.
So we were very happy and we liked it very much!!!!
Thank you!

Room Tip: 131 Junior Suite to the garden, very calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you were very pleased with the room and you experienced our True Waldorf Service giving by our attentive staff. We have shared your comments with our teams, which helps us to continue to develop and improve our quality in this department.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Property: Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing