We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a wonderful location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice room with a king bed, all new and plenty of space. The staff was very helpful and check in was quick. The location is great and close to everything. The hotel provided us with bikes and that was nice. We did not eat at the hotel, there were so many options in the area that we just didn't get around to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetotravelfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about your recent experience with us at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your room, the location, and service. On your next visit we would love for you to try our restaurant, Librije's Zusje Amsterdam, we are very proud of it!

We all look forward to welcoming you back for another experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    94
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
217
691
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although a Hilton Diamond member, we don't usually splurge on hotels in cities we know. But on a short lay-over on our way to Nice we wanted to see the new Waldorf in Amsterdam. We used their car service as well. A first class experience - well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Richard,

We would like to thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam during your recent visit to Amsterdam. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the True Waldorf Service and it's fantastic to hear that the limo service was to your satisfaction.

Our team looks forward to welcome you back for another experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Everything was just perfect. Spa is amazing! Great Service and nice internal garden! Service at the reception is excellent and very professional! Concierge and Restaurant recommendations were also very good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff, service and Spa met your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the entire team, they were delighted to see their efforts were appreciated. We make it our highest priority to ensure that each of our guests have an enjoyable experience and leave with a yearning to return.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we can be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The staff, property and service exceeded my expectations. As self-described hotel snob, I can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel was. The location is great and you can walk to all they key attractions. My sister and both hated checking out. The spa is lovely, the hotel gym was great and food/bar was great.

You can walk to the Van Gogh Museum, Red Light District, Rembrandt Square (tons of pubs) and there is a very large and unique Starbucks a block or so away.

It's a small property (because it must conform with the Dutch standards) with only about ninety rooms (I think.). I liked that actually.

I'm Hilton Diamond and have stayed at other 5 star Hilton properties but I think this one is now my favorite.

Room Tip: None really, the hotel is small and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know how you experienced your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, and thank you for all your kind words. It is such a honour to become one of your favourite hotels and to be able to provide an unforgettable experience that exceeds your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back soon, please reach out should you like to plan your next visit so we can ensure that your next stay is even more special.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is only 6 weeks old after 6 years in the preparations, it is a HHonors with class.
Well worth a stay for a very special occasion, very central very classy and a must to be on your calendar.

Room Tip: A must is try and get a room overlooking the canal, I can only say our room is excellent and we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhamunited1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope that you will stay with us again should you return to Amsterdam and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I joined a meeting at this hotel - what a great experience. Different and special welcome experience, great exchange (explaining the hotel and the history) during the walk to the hotel room. The hotel room has everything one needs, I liked the design (a touch of blue in many areas), great shower, great bed, I liked the soundbar with the big TV.
The meeting room had history and the coffee break where art, one even was set-up as one of these historical pictures (great relation to Amsterdam). Group dinner was an experience on its own. Great food, mega service and all special needs are considered. OK, it has its price - still, the memories I have on this visit are priceless. Thank you very much for this experience.

Room Tip: A room to overlook the garden, great view on the green, peaceful. Forgot to take a picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Andreas,

Thank you very much for your excellent and valued review. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the welcome experience, room amenities, and culinary services. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed both our rooms and meeting facilities, all inspired by Dutch history.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again for another memorable experience.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Herengracht is one of the most beautiful canals in Amsterdam (declared by UNESCO as world heritage) so you want to stay here when you visit the city. And Waldorf is right next to the canal in a cozy and peaceful neighborhood yet only 5-10 mins walk to the museum district (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk).

The hotel is in two adjoining traditional houses and well keeps a boutique atmosphere with the Waldorf quality. The interior decoration, by the designer whose work includes Corinthia in London and a few other places around the world, is simply impeccable. Everyone is so welcoming (and very easy on the eyes too:) and takes care of you in a warm and genuine way. The little garden on the back is truly a hidden gem - who would imagine such a beautiful sanctuary right in the middle of the town. The hotel is working very hard at the moment to get a license to serve guests food/drinks in the garden but even just sitting there and doing nothing for a while would be a steal of enjoyment. The hotel's restaurant and bar are right next to the garden so you could get a nice relaxing view from there too.

From the canal view room you would see various kinds of cute boats cruising on the water, plus the little bridge across the canal with occasional passer-bys on the bikes in a sunny afternoon, they fit perfectly to what I expected about this town.

The private boat tour arranged by the concierge is one of the highlights of the trip. The guide has a very good knowledge of the town and canals, great taste of music (which brings so much relaxing atmosphere) and knows how to make his clients happy. Seeing the old streets and houses from a different perspective while sipping a glass of bubbly is simply a way of appreciation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you very much for this very detailed description of our beautiful hotel and its surroundings. We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our welcoming staff, services & location met your expectation. It makes us proud and it's humbling to hear you speak about our unique interior design and our lovely garden, which is actually the largest courtyard garden of Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel, please let me know when you would like to plan your next visit and if we may be of any service.

Warm regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Property: Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. Choose our Hotel to plan your next social event, featuring events rooms with unique features, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. For all kind of events, weddings, receptions, or special occasions, our dedicated events team will be glad to assist you, to make you day memorable in an exceptional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing